Are you a peanut butter lover and also thinking about going gluten-free? Find out in this post is peanut butter is safe to enjoy if you follow a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Peanut butter is a favorite ingredient among kids and adults alike. It’s a mainstay in sandwiches, cookies (like my gluten-free peanut butter cookies), peanut sauces, ice cream, and even soup.
It’s full of protein, fat, and will keep you full for a long time after eating it. It’s even great for storing up for emergencies because many brands can be shelf stable for up to two years.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that gluten can sometimes be hidden in unlikely places, especially in processed foods. Peanut butter is definitely a processed food if you buy it from the grocery store.
So is it safe for a gluten-free diet? Does peanut butter regularly contain gluten or is it a generally okay ingredient to keep on hand?
In this post, we’ll talk about what peanut butter is made from, what gluten is, if peanut butter is gluten-free, why all peanut butter products aren’t labeled as gluten-free, and if some of your favorite peanut butter brands are considered gluten-free.
Find out if you can keep on making your favorite PB&J sandwiches below!
What is peanut butter made from?
Peanut butter is usually made from ground peanuts, and sometimes added oil, sugar or other sweetener, and salt. Some brands of peanut butter add other ingredients, like corn syrup, soy protein, and other preservatives.
While most of us can agree that peanut butter should be made from just one ingredient – peanuts, many manufacturers don’t include just one ingredient.
You can find brands with many ingredients for sweetening, adding protein, and preservatives for keeping it shelf stable for a very long time.
Your best bet with just about any food, and with peanut butter is to look for the option with the shortest ingredient list. This will ensure it’s as close to nature as you can find it, meaning it won’t contain a lot of extra ingredients that have the potential to have hidden gluten.
Read on: 101 Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten can also be found in many processed foods as additives, binders, and flavorings.
Is peanut butter gluten-free?
Peanut butter in its most natural form is always gluten-free. Most store-bought peanut butter is gluten-free as it contains nothing more than peanuts and oil.
Some brands of peanut butter may contain gluten from cross contamination in a facility where wheat products are also processed. Look for a gluten-free label if you don’t feel confident in the brand that you’re purchasing.
If you aren’t sure what the other names for gluten are, be sure to check this list so you can review ingredient lists before purchasing.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
Why aren’t all peanut butter products labeled as gluten-free?
While many peanut butter products are in fact gluten-free, they don’t always have the gluten-free label on them.
The main reason for this is that it costs money to be able to get certified as a gluten-free product to share with certainty that the product contains no more than 20ppm of gluten.
Many brands may not want to take that added expense knowing that the ingredient list will provide most shoppers with what they need to know.
You can look for a gluten-free label on peanut butter if you are celiac and need to be assured with a label that proper testing has been done to indicate such small amounts of gluten aren’t present.
However, if you follow a gluten-free diet for food intolerances, you will probably be safe with buying most peanut butter brands that contain minimal ingredients, like peanuts, oil, sugar, and salt.
What brands of peanut butter are gluten-free?
If you’re wondering if your favorite peanut butter brands are gluten-free, be sure to check this list before heading to the store.
Gluten-free Peanut Butter Brands
Is Great Value peanut butter gluten-free?
The Walmart website shows that Great Value peanut butter as gluten-free0, making this a safe option for a gluten-free diet.
Is Jif peanut butter gluten-free?
Most Jif peanut butter is gluten-free as indicated on their packaging and on their website. I was able to confirm these version of Jif peanut butter are gluten-free:
- Jif No Added Sugar Creamy Peanut Butter Spread
- Jif Squeeze Creamy Peanut Butter
- Jif Creamy Peanut Butter
- Jif Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter
- Jif Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread
- Jif Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread and Honey
- Jif Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter Spread
- Jif Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread and Honey
- Jif Reduced Fat Creamy Peanut Butter Spread
- Simply Jif Peanut Butter
The Jif To Go snack packs are not gluten-free, and I wasn’t able to find a gluten-free label on the Creamy Peanut Butter with Omega-3 DHA & EPA. This doesn’t mean it contains gluten, just that it doesn’t have the gluten-free label.
Is Kirkland brand peanut butter gluten-free?
Kirkland peanut butter contains only dry roasted organic peanuts and sea salt. It does contain an allergen statement stating that it shares a facility that processes tree nuts and soy, but no gluten or wheat.
Kirkland brand peanut butter is gluten-free.
Is Skippy peanut butter gluten-free?
According to the Hormel Foods website (Skippy’s parent brand), Skippy peanut butter is gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is Smuckers peanut butter gluten-free?
According to the Smuckers website, these are the gluten-free peanut butter options from this brand.
- Natural Chunky Peanut Butter
- Natural Creamy Peanut Butter
- Natural Creamy Peanut Butter with No Salt Added
- Organic Chunky Peanut Butter
- Organic Creamy Peanut Butter
Is Peter Pan peanut butter gluten-free?
Peter Pan’s website states “All varieties of Peter Pan Peanut Butter are made without adding any potential gluten-containing ingredients such as wheat, rye, barley, and oats.”
Is Adams peanut butter gluten-free?
The Adams peanut butter website gives great information about their stance on gluten in their products. “Adams Peanut Butter products do not contain ingredients derived from gluten; however, these products do not meet our established criteria for a “gluten-free” claim for one or more reasons.”
While they don’t use gluten-containing ingredients, I was able to find a few threads in discussion forums of people who have had a gluten reaction to Adams peanut butter.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may or may not want to try out this brand.
Is Justin’s peanut butter gluten-free?
According to the Justin’s website, all their products are certified gluten-free by the GFCO.
Do you have a favorite peanut butter brand that I didn’t cover? Pop it in the comments and I’d be happy to do some research to help you find an answer!
Does peanut butter contain dairy?
Despite the name “butter” appearing in the name, peanut butter is dairy-free. Unless there is added chocolate or other flavorings added to the peanut butter, you can feel confident that peanut butter is safe for a dairy-free diet.
I hope if you’ve been searching for an answer as to whether peanut butter is gluten-free that you feel comfortable looking at most brands as safe for your diet.
As always with any processed food, check ingredient lists to ensure that there’s nothing hidden in the product that could contain gluten. Look for that “gluten-free” label to help you make an informed choice.