If you love barbecue, you might be looking for a gluten-free BBQ sauce that works with all your favorite chicken, beef, and wing recipes. Learn if barbecue sauce is gluten-free and what brands to look for at the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love barbecue, you know that nothing beats getting the sauce just right for your burgers, wings, brisket, and anything else you toss onto the grill.
If you love to make your own BBQ sauce, then making sure it’s gluten-free is simple and straightforward. As long as the ingredients you put into your recipe are gluten-free, your sauce will be too.
However, if you’re like me and you don’t mind taking shortcuts from the grocery store once in a while, then you’ll want to be sure that the BBQ sauce you buy and use is safe for your gluten-free diet.
Whatever you love to slather it on, I have a great post for you all about this delicious, smoky, sweet tangy sauce that will help you determine what to pick up next time you’re at the grocery store.
In this post, we’ll cover what ingredients are in BBQ sauce, if BBQ sauce is gluten-free, and we’ll discuss your options for gluten-free barbecue sauce. Let’s get to it!
What ingredients are in BBQ sauce?
Depending on the brand or recipe, the ingredients in barbecue sauce can vary widely. However, these are some of the ingredients you’re likely to find in BBQ sauce with varying amounts to give each brand a unique flavor:
Vinegar, tomato paste or ketchup, sugar or brown sugar, molasses, onion powder, liquid smoke, mustard, black pepper, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce.
Depending on what recipe you use or what brand you buy, you may find some, all, or just a few of these ingredients in your barbecue sauce ingredients list.
Read on: Is mustard gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form or gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Is BBQ sauce gluten-free?
If you make your own BBQ sauce at home, it’s easy to make it using only gluten-free ingredients. Using your own ingredients, you have full control over the quality and amount of ingredients and can make sure there is no potential for gluten.
If you buy store-bought BBQ sauce, you will find that some brands are gluten-free, while others aren’t. You’re likely to find gluten in thickeners or coloring that are added to the barbecue sauce that contain gluten. You might also find beer or soy sauce in some brands, which can contain gluten, as well.
It’s important to review the ingredients list before buying and look for any hidden names of gluten on the package.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
>> Get your copy of the GFDF Take-Along Cards to make this easy on you.
Gluten-free BBQ Sauce Brands
Since some brands of BBQ sauce contain gluten and others don’t, I’ve put together a list of brands and flavors that are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note that this isn’t an exhaustive list of all gluten-free BBQ sauce brands available, rather a few options to look for at your grocery store.
Some of these brands are considered “gluten-free” while others contain no gluten-containing ingredients. I’ve marked those that have a gluten-free label, indicating less than 20ppm in the product, with an asterisk (*).
Those without an asterisk have no gluten-containing ingredients, however they may have been produced on the same lines as ingredients with gluten.
If you are very sensitive to even trace amounts of gluten, look for a brand that has a gluten-free label.
Annie’s BBQ Sauce*
- Original BBQ Sauce
- Organic Smoky Maple BBQ Sauce
- Organic Sweet & Spicy BBQ Sauce
Bone Suckin’ Sauce*
- Bone Suckin’ Sauce
- Bone Suckin’ Sauce, Hot
- Bone Suckin’ Sauce, Thicker style
- Bone Suckin’ Sauce, Hot Thicker Style
- Bone Suckin’ Wing Sauce, Honey & Habanero
- Bone Suckin’ Wing Sauce, Teriyaki & Ginger
- Bone Suckin’ Wing Sauce, Garlic & Honey
Read on: Is teriyaki sauce gluten-free?
Bull’s Eye BBQ Sauce
- Steak House
- Tennessee Style Sweet Whiskey
- Smokey Chipotle
- Brown Sugar
Burman’s BBQ Sauce
- Kansas City
- Kansas City
- Carolina #6
- Bourbon Brown Sugar
- Pacific Rim
- Root Beer
Read on: Is Sriracha gluten-free?
Hunt’s BBQ Sauce
- Hickory Cracked Black Pepper
- Mesquite Molasses
- Cherrywood Chipotle
Jack Daniel’s BBQ Sauce
- Sweet & Spicy
Lillie’s Q BBQ Sauce
- Zero Sugar Carolina
- Hot Smoky
- Asian BBQ
- Korean BBQ
- Sweet Hickory
- Sweet Mesquite
- Smoky Chipotle
- Sweet Heat
Sky Valley Organic
- Korean BBQ
Stubbs Legendary Bar-B-Q Sauces
- Dr Pepper
- Hickory Bourbon
- Simply Sweet Reduced Sugar
- Smokey Brown Sugar
- Smokey Mesquite
- Sticky Sweet
- Sweet Heat
- Sweet Honey & Spice
Sweet Baby Ray’s Gourmet Sauces*
- Sweet ‘n Spicy
- Sweet Golden Mustard
- Hickory & Brown Sugar
- Honey Chipotle
- Sweet Vidalia Onion
Read on: Is Sweet Baby Ray’s gluten-free?
Are my favorite brands of BBQ sauce gluten-free?
With a starting point list of some brands you can look for at your local grocery store or online, you might be wondering if your favorite brands make the cut. Here are some popular BBQ sauce brands that you may be wondering about.
Is Sweet Baby Ray’s gluten-free?
All flavors of Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce are gluten-free, as indicated on their website. They offer sauces other than BBQ sauce that are not gluten-free.
This brand has a gluten-free label on the products that are considered gluten-free, so it’s easy to find them on the back of the packaging.
Is Kraft BBQ sauce gluten-free?
