Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten Everything from whole grains to your favorite cereals, cookies, chips – and even coffee. Get your pressing questions answered!
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re just getting started with a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if some of your favorite foods are gluten-free. I’ve had so many questions over the years, and been asked many questions as a blogger, as to what grains, snacks, cereals, and even chocolate is gluten-free.
I’ll be the first to tell you that most of the information I share here on my blog is available out there on the internet… somewhere. But it isn’t always easy to find the answers you’re looking for.
That’s why I decided to start making these posts that answer specific questions related to being gluten-free. Sometimes it has taken me HOURS to get to a good and true answer.
Sometimes I’ve had to email companies or go scour the very very fine print of a brand’s website or message boards and forums to determine if I can eat a particular food on my gluten-free diet.
There’s so much to know and so many ingredients to be aware of that it can be overwhelming sometimes. I want to take some of that time off your shoulders and give you the answers I wish I had when I first started on this journey.
I want this information to be accessible to you – but also me – when you have these questions. It’s important information to know if you intend on sticking with avoiding gluten for the short or long-term. If you don’t know what contains gluten, how can you avoid it?
The easiest way to find out if a food contains gluten is to read the ingredients lists. This should give you all the information that you need, and many have “Contains” notes to tell you if the product contains wheat or gluten.
It makes it easier to find the products you’ll want to avoid if you find those “Contains: Wheat” or “Contains: Gluten” notes. It’s also pretty straight forward to find hidden names of gluten, as long as you know what to look for.
You can also look for “Processed in a Gluten-free Facility” on packaging to help you determine if a product is right for you.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
>> Get your copy of the GFDF Take-Along Cards to make this easy on you.
When you have access to the names of dairy, you can easily compare them to the ingredients lists of any product and determine if it’s a good fit for you and your diet.
To make your life a little easier, here are some of the most commonly asked questions as they relate to gluten in food. I hope they help you!
Is That Gluten-free? Gluten-free FAQ's
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts! Everything from whole grains to your favorite cereals, cookies, chips - and even coffee. Get your pressing questions answered!
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Wondering if barley or barley malt is gluten-free? Find out if this food is safe for your gluten-free diet – and what to look for on ingredients lists!
Are you a fan of rich creamy risotto? Find out if this popular Italian rice dish is safe for a gluten-free diet!
Have you come across the whole grain farro in your gluten-free diet and aren’t sure if it’s safe to enjoy? Learn if farro is safe for a gluten-free diet in this post.
Find out if millet is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, how to cook it, and how to serve it in this post.
Find out if the ancient grain spelt is gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet, plus what some gluten-free alternatives to spelt.
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Learn if couscous, a popular mini pasta, is safe for a gluten-free and what some gluten-free alternatives for this ingredient are.
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is popcorn your favorite movie snack? Find out if this food is gluten-free and safe to continue enjoying on a gluten-free diet.
Are potatoes gluten-free? Find out if this common ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet in this post.
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are you a peanut butter lover and also thinking about going gluten-free? Find out in this post is peanut butter is safe to enjoy if you follow a gluten-free diet.
Wondering if yeast is gluten-free? Be sure to read this post to find out if yeast is safe for a gluten-free diet and which types of yeast you can eat!
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Find out if chocolate is gluten-free, what brands are safe and what to look out for.
Love graham crackers for snacks or s'mores? Find out if they are gluten-free and what your options are.
Discover what types of alcohol are safe for a gluten-free diet. Including your favorites: beer, wine, cider, vodka, whiskey, bourbon, Scotch, rum, tequila, gin, liqueurs, mead, sake, hard seltzer, and hard lemonades.
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
If you have questions about some of your favorite foods, be sure to leave them in the comments. I’m always adding new questions and answers to the blog!
Leave a Reply