Find out if wonton wrappers are gluten-free, what they’re made of, and what your gluten-free wonton wrapper options are.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love wontons either homemade, store bought, or ordering them from the grocery store, you may be wondering if you’re just getting started with a gluten-free diet if these will fit in. Wontons are a delicious Chinese dumpling with meat or shrimp fillings that are delicious as appetizers or in a wonton soup.
If you’ve wondered how to enjoy wontons on a gluten-free diet, this post about wonton wrappers will help you determine what your options are when it comes to buying and making them at home. Find out what wonton wrappers are, what they’re made of, and if they are safe for a gluten-free diet.
We’ll also go over some gluten-free wonton wrapper brands you might consider buying premade and a few recipes that will help you make your own at home. Finally, we’ll talk about whether or not wonton wrappers are dairy-free or vegan and what you need to know if you follow those diets.
What are wontons?
Wontons are Chinese dumplings that are made with a meat filling and a thin wonton wrapper. Wontons are usually steamed or fried before serving. They’re often served as appetizers or in soup.
What are wonton wrappers?
Wonton wrappers are the square shaped dough that wraps around the meat filling of the wonton. These square wrappers are used as little purses or dumplings for fillings like seasoned pork or shrimp.
What are wonton wrappers made of?
Wonton wrappers ingredients may vary depending on the brand or if they are homemade. However, the main ingredients in traditional wonton wrappers are: flour, eggs, water, and salt.
Some store-bought wonton wrappers may have other ingredients, such as cornstarch, wheat gluten, sodium benzoate, or tapioca starch.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Are wonton wrappers gluten-free?
Most wonton wrappers that are sold at stores or found in most restaurants are not gluten-free, as they contain wheat flour or wheat gluten.
That said, if you make your own wonton wrappers at home, you can easily substitute wheat flour or wheat gluten for a gluten-free ingredient instead. There are also a few gluten-free wonton wrapper brands that you can search for online or in stores to make your own gluten-free wontons at home.
Read on: Are wontons gluten-free?
What is dairy?
Dairy is a general name for ANY food that is made from milk. Technically, this is any food made from cow’s milk or goat’s milk or sheep’s milk. Any animal milk is dairy.
However, mostly when we’re talking about dairy, we’re talking about drinking cow’s milk, because that’s what is most popular here in the United States.
Are wonton wrappers dairy-free?
Most wonton wrappers are considered dairy-free as there are no dairy ingredients that are required to make these. Flour, water, salt, and sometimes eggs are included in most wonton wrappers, so without any milk or milk derivatives, this ingredient is almost always dairy-free.
Are wonton wrappers vegan?
Wonton wrappers may or may not be considered a vegan food, because they can sometimes contain eggs. Many brands of wonton wrappers are made with no eggs or other animal products and are considered safe for vegans to enjoy.
However, if you are following a vegan diet or also avoid eggs in your diet, you’ll want to do your due diligence in reviewing ingredients lists before purchasing wonton wrappers from the store or ordering wontons from restaurants.
Gluten-free wonton wrapper brands
There aren’t too many gluten-free wonton wrapper brands available, but there are some. Here are a few you can search for next time you’re at the store or look for them online through the brand’s website or other online retailer.
Gluten-free Egg Roll or Wonton Wrap Mix by Mom’s Place Gluten-free
This gluten-free wonton wrapper mix is gluten-free and made with a mixture of brown rice and sorghum flour, cornstarch, potato starch, potato flour, xanthan gum, sugar, and salt.
The packaging calls for combining the mix with water and egg, then mixing and rolling your own wonton wrappers. It also has a recipe for an egg roll filling that could easily be used for a wonton filling as well.
If you choose to follow this recipe, opt for a gluten-free tamari soy sauce option instead of traditional Chinese soy sauce, as this condiment contains gluten.
Read on: Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Read on: Is tamari gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free egg roll wrappers
Vietnamese Brown Rice Spring Roll Wrapper by Star Anise Foods
These gluten-free wonton wrappers are made with brown rice, cassava root, water, green tea, and salt – all naturally gluten-free ingredients.
These wrappers are great for wontons, but are versatile enough to be used for gluten-free summer wraps and rolls, gluten-free egg rolls or lumpia, gluten-free dumplings, and even used as a gluten-free tortilla alternative.
I’ve seen these both on Amazon and on the Safeway website in the white rice spring roll wrapper variety.
Gluten-free wonton wrapper recipes
If you’re interested in making your own gluten-free wonton wrappers at home, here are a few recipes you can try out. These are all gluten and dairy-free, but most contain eggs.
- Gluten-free wonton wrappers from Gluten Free on a Shoestring (contains egg)
- Gluten-free wonton wrappers from Simply Gluten-free (contains egg)
- Gluten-free wonton wrappers from gfJules (contains egg)
- Homemade gluten-free wonton wrappers from Healthy GF Asian (contains egg)
- Gluten-free wonton wrappers from Kimi Eats Gluten Free (contains egg)
- Dumpling wrappers from Ela Vegan
- Homemade dumpling wrappers from Bianca Zapatka
If you love wontons and have been trying to figure out how you can enjoy these yummy dumplings while sticking with your gluten-free recipe, I hope this information has been helpful for you.
Most wontons and wonton wrappers are not gluten-free, however there are few options you can look for at stores. Most easily if you have a wonton craving and want to stick with your gluten-free diet, your best option is to make your own at home using a gluten-free wonton wrapper recipe. You can choose to make it with or without eggs for whatever your dietary needs are.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Want more product recommendations for gluten and dairy-free foods? Check out these posts!
Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks: 21 Healthy Ideas from the Store
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free snacks that take no prep at all? Check out these 21 gluten-free dairy-free snack ideas that are healthy and store-bought.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powders + Smoothie Recipe
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free protein powder recommendations? Check out the 5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powder picks plus a chocolate raspberry spinach protein powder smoothie.
5 Best Dairy-free Ranch Dressing Brands
Discover my top 5 dairy-free ranch dressing brand picks – they’re also gluten-free! Great on salads or as dip, these are great options for any dairy-free diet.
Dairy and Gluten-free Costco Finds: 30 Healthy Picks
Looking for some gluten-free Costco items to make the most of your membership? In this post, you’ll find dairy-free and gluten-free Costco picks that are healthy and a great way to round out your shopping.
Top 5 Gluten-free Spaghetti Pasta Brands
Looking for a gluten-free spaghetti brand, but not sure which one to give a try? Check out these top 5 gluten-free spaghetti brands and get my tasty meat & veggie spaghetti recipe!
7 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Bread Brands
Looking for a gluten-free bread that's also dairy-free? Try one fo these 7 brands to get started.
Top 10 Gluten-free Dairy-free Cookbooks
Check out these top 10 gluten and dairy-free cookbooks full of gluten-free dairy-free recipes. These are my hand-picked favorite cookbooks for a gluten and dairy-free diet out today.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Pancake Mixes
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free pancake mix from the store? Check out the best gluten and dairy-free pancake mixes in this post.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Snack Bars
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free snack or protein bar? Check out these 5 delicious and healthy snack bars you can get at the store that are made from minimal ingredients and will help get you through until your next meal time.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Cake Mixes
Try these five gluten-free and dairy-free cake and cupcake mixes for all your birthdays, holidays, and get togethers.
Top 5 Gluten-free Soy Sauce Brands
Have you been looking for a gluten-free soy sauce option? Traditional Chinese soy sauce contains gluten, which is why when you’re on a gluten-free diet, I highly recommend tamari gluten-free soy sauce.
5 Best Dairy-free Frosting Brands (Gluten-free and Vegan)
Discover the 5 best dairy-free frosting brands you can buy at the store, in a variety of flavors. All these brands are gluten and dairy-free too!
5 Best Gluten-free Flour Blends
When it comes to gluten-free baking, there are so many different gluten-free flours available. It’s hard to know which ones are worthwhile to add to your pantry. In this post, I’ll share five of the best gluten-free flour blends you can buy at the store.
Dairy-free Chocolate: The Ultimate Guide
Have you wondered: is chocolate dairy-free? Find out if what brands are dairy-free, where to buy dairy-free chocolate, and more in this ultimate guide!
Gluten-free Graham Crackers
Do you love graham crackers and also follow a gluten-free diet? Find out if graham crackers are gluten-free, where to buy gluten-free graham crackers, and what brands to look for.
The Best Gluten-free Crackers
Are you looking for the perfect gluten-free cracker for all your snacking and appetizer needs? Find a list of the best gluten-free crackers, where to buy them, and how to serve them. Many are dairy-free too!
Gluten-free Ramen Noodles: Brands and Alternatives
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if ramen noodles are gluten-free. Find out if ramen is safe for a gluten-free diet and what brands to look for.
Gluten-free Chips
Find out what chips are gluten-free, which brands to buy, and find out if your favorites are safe for your gluten-free diet.
Gluten-free Salad Dressing: Types & Brands
Find out what types of salad dressing are safe for a gluten-free diet (and dairy-free diet). Plus which brands to look for at the store.
Gluten-free BBQ Sauce
If you love barbecue, you might be looking for a gluten-free BBQ sauce that works with all your favorite chicken, beef, and wing recipes. Learn if barbecue sauce is gluten-free and what brands to look for at the store.
Arianne says
Thank you for this information! I have been hungry for wontons lately. I haven’t had them in years due to being gf. I tried making my own wrappers tonight and it was a fail! I don’t like rolling dough out along with the dough being sticky so I threw it out. I was on the search to see if there was a company who made gf wonton wrappers. I happened to come across your website in the search and am going to make some with the spring roll wrappers. I am really hoping these will turn out good tomorrow!
Rachael Roehmholdt says
Yay, Arianne! I’m glad the information was helpful for you and you found a product to try. Let us know how your wontons turn out!