Kraft does a great job of labeling allergens on their food products. In the case of BBQ sauce, most of the flavors contain no gluten-containing ingredients, however they don’t have a gluten-free label.
Because they don’t have a gluten-free label, they may come into contact with gluten in the manufacturing process.
Since recipes change all the time, be sure to check ingredients lists before purchasing. And only buy it if you can tolerate trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination.
Is Jack Daniel’s barbecue sauce gluten-free?
Jack Daniel’s brand of barbecue sauce contains no gluten-containing ingredients, but doesn’t have a gluten-free label.
That means the recipe itself doesn’t have gluten, but it may come into contact with gluten during the manufacturing process.
Read on: Is Jack Daniel’s gluten-free?
Is Bull’s Eye BBQ sauce gluten-free?
Bull’s Eye BBQ sauce contains no gluten-containing ingredients, but the brand doesn’t make any gluten-free claims. It’s possible that this brand has the potential for cross contamination with gluten during manufacturing.
You can use your best judgement based on your body and level of sensitivity to determine if this is a brand you want to enjoy on your gluten-free diet.
Is Burman’s BBQ sauce gluten-free?
Burman’s BBQ sauce contains no gluten ingredients and they list these products as gluten-free on their packaging.
Is Ol’ West BBQ sauce gluten-free?
I wasn’t able to confirm on the James Valley Company (manufacturer of Ol’ West BBQ sauce) website whether or not this product was safe for folks on a gluten-free diet. They do not list ingredients or information about gluten on their website.
Is Stubb’s BBQ sauce gluten-free?
Stubb’s BBQ sauce is manufactured by the McCormick brand. This brand of barbecue sauce has a gluten-free label and is considered safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet. Choose one of the options listed in this post to add to your favorite dishes.
If you love using barbecue sauce on all your favorite grilled and smoked foods, I hope this post has helped you find a brand and flavor that will work for you and your gluten-free diet.
Remember to check out ingredients lists before purchasing and look for any hidden names of gluten.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Want more product recommendations for gluten and dairy-free foods? Check out these posts!
Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks: 21 Healthy Ideas from the Store
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free snacks that take no prep at all? Check out these 21 gluten-free dairy-free snack ideas that are healthy and store-bought.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powders + Smoothie Recipe
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free protein powder recommendations? Check out the 5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powder picks plus a chocolate raspberry spinach protein powder smoothie.
5 Best Dairy-free Ranch Dressing Brands
Discover my top 5 dairy-free ranch dressing brand picks – they’re also gluten-free! Great on salads or as dip, these are great options for any dairy-free diet.
Dairy and Gluten-free Costco Finds: 30 Healthy Picks
Looking for some gluten-free Costco items to make the most of your membership? In this post, you’ll find dairy-free and gluten-free Costco picks that are healthy and a great way to round out your shopping.
Top 5 Gluten-free Spaghetti Pasta Brands
Looking for a gluten-free spaghetti brand, but not sure which one to give a try? Check out these top 5 gluten-free spaghetti brands and get my tasty meat & veggie spaghetti recipe!
7 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Bread Brands
Looking for a gluten-free bread that's also dairy-free? Try one fo these 7 brands to get started.
Top 10 Gluten-free Dairy-free Cookbooks
Check out these top 10 gluten and dairy-free cookbooks full of gluten-free dairy-free recipes. These are my hand-picked favorite cookbooks for a gluten and dairy-free diet out today.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Pancake Mixes
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free pancake mix from the store? Check out the best gluten and dairy-free pancake mixes in this post.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Snack Bars
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free snack or protein bar? Check out these 5 delicious and healthy snack bars you can get at the store that are made from minimal ingredients and will help get you through until your next meal time.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Cake Mixes
Try these five gluten-free and dairy-free cake and cupcake mixes for all your birthdays, holidays, and get togethers.
Top 5 Gluten-free Soy Sauce Brands
Have you been looking for a gluten-free soy sauce option? Traditional Chinese soy sauce contains gluten, which is why when you’re on a gluten-free diet, I highly recommend tamari gluten-free soy sauce.
5 Best Dairy-free Frosting Brands (Gluten-free and Vegan)
Discover the 5 best dairy-free frosting brands you can buy at the store, in a variety of flavors. All these brands are gluten and dairy-free too!
5 Best Gluten-free Flour Blends
When it comes to gluten-free baking, there are so many different gluten-free flours available. It’s hard to know which ones are worthwhile to add to your pantry. In this post, I’ll share five of the best gluten-free flour blends you can buy at the store.
Dairy-free Chocolate: The Ultimate Guide
Have you wondered: is chocolate dairy-free? Find out if what brands are dairy-free, where to buy dairy-free chocolate, and more in this ultimate guide!
Gluten-free Graham Crackers
Do you love graham crackers and also follow a gluten-free diet? Find out if graham crackers are gluten-free, where to buy gluten-free graham crackers, and what brands to look for.
The Best Gluten-free Crackers
Are you looking for the perfect gluten-free cracker for all your snacking and appetizer needs? Find a list of the best gluten-free crackers, where to buy them, and how to serve them. Many are dairy-free too!
Gluten-free Ramen Noodles: Brands and Alternatives
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if ramen noodles are gluten-free. Find out if ramen is safe for a gluten-free diet and what brands to look for.
Find out what chips are gluten-free, which brands to buy, and find out if your favorites are safe for your gluten-free diet.
Gluten-free Salad Dressing: Types & Brands
Find out what types of salad dressing are safe for a gluten-free diet (and dairy-free diet). Plus which brands to look for at the store.
Leave a Reply