Find out what menu items from Domino’s do not contain gluten and what you need to know about their gluten-free options.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love to order pizza delivery on a Friday night, you have probably picked up the phone or ordered from the Domino’s Pizza website before.
But if you’re just getting started with a gluten-free diet or are trying to find a pizza place that will cater to what you and your body needs, you may be wondering if Domino’s is a safe option for you.
In this post, we’re going to dive into what Domino’s offers in terms of gluten-free items, what their gluten allergen statement is, and everything you need to know about their gluten-free pizza crust.
We’ll also do a full listing of the menu items from Domino’s that contain no wheat ingredients to help you make an informed decision before deciding on this restaurant.
If you’re looking for gluten-free pizza options, you won’t want to miss this post!
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Where can you find gluten in food?
Gluten can be found in the form of wheat and grain products, like bread, pasta, pizza crust, or flour in the more obvious places.
You can also find gluten as a binding ingredient, an ingredient added for texture like to make food more crispy, or as a thickening agent.
Where can you find gluten in restaurants?
Depending on the restaurant you’re visiting, you may find gluten in a variety of places.
At fast food restaurants, there will be gluten in hamburger buns, the breading of crispy chicken sandwiches or chicken nuggets, some French fries, salad dressings, croutons on salad, and chili or soup options.
At other restaurants, you’ll find gluten in flour in sauces, in pizza or other pastry dough, pasta, and as a thickener in some soups.
Where gluten is found in the menu items will vary from restaurant to restaurant. That’s why it’s always a good idea to review menus from home, and see if you can find any allergen information before you get to the restaurant itself.
Being able to review nutritional information and allergen statements before visiting a fast food restaurant can be the difference between ordering something that you think is safe for your gluten-free diet and getting sick.
Being knowledgeable about what specific menu items you’ll be able to eat without any worries of later reactions is crucial to sticking with your gluten-free diet.
Domino’s allergen disclaimer
On the Domino’s Allergen Information page, this is the disclaimer that they share:
“Domino’s pizza made with a Gluten Free Crust is prepared in a common kitchen with the risk of gluten exposure. Therefore, Domino’s DOES NOT recommend this pizza for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment in consuming this pizza.”
What you need to know about the gluten-free options at Domino’s
Domino’s has a full page on their website dedicated to their gluten-free crust and information for folks who are trying to follow a gluten-free diet. They have a full list of all the items in their kitchens and restaurants that contain gluten, as well as a list of FAQ’s regarding their gluten-free crust.
Here’s what you need to know:
Domino’s does offer a gluten-free pizza crust option. Their crust is made with water, modified rice starch, brown rice flour, potato starch, olive oil, potato flour, evaporated cane sugar, fresh yeast, honey, Avicel, salt, and calcium propionate.
Their gluten-free pizza crusts are not made in house. All Domino’s gluten-free crusts are manufactured in a dedicated gluten-free facility. These facilities and the crusts that are made here are tested regularly to ensure that they contain less than 20ppm, as required by the FDA to be in compliance with the laws that they can claim they are “gluten–free.”
While the Domino’s gluten-free pizza crusts are tested and considered gluten-free while outside of the restaurant, once they are opened and turned into pizzas in the kitchens, they are subject to cross contamination and gluten exposure.
Since Domino’s uses gluten in their other crusts, flour for dusting pizzas, and in other pizza toppings, there is a high likelihood that even the gluten-free pizza crusts will come into contact with gluten during the making of your gluten-free pizza.
The Domino’s company makes no claims that any pizza that comes out of their kitchen or restaurant is truly gluten-free, so keep this in mind if you have celiac disease and cannot tolerate any amount of gluten, even from cross contact or exposure.
Folks who are intolerant to gluten may still be able to eat Domino’s gluten-free pizzas, but keep in mind that there is still a chance that you will have a reaction simply due to the nature of cross contact in the restaurant. Use your best judgment based on what you know about your body and how it reacts to gluten before ordering from this restaurant.
From personal experience, I have had Domino’s twice in my 9 years of being gluten-free, and both times I’ve had huge reactions to gluten. Everyone is different, but I feel like it’s worth sharing my own experience here.
What to know about cross contamination at restaurants
Most fast food and carryout restaurants are not considered gluten-free establishments so it’s useful to keep this in mind when making decisions about where to go and what to order.
It’s important to know that even if a fast food restaurant claims that their menu items do not contain gluten, that the possibility and probability of gluten in their products is going to be high if there is even one menu item with gluten available.
Depending on your level of sensitivity to gluten, this can be make or break information for you.
If you are Celiac and are allergic to trace amounts of gluten, you’ll likely want to avoid most fast food restaurants that offer any bread products or French fries that are cooked in a shared fryer with other gluten-containing ingredients.
If you are not sensitive to gluten at the trace level and have adverse reactions to gluten due to a food intolerance, you may decide that these trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination are worth risking for a quick, easy, and convenient food option.
Being aware of how you have reacted to gluten in your diet in the past and how much gluten it takes for your body to react is useful knowledge when it comes to situations like these.
Use your best judgment about what you know about your body, how you react to gluten, and what the risks are for you specifically.
Domino’s Gluten-free Menu Items
The information listed here are the menu items that Domino’s lists as not containing wheat ingredients on their Allergen Information page of their website.
This list doesn’t mean that these options are necessarily gluten-free or safe for folks on a gluten-free diet, just simply that these ingredients and options do not have wheat-containing ingredients in them.
Pizza Crust
- Gluten Free Crust
Pizza Toppings
- American Cheese
- Anchovies
- Bacon
- Banana Peppers
- Beef
- Black Olives
- Cheddar Cheese
- Cheese (Pizza)
- Chorizo/chourico
- Corn Meal
- Crushed Red Pepper Packets
- Feta Cheese
- Garlic
- Garlic and Herb Shake-On
- Garlic Oil Blend
- Green Chile Pepper
- Green Peppers
- Green Olives
- Ham
- Italian Sausage
- Jalapeno Peppers
- Mushrooms
- Onions
- Oregano Blend Shake-On
- Parmesan-Asiago Cheese
- Parmesan Cheese (Grated)
- Parmesan Cheese (Packet)
- Pepperoni
- Pepperoncini
- Phase Oil (Butter Flavored Oil)
- Philly Meat
- Pineapple
- Premium Grilled Chicken
- Provolone Cheese (Sliced)
- Provolone Cheese (Shredded)
- Ranch Dipping Cups
- Roasted Red Peppers
- Salami
- Spinach
- Sweet Mango Habanero
- Tomatoes
Wings
- Garlic Parmesan Chicken Wings
- Honey BBQ Chicken Wings
- Hot Buffalo Chicken Wings
- Mild Buffalo Chicken Wings
- Plain Chicken Wings (No Sauce)
- Sweet Mango Habanero Chicken Wings
Salads
- Caesar Dressing
- Balsamic Dressing
- Fat-free Raspberry Dressing
- Italian Dressing
- Kraft Catalina Salad Dressing
Sauces
- Blue Cheese Dipping Cups
- Buttermilk Ranch Sauce
- Garlic Dipping Sauce
- Garlic Parmesan Sauce (White Sauce)
- Hearty Marinara Sauce
- Honey BBQ Dipping Cup
- Honey BBQ Sauce
- Hot Buffalo Dipping Cup
- Marinara Dipping Sauce
- Wing Sauce, Honey BBQ
- Sweet Icing Dipping Cup
- Sweet Mango Habanero Sauce Dipping Cup
- Wing Sauce, Hot Buffalo
- Wing Sauce, Mild Buffalo
- Pizza Sauce
- Pizza Sauce (Robust Inspired Tomato Sauce)
If you’ve been looking for information on what you can eat at Domino’s while on a gluten-free diet, I hope this information has been helpful for you.
Some of their pizza options are prepared in a way that may be able to work for your diet, while others have more chances for cross contamination in the kitchen prep areas.
Looking for more information on gluten-free restaurants?
Be sure to check out my Gluten-free Restaurants post or get all the information in one place with my Gluten-free Restaurant Guide!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
More Gluten-free Restaurant Menu Items
If you’re looking at other popular restaurants and wondering what gluten-free menu items they offer, be sure to check out my Gluten-free Restaurant Guide. I’ve outlined all the gluten-free options from 45+ popular restaurants and fast food chains.
- Gluten-free Fast Food: Options from Major Chains
- Gluten and Dairy-free Diet: 4 Restaurant Tips
- Applebee’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Arby’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Blaze Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Boston Market Gluten-free Menu Items
- Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten-free Menu Items
- Burger King Gluten-free Menu Items
- California Pizza Kitchen Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cheesecake Factory Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chick-Fil-A Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chilis Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chipotle Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cracker Barrel Gluten-free Menu Items
- Crumbl Cookies Gluten-free Menu Items
- Culver’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Denny’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Domino’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Dunkin Donuts Gluten-free Menu Items
- Einstein Bros Bagels Gluten-free Menu Items
- Firehouse Subs Gluten-free Menu Items
- First Watch Gluten-free Menu Items
- Five Guys Gluten-free Menu Items
- IHOP Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jack In The Box Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jimmy John’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- KFC Gluten-free Menu Items
- Little Caesar’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Longhorn Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- McDonald’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- MOD Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Nothing Bundt Cakes Gluten-free Menu Items
- Olive Garden Gluten-free Menu Items
- Outback Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panda Express Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panera Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Johns Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Murphy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- P.F. Chang’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Pizza Hut Gluten-free Menu Items
- Qdoba Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Lobster Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Robin Gluten-free Menu Items
- Ruby Tuesday Gluten-free Menu Items
- Shake Shack Gluten-free Menu Items
- Smashburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Sonic Gluten-free Menu Items
- Starbucks Gluten-free Menu Items
- Subway Gluten-free Menu Items
- Taco Bell Gluten-free Menu Items
- Texas Roadhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wendy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Whataburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wingstop Gluten-free Menu Items
Leave a Reply