Find out what menu items from Little Caesar’s do not contain gluten and what you need to know about gluten-free options from fast food restaurants.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love pizza and ordering pizza, you have probably tried Little Caesar’s a time or two. Pizza is such a great go-to dinner option on a busy night or on a weekend when you just want to relax and not have to think about dinner.
If you’re like me, you’re always on the lookout for what options there are for folks on a gluten and dairy-free diet. That’s why I decided to dig into the Little Caesar’s menu and find out exactly what menu items contain gluten and where this company stands when it comes to allergens in their kitchen.
Find out in this post what gluten is, where you can find gluten in food and many fast food restaurants, what to know about cross contamination, and we’ll go through the Little Caesar’s menu section by section.
By the end of this post, you’ll know exactly which items you could order from their menu that are wheat-free.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Where can you find gluten in food?
Gluten can be found in the form of wheat and grain products, like bread of flour in the more obvious places. You can also find gluten as a binding ingredient, an ingredient added for texture like to make a food more crispy, or as a thickening agent.
Where can you find gluten in many fast food restaurants?
Depending on the fast food restaurant you’re visiting, you may find gluten in a variety of places. Hamburger buns, the breading of crispy chicken sandwiches or chicken nuggets, some French fries, salad dressings, croutons on salad, and chili or soup options.
Pizza dough is most often made with wheat flour which contains gluten. Flour is also used to dust work spaces for making and forming dough, so a risk of cross contamination is high in pizza restaurants.
Where gluten is found in the menu items will vary from restaurant to restaurant. That’s why it’s always a good idea to review menus from home, and see if you can find any allergen information before you get to the restaurant itself.
Being able to review nutritional information and allergen statements before visiting a fast food restaurant can be the difference between ordering something that you think is safe for your gluten-free diet and getting sick, and being knowledgeable about what specific menu items you’ll be able to eat without any worries of later reactions.
What to know about cross contamination at fast food restaurants
Most fast food restaurants are not considered gluten free establishments so it’s useful to keep this in mind when making decisions about where to go and what to order.
It’s important to know that even if a fast food restaurant claims that their menu items do not contain gluten, that the possibility and probability of gluten in their products is going to be high if there is even one menu item with gluten available.
Depending on your level of sensitivity to gluten, this can be make or break information for you. If you are Celiac and are allergic to trace amounts of gluten, you’ll likely want to avoid most fast food restaurants that offer any bread products or French fries that are cooked in a shared fryer with other gluten-containing ingredients.
If you are not sensitive to gluten at the trace level and have adverse reactions to gluten due to a food intolerance, you may decide that these trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination are worth risking for a quick, easy, and convenient food option.
Being aware of how you have reacted to gluten in your diet in the past and how much gluten it takes for your body to react is useful knowledge when it comes to situations like these. Use your best judgment about what you know about your body, how you react to gluten, and what the risks are for you specifically.
Gluten-free Menu Items from Little Caesar’s
Little Caesar’s is a pizza restaurant, so we can assume that most items on their menu will contain gluten. The risk of cross contamination with gluten is high in a Little Caesar’s restaurant.
They also don’t make any statements about any of their food or ingredients being gluten-free, so you’ll want to use your best judgment when it comes to eating any of the foods that may not contain wheat.
Read on: Gluten-free dairy-free pizza: brands & flavors
Large ExtraMostBestest Pizzas
None of the Large ExtraMostBestest Pizzas from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free.
Large Specialty Pizzas
None of the Large Specialty Pizzas from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free.
Large Classic Pizzas
None of the Large Classic Pizzas from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free.
Detroit-Style Deep Dish Pizzas
None of the Detroit-Style Deep Dish Pizzas from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free.
Detroit-Style Deep Dish Specialty Pizzas
None of the Detroit-Style Deep Dish Pizzas from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free.
Only the Crazy Sauce from Little Caesar’s is considered gluten-free from their side dish options. It is also milk-free and egg-free.
Three options from the Caesar Wings section of the Little Caesar’s menu are considered gluten-free:
- Oven roasted
All three also also dairy-free and egg-free.
All the Caesar Dips from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free, including:
- Cheezy Jalapeno
- Buffalo Ranch
- Butter Garlic Flavor (also milk-free)
- Cheddar Cheese
Large ExtraMostBestest Thin Crust Pizzas
None of the Large ExtraMostBestest Thin Crust Pizzas from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free.
Make It Stuffed Crust
None of the Large Make It Stuffed Crust Crust from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free.
None of the Extras from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free, including their ZapPack and Parmesan Cheese Packet.
Many of the toppings from Little Caesar’s are considered wheat-free, despite the fact that none of their pizza crusts are wheat-free. These are toppings you may consider on a gluten-free diet from Little Caesar’s:
- Seasoned Beef
- Italian Sausage
- Smoky Ham
- Green Peppers
- Mushrooms, canned
- Mushrooms, fresh
- Black Olives
- Jalapeno Peppers
- Mild Banana Peppers
- Extra Cheese
- Fresh Mozzarella
All except Extra Cheese and Fresh Mozzarella are also considered milk-free.
Read on: Pizza Hut Gluten-free Menu Items
If you’ve been wondering what options are wheat-free and gluten-free at Little Caesar’s, I hope this post has helped you get some questions answered.
Most food at this fast food pizza restaurant will likely want to be avoided on a gluten-free diet due to cross contamination in the kitchen, but if you are hoping to make a better choice, their Caesar Wings look to be your best option.
f you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
More Gluten-free Restaurant Menu Items
If you’re looking at other popular restaurants and wondering what gluten-free menu items they offer, be sure to check out my Gluten-free Restaurant Guide. I’ve outlined all the gluten-free options from 45+ popular restaurants and fast food chains.
- Gluten-free Fast Food: Options from Major Chains
- Gluten and Dairy-free Diet: 4 Restaurant Tips
- Applebee’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Arby’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Blaze Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Boston Market Gluten-free Menu Items
- Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten-free Menu Items
- Burger King Gluten-free Menu Items
- California Pizza Kitchen Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cheesecake Factory Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chick-Fil-A Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chilis Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chipotle Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cracker Barrel Gluten-free Menu Items
- Crumbl Cookies Gluten-free Menu Items
- Culver’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Denny’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Domino’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Dunkin Donuts Gluten-free Menu Items
- Einstein Bros Bagels Gluten-free Menu Items
- Firehouse Subs Gluten-free Menu Items
- First Watch Gluten-free Menu Items
- Five Guys Gluten-free Menu Items
- IHOP Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jack In The Box Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jimmy John’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- KFC Gluten-free Menu Items
- Little Caesar’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Longhorn Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- McDonald’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- MOD Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Nothing Bundt Cakes Gluten-free Menu Items
- Olive Garden Gluten-free Menu Items
- Outback Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panda Express Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panera Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Johns Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Murphy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- P.F. Chang’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Pizza Hut Gluten-free Menu Items
- Qdoba Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Lobster Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Robin Gluten-free Menu Items
- Ruby Tuesday Gluten-free Menu Items
- Shake Shack Gluten-free Menu Items
- Smashburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Sonic Gluten-free Menu Items
- Starbucks Gluten-free Menu Items
- Subway Gluten-free Menu Items
- Taco Bell Gluten-free Menu Items
- Texas Roadhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wendy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Whataburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wingstop Gluten-free Menu Items
Leave a Reply