Find out if Dairy Queen ice cream contains gluten, plus the Dairy Queen menu items have no wheat ingredients.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love to swing by the drive-thru of Dairy Queen on a hot summer day, you’re probably no stranger to all their yummy frozen treats. They have so many ice cream based desserts with loads of flavors and mix-ins available.
Blizzards that combine soft serve ice cream with cookies, brownies, swirls of chocolate or caramel, candy pieces, and nuts. Sundaes with chocolate, caramel, or strawberry sauce on top. Even ice cream cones and milkshakes that come in a variety of flavors and toppings.
If you enjoy Dairy Queen but are trying to stick with your gluten-free diet while still wanting to have a yummy ice cream treat once in a while, this post is for you.
Find out what Dairy Queen ice cream is made of and what it’s used in. Plus we’ll talk about if most ice cream in general is gluten-free, and of course if the ice cream from Dairy Queen is gluten-free.
We’ll wrap this post up with a list of the potential options you might want to consider ordering from Dairy Queen, with a big caveat of what to be aware of to stick with your gluten-free diet.
What is Dairy Queen ice cream made of?
The ingredients in the vanilla ice cream from Dairy Queen include the following ingredients, according to the Dairy Queen website:
“Milkfat And Nonfat Milk, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Whey, Mono And Diglycerides, Artificial Flavor, Guar Gum, Polysorbate 80, Carrageenan, Vitamin A Palmitate”
This vanilla ice cream is called Dairy Queen’s “artificially flavored vanilla reduced fat ice cream” and it is used in all their ice cream cones, sundaes, shakes, and Blizzards.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is ice cream gluten-free?
A lot of ice cream is gluten-free when it is made using dairy or dairy-free ingredients and no additional gluten ingredients.
For the most part, you’ll find gluten in ice cream where there have been mix-ins added in, like cookie pieces, graham crackers, cookie dough, or brownie bites. You might also find gluten hidden in additives, starches, or other flavorings.
Ice cream on its own as a single flavor is almost always gluten-free. Those with multiple flavors, you’ll want to look a little more closely at.
Read on: Is ice cream gluten-free?
Is Dairy Queen ice cream gluten-free?
The ice cream from Dairy Queen does not have any wheat ingredients, however the company does not specifically state that any of their menu items are gluten-free. This is due to the high probability of cross contamination with other ingredients in the restaurant.
Some of the ice cream menu items from Dairy Queen don’t have any wheat ingredients, like their sundaes, a few of their Blizzards, and shakes. Be aware of any of their products that have cookies or brownies mixed in, as these will contain gluten, like their Blizzards.
Dairy Queen also offers some packaged ice cream products that are produced on machinery with minimal potential for cross contamination. Since these are sealed, the chances of coming into contact with gluten in the restaurant setting is low.
Dairy Queen states these packaged items are their Dilly Bars, Buster Bar Treats, Fudge Bars, Vanilla Orange Bars, and Starkiss Bars.
Some locations of Dairy Queen also serve non-dairy Dilly Bars, which are also gluten-free.
Read on: Gluten-free Dairy Queen Menu Items
Gluten-free Dairy Queen Ice Cream Options
Dairy Queen has a number of different ice cream based treats and frozen desserts, including ice cream cones, milkshakes, sundaes, and Blizzards.
The following items are those that Dairy Queen has listed on their allergen information as containing no wheat ingredients, although they are not considered gluten-free.
These menu items still have a high probability of cross contamination with gluten due to the shared equipment and being prepared in the same kitchen as so many other gluten ingredients. Keep this in mind when making decisions about what and whether to order from this fast food restaurant.
- Cotton Candy Blizzard
- Snickers Blizzard
- Turtle Pecan Cluster Blizzard
- Very Cherry Chip Blizzard
- Banana Shake
- Caramel Shake
- Chocolate Shake
- Hot Fudge Shake
- Peanut Butter Shake
- Strawberry Shake
- Vanilla Shake
- Caramel MooLatte
- Mocha MooLatte
- Vanilla MooLatte
Curl on Top Treats
- Banana Split
- Peanut Buster Parfait
- Add DQ Sprinkles*
- Caramel Sundae
- Chocolate Sundae
- Hot Fudge Sundae
- Peanut Butter Sundae
- Pineapple Sundae
- Strawberry Sundae
All Cones from Dairy Queen contain wheat ingredients and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
Cupcakes and DQ Treatzza Pizza
All Cupcakes and DQ Treatzza Pizza from Dairy Queen contain wheat ingredients, so you’ll want to steer clear of these menu items if you’re trying to maintain a gluten-free diet.
Packaged Frozen Novelties
- Dilly Bars
- Buster Bar Treats
- Fudge Bars
- Vanilla Orange Bars
- Starkiss Bars
- Non-Dairy Dilly Bars
If you’ve been wondering if Dairy Queen ice cream and their different ice cream treats contain gluten, I hope this post has given you the information you’ve been looking for.
While there are some options from this fast food restaurant that the company says don’t contain any wheat, none of their ice cream is considered gluten-free.
There is a high probability of cross contamination with gluten in most Dairy Queen ice cream treats if made in the restaurant’s kitchen.
You may opt for one of their sealed and packaged frozen treats, like Dilly Bars, Buster Bar Treats, Fudge Bars, Vanilla Orange Bars, and Starkiss Bars to know there is less risk of gluten coming into contact with your ice cream.
Get a full list of gluten & dairy-free ice cream brands & flavors!
More Gluten-free Restaurant Menu Items
If you’re looking at other popular restaurants and wondering what gluten-free menu items they offer, be sure to check out my Gluten-free Restaurant Guide. I’ve outlined all the gluten-free options from 45+ popular restaurants and fast food chains.
- Gluten-free Fast Food: Options from Major Chains
- Gluten and Dairy-free Diet: 4 Restaurant Tips
- Applebee’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Arby’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Blaze Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Boston Market Gluten-free Menu Items
- Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten-free Menu Items
- Burger King Gluten-free Menu Items
- California Pizza Kitchen Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cheesecake Factory Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chick-Fil-A Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chilis Gluten-free Menu Items
- Chipotle Gluten-free Menu Items
- Cracker Barrel Gluten-free Menu Items
- Crumbl Cookies Gluten-free Menu Items
- Culver’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Denny’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Domino’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Dunkin Donuts Gluten-free Menu Items
- Einstein Bros Bagels Gluten-free Menu Items
- Firehouse Subs Gluten-free Menu Items
- First Watch Gluten-free Menu Items
- Five Guys Gluten-free Menu Items
- IHOP Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jack In The Box Gluten-free Menu Items
- Jimmy John’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- KFC Gluten-free Menu Items
- Little Caesar’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Longhorn Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- McDonald’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- MOD Pizza Gluten-free Menu Items
- Nothing Bundt Cakes Gluten-free Menu Items
- Olive Garden Gluten-free Menu Items
- Outback Steakhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panda Express Gluten-free Menu Items
- Panera Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Johns Gluten-free Menu Items
- Papa Murphy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- P.F. Chang’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Pizza Hut Gluten-free Menu Items
- Qdoba Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Lobster Gluten-free Menu Items
- Red Robin Gluten-free Menu Items
- Ruby Tuesday Gluten-free Menu Items
- Shake Shack Gluten-free Menu Items
- Smashburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Sonic Gluten-free Menu Items
- Starbucks Gluten-free Menu Items
- Subway Gluten-free Menu Items
- Taco Bell Gluten-free Menu Items
- Texas Roadhouse Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wendy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
- Whataburger Gluten-free Menu Items
- Wingstop Gluten-free Menu Items