Find out if egg rolls are gluten-free, what egg roll wrappers are made from, and get tips and ideas for gluten-free egg roll wrappers.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Egg rolls are a fried appetizer that are commonly found in Asian cuisine. This snack or starter is made with a filling of meat (usually pork) and vegetables, then wrapped in an egg roll wrapper, and fried.
Egg rolls are commonly found at restaurants, but can also be made at home with fresh ingredients, like cabbage, carrots, green onions, and fresh garlic and ginger.
If you love egg rolls, you may be wondering if this food is safe for a gluten-free diet. And what parts of egg rolls are the biggest gluten culprits. In this post, we’re going to talk about egg rolls, and specifically egg roll wrappers.
Find out if egg rolls are gluten-free, what egg roll wrappers are made from, and get tips and ideas for gluten-free egg roll wrappers. Discover how a simple swap in egg roll wrapper can help you enjoy your favorite appetizer on a gluten-free diet.
Are egg rolls gluten-free?
Egg rolls are generally made with pork, cabbage, carrots, green onions, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, and oyster sauce. Many of these ingredients are gluten-free, like the fresh produce.
The soy sauce and oyster sauce may contain gluten, which is something you’ll want to be aware of. Another place you’ll want to be aware of gluten in egg rolls is in the egg roll wrapper.
Read on: Are egg rolls gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free Chinese food
What are egg roll wrappers made from?
Egg roll wrappers are made with wheat flour, water, salt, egg yolk, preservatives, and are dusted with a starch, usually corn starch, to keep the wrappers from sticking together.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Are egg roll wrappers gluten-free?
Most egg roll wrappers contain wheat flour, making them not safe for a gluten-free diet. If you avoid gluten, you’ll want to buy specialty gluten-free egg roll wrappers and make your own egg rolls at home.
Gluten-free egg roll wrapper brands and options
Though I wasn’t able to find any specific store-bought gluten-free egg roll wrappers (sadly), I was able to find a few options to make your own at home.
First is a gluten-free egg roll wrap mix for you to create your own wrappers before making homemade egg rolls.
This mix has directions on the packaging for how to use the mix to step by step create the wrappers, then the egg rolls.
The ingredients in this product are brown rice flour, sorghum flour, non-GMO cornstarch, potato starch, xanthan gum, potato flour, sugar, and salt.
Read on: Is rice flour gluten-free?
Another idea for gluten-free egg roll wrappers is to use rice paper sheets instead of traditional egg roll or wonton wrappers, like the folks at Chosen Foods do with their gluten-free egg rolls.
Using rice paper will give you a different texture than you’re used to with egg rolls, but they will still be delicious.
The final option for gluten-free egg roll wrappers is to make your own at home from scratch. I see this as a larger undertaking than what I’m usually willing to do, but if you love egg rolls and want to make them happen to curb a craving, then by all means try this method out!
If you want to try your hand at making your own gluten-free egg roll wrappers, try one of these recipes where they walk you through step by step how to make them.
- Gluten-free Wonton Wrappers from gfJules
- Homemade Gluten-free Wonton Wrappers from Healthy GF Asian
- Gluten-free Wonton Wrappers from Simply Gluten-free
- Gluten-free Egg Roll Wrappers from I am Gluten free
- Gluten free Won Ton Wrappers from Gluten free on a Shoestring
Read on: Gluten-free wonton wrappers
Read on: Are wontons gluten-free?
If you’ve been desperate to find a gluten-free egg roll wrapper to enjoy egg rolls at home that taste great and are suitable for your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has helped give you options.
There are a few different ways you can switch up the egg roll wrappers in your traditional recipe, so try one of these gluten-free options and enjoy your favorite foods while sticking with your diet.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Want more product recommendations for gluten and dairy-free foods? Check out these posts!
Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks: 21 Healthy Ideas from the Store
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free snacks that take no prep at all? Check out these 21 gluten-free dairy-free snack ideas that are healthy and store-bought.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powders + Smoothie Recipe
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free protein powder recommendations? Check out the 5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powder picks plus a chocolate raspberry spinach protein powder smoothie.
5 Best Dairy-free Ranch Dressing Brands
Discover my top 5 dairy-free ranch dressing brand picks – they’re also gluten-free! Great on salads or as dip, these are great options for any dairy-free diet.
Dairy and Gluten-free Costco Finds: 30 Healthy Picks
Looking for some gluten-free Costco items to make the most of your membership? In this post, you’ll find dairy-free and gluten-free Costco picks that are healthy and a great way to round out your shopping.
Top 5 Gluten-free Spaghetti Pasta Brands
Looking for a gluten-free spaghetti brand, but not sure which one to give a try? Check out these top 5 gluten-free spaghetti brands and get my tasty meat & veggie spaghetti recipe!
7 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Bread Brands
Looking for a gluten-free bread that's also dairy-free? Try one fo these 7 brands to get started.
Top 10 Gluten-free Dairy-free Cookbooks
Check out these top 10 gluten and dairy-free cookbooks full of gluten-free dairy-free recipes. These are my hand-picked favorite cookbooks for a gluten and dairy-free diet out today.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Pancake Mixes
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free pancake mix from the store? Check out the best gluten and dairy-free pancake mixes in this post.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Snack Bars
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free snack or protein bar? Check out these 5 delicious and healthy snack bars you can get at the store that are made from minimal ingredients and will help get you through until your next meal time.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Cake Mixes
Try these five gluten-free and dairy-free cake and cupcake mixes for all your birthdays, holidays, and get togethers.
Top 5 Gluten-free Soy Sauce Brands
Have you been looking for a gluten-free soy sauce option? Traditional Chinese soy sauce contains gluten, which is why when you’re on a gluten-free diet, I highly recommend tamari gluten-free soy sauce.
5 Best Dairy-free Frosting Brands (Gluten-free and Vegan)
Discover the 5 best dairy-free frosting brands you can buy at the store, in a variety of flavors. All these brands are gluten and dairy-free too!
5 Best Gluten-free Flour Blends
When it comes to gluten-free baking, there are so many different gluten-free flours available. It’s hard to know which ones are worthwhile to add to your pantry. In this post, I’ll share five of the best gluten-free flour blends you can buy at the store.
Dairy-free Chocolate: The Ultimate Guide
Have you wondered: is chocolate dairy-free? Find out if what brands are dairy-free, where to buy dairy-free chocolate, and more in this ultimate guide!
Gluten-free Graham Crackers
Do you love graham crackers and also follow a gluten-free diet? Find out if graham crackers are gluten-free, where to buy gluten-free graham crackers, and what brands to look for.
The Best Gluten-free Crackers
Are you looking for the perfect gluten-free cracker for all your snacking and appetizer needs? Find a list of the best gluten-free crackers, where to buy them, and how to serve them. Many are dairy-free too!
Gluten-free Ramen Noodles: Brands and Alternatives
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if ramen noodles are gluten-free. Find out if ramen is safe for a gluten-free diet and what brands to look for.
Find out what chips are gluten-free, which brands to buy, and find out if your favorites are safe for your gluten-free diet.
Gluten-free Salad Dressing: Types & Brands
Find out what types of salad dressing are safe for a gluten-free diet (and dairy-free diet). Plus which brands to look for at the store.
Gluten-free BBQ Sauce
If you love barbecue, you might be looking for a gluten-free BBQ sauce that works with all your favorite chicken, beef, and wing recipes. Learn if barbecue sauce is gluten-free and what brands to look for at the store.
Leave a Reply