Find out if the ancient grain spelt is gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet, plus what some gluten-free alternatives to spelt.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Look down any bread aisle and you’ll find flours made from all types of different grains. If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you know that it’s important to do your research to find out which grains are safe for a gluten-free diet and which aren’t.
As many grains contain gluten, you want a short list of those grains to avoid so you can keep them out of your diet and feel your best all the time.
In this post, we’re going to talk about spelt, a lesser known grain, yet one you’ll want to be aware of if you’re on a gluten-free diet.
What is spelt?
Spelt is an ancient grain that many people feel is a healthier alternative to wheat as it is often farmed organically.
You can often find spelt as an ingredient in many healthier versions of bread or other baked goods, as many people use in place of wheat flour in their baking. It can also be used as a whole grain and used in salads and side dishes.
While it isn’t an entirely popular whole grain, it has gained more popularity as other ancient grains have come into the health world, like quinoa and buckwheat.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is spelt gluten-free?
Spelt is an ancient form of wheat. Although it isn’t outwardly called wheat, it is related to wheat and contains gluten like other wheat plants do.
Spelt and wheat contain slightly different types of gluten, however it is not gluten-free and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
There is a perception that spelt contains less gluten than wheat, because it is an ancient grain, yet researchers found that “spelt had higher protein and gluten content than wheat.”
Read on: Is spelt flour gluten-free?
Alternatives to spelt
If you enjoy eating spelt or spelt-containing foods, consider trying other grains in its place, such as other gluten-free grains.
Try one of these gluten-free grains instead:
- Kasha (buckwheat)
If you’ve been wondering if spelt is gluten-free, I hope this helