Find out what menu items from Pizza Hut do not contain gluten and what you need to know about their gluten-free crusts.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love pizza, you may be on the hunt for a pizza place that will work with your gluten-free diet. I am always looking for updates on places starting to offer more gluten-free restaurant options that I can try out.
Pizza Hut offers some gluten-free crusts for their pizzas, but in this post we’re going to dig into what that really means for folks like you and I who actually avoid gluten in our diets.
It’s nice to *say* something is gluten-free, but is it safe enough for people with celiac disease? What about gluten intolerance?
We’re going to dig into the gluten-free menu items from Pizza Hut and talk about what options there are for folks who are looking for a quick place to pick up pizza or order delivery on a gluten-free diet.
We’ll cover the allergen statement by Pizza Hut, plus go into some of the details of things you may not have thought about when it comes to gluten cross contamination in various restaurants.
If you’re a Pizza Hut fan, you won’t want to miss this post!
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Where can you find gluten in food?
Gluten can be found in the form of wheat and grain products, like bread of flour in the more obvious places.
You can also find gluten as a binding ingredient, an ingredient added for texture like to make a food more crispy, or as a thickening agent.
Where can you find gluten in many restaurants?
Depending on the restaurant you’re visiting, you may find gluten in a variety of places.
At fast food restaurants, there will be gluten in hamburger buns, the breading of crispy chicken sandwiches or chicken nuggets, some French fries, salad dressings, croutons on salad, and chili or soup options.
At other restaurants, you’ll find gluten in flour in sauces, in pizza or other pastry dough, and as a thickener in some soups.
Where gluten is found in the menu items will vary from restaurant to restaurant. That’s why it’s always a good idea to review menus from home, and see if you can find any allergen information before you get to the restaurant itself.
Being able to review nutritional information and allergen statements before visiting a fast food restaurant can be the difference between ordering something that you think is safe for your gluten-free diet and getting sick.
Being knowledgeable about what specific menu items you’ll be able to eat without any worries of later reactions is crucial to sticking with your gluten-free diet.
Pizza Hut allergen statement
They make it clear that their gluten-free pizza, while it uses gluten-free ingredients, the possibility of cross contamination with other ingredients containing gluten in their kitchens is quite high.
The Pizza Hut website shares that “While Pizza Hut is proud to offer pizzas that are made with Udi’s Gluten-Free Crust and select Pizza Hut toppings that do not contain gluten, Pizza Hut kitchens are not gluten-free environments.
Due to the handcrafted nature of our menu items, variations in vendor-supplied ingredients, and our use of shared cooking and preparation areas, we cannot assure you that our restaurant environment or any menu item will be free of gluten.
We recommend that you consult your medical advisor as to what is safe for you.”
What you need to know about the gluten-free pizza at Pizza Hut
There are a number of helpful questions and answers on the Pizza Hut Gluten-free page of their website as well.
If you have a gluten intolerance, gluten-free Pizza Hut pizza may work for you. If you are celiac, you won’t be able to safely enjoy this pizza.
Pizza Hut franchised restaurants use Udi’s gluten-free pizza crust, and options include their create-your-own pizzas from their menu.
This gluten-free pizza crust contains the following ingredients: “Water, tapioca starch, brown rice flour, canola oil, egg whites, dried cane syrup, tapioca syrup, tapioca maltodextrin, salt, xanthan gum, yeast, cultured corn syrup solids and citric acid (mold inhibitor), enzymes.”
As for toppings, the website states that “Most standard Pizza Hut toppings are naturally gluten-free, however, meatballs, Creamy Garlic Parmesan Sauce are excluded due to containing wheat.”
Pizza Hut has designated gluten-free labeled boxes so you’ll know when you pick up or have it delivered that it’s been made as safe as possible for you.
Pizza Hut uses dedicated pizza cutters and they cut their gluten-free pizzas right inside the box instead of on shared surfaces, which is helpful to know.
Read on: Gluten and dairy-free frozen pizza brands
Read on: Gluten-free dairy-free make-ahead pizza dough
What to know about cross contamination at restaurants
Most fast food and carryout restaurants are not considered gluten-free establishments so it’s useful to keep this in mind when making decisions about where to go and what to order.
It’s important to know that even if a fast food restaurant claims that their menu items do not contain gluten, that the possibility and probability of gluten in their products is going to be high if there is even one menu item with gluten available.
Depending on your level of sensitivity to gluten, this can be make or break information for you.
If you are Celiac and are allergic to trace amounts of gluten, you’ll likely want to avoid most fast food restaurants that offer any bread products or French fries that are cooked in a shared fryer with other gluten-containing ingredients.
If you are not sensitive to gluten at the trace level and have adverse reactions to gluten due to a food intolerance, you may decide that these trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination are worth risking for a quick, easy, and convenient food option.
Being aware of how you have reacted to gluten in your diet in the past and how much gluten it takes for your body to react is useful knowledge when it comes to situations like these.
Use your best judgment about what you know about your body, how you react to gluten, and what the risks are for you specifically.
Pizza Hut Gluten-free Menu Items
By reviewing the allergen menu on the Pizza Hut website, these are the gluten-free options from this restaurant.
Pizza Hut Allergen Menu
These are the items from Pizza Hut that are considered free of gluten from the Pizza Hut website.
- Cheese Pizza on Udi’s Gluten-free Crust
- Meat Lover’s Pizza on Udi’s Gluten-free Crust
- Pepperoni Pizza on Udi’s Gluten-free Crust
- Pepperoni Lovers Pizza on Udi’s Gluten-free Crust
- Supreme Pizza on Udi’s Gluten-free Crust
- Veggie Lover’s Pizza on Udi’s Gluten-free Crust
None of the sides from Pizza Hut are considered gluten-free except for the Crushed Red Pepper Packet and the Grated Cheese Packet.
Gluten-free Dipping Sauce Options
- Barbecue Dipping Sauce
- Buffalo Dipping Sauce
- Buffalo Ranch Dipping Sauce
- Cheese Dipping Sauce
- Extra Pizza BBQ Dipping Sauce
- Extra Pizza Buffalo Dipping Sauce
- Marinara Dipping Sauce
Gluten-free Drink Options
- Diet Pepsi
- Mist Twist
- Mountain Dew
Read on: Is soda gluten-free?
None of the Dessert options from Pizza Hut are considered gluten-free except for their Cinnamon Sticks White Icing Dipping Cup. You can eat the dip, but not the sticks!
- Applewood Smoked Bacon
- Diced Roma Tomatoes
- Fresh Green Bell Peppers
- Fresh Mushrooms
- Fresh Red Onions
- Green Chile Peppers
- Green Olives
- Grilled Chicken
- Italian Sausage
- Mediterranean Black Olives
- Seasoned Pork
- Sliced Banana Peppers
- Sliced Jalapeno Peppers
- Sweet Pineapple
Read on: Little Caesar’s Gluten-free Menu Items
Does Pizza Hut have gluten-free pizza?
Pizza Hut does offer pizzas on Udi’s gluten-free crust though the company doesn’t call their pizzas exactly gluten-free.
It’s important to note that while Pizza Hut has gluten-free pizza crusts, there is always the possibility of cross contamination in the kitchen and they’re direct in sharing that information on their website.
If you are celiac, you’ll want to avoid Pizza Hut. If you have a gluten intolerance, you may decide to give it a try, but knowing your level of gluten sensitivity up front is helpful.
Be cautious and curious about it, but don’t be surprised by having a reaction if you decide to brave it.
If you’ve been wondering whether or not you can find gluten-free menu items at Pizza Hut lately, I hope this information has been helpful for you.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
More Gluten-free Restaurant Menu Items
If you’re looking at other popular restaurants and wondering what gluten-free menu items they offer, be sure to check out my Gluten-free Restaurant Guide. I’ve outlined all the gluten-free options from 45+ popular restaurants and fast food chains.
- Gluten-free Fast Food: Options from Major Chains
- Gluten and Dairy-free Diet: 4 Restaurant Tips
- Applebee’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Arby’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Blaze Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Boston Market Gluten-free Menu Items
- Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten-free Menu Items
- Burger King Gluten-free Menu Items
- California Pizza Kitchen Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cheesecake Factory Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chick-Fil-A Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chilis Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chipotle Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cracker Barrel Gluten-free Menu Items
- Crumbl Cookies Gluten-free Menu Items
- Culver’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Denny’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Domino’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Dunkin Donuts Gluten-free Menu Items
- Einstein Bros Bagels Gluten-free Menu Items
- Firehouse Subs Gluten-free Menu Items
- First Watch Gluten-free Menu Items
- Five Guys Gluten-free Menu Items
- IHOP Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jack In The Box Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jimmy John’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- KFC Gluten-free Menu Items
- Little Caesar’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Longhorn Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- McDonald’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- MOD Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Nothing Bundt Cakes Gluten-free Menu Items
- Olive Garden Gluten-free Menu Items
- Outback Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panda Express Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panera Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Johns Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Murphy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- P.F. Chang’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Pizza Hut Gluten-free Menu Items
- Qdoba Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Lobster Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Robin Gluten-free Menu Items
- Ruby Tuesday Gluten-free Menu Items
- Shake Shack Gluten-free Menu Items
- Smashburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Sonic Gluten-free Menu Items
- Starbucks Gluten-free Menu Items
- Subway Gluten-free Menu Items
- Taco Bell Gluten-free Menu Items
- Texas Roadhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wendy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Whataburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wingstop Gluten-free Menu Items
Leave a Reply