Have you come across the whole grain farro in your gluten-free diet and aren’t sure if it’s safe to enjoy? Learn if farro is safe for a gluten-free diet in this post.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you are trying out different whole grains to add more protein or fiber to your diet, you may have come across farro. Farro is an ancient grain that has gained a bit more popularity among the health food crowd as an alternative to rice.
When you find yourself looking at a package at the store or recipes online of different healthy salads or soups to make, be sure you know this important information about farro before you buy or get started cooking.
In this post, we’re going to discuss farro and find out if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet. As many grains contain gluten, it’s important to know which ones you can include in your diet and which you’ll want to steer clear of so you can always feel your best.
Let’s start with defining farro and gluten, then answer the question: is farro gluten-free?
What is farro?
Farro is an ancient grain that has a nutty taste and chewy texture. It is full of fiber and protein, and is considered a health food for many. Farro is a term that is used to encompass other wheat sources: emmer, spelt, and einkorn.
Farro comes in a few types: pearled, semi-pearled, and whole farro. You can also find it as farro flour. Many people use it in place as an alternative to rice for its fiber, antioxidants, and minerals.
Farro can be served both warm and cold in salads, soups, pilafs, and in other side dishes. You can use it in much the same way you’d use quinoa or other whole grains.
While it isn’t an entirely popular whole grain, it has gained more popularity as other ancient grains have come into the health world, like quinoa and buckwheat.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is farro gluten-free?
Farro is a grain that comes from the wheat family, so it contains gluten and is not gluten-free. If you follow a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to steer clear of this grain.
Farro is a term used to describe three different types of wheat: emmer, spelt, and einkorn. Unfortunately, none of these are gluten-free.
If you find yourself with a recipe that calls for farro, you can opt to use another gluten-free grain in its place. Try rice, millet, quinoa, or buckwheat in your recipes instead in soups, salads, and side dishes.
If you’ve found yourself looking for different whole grains to add to your diet, you will want to steer clear of farro if you are on a gluten-free diet.
While this grain offers plenty of health benefits, this ingredient contains gluten and you will likely feel sick if you have a gluten allergy or intolerance. Opt instead for an alternative to farro, like those listed above, to be sure you feel your best all the time.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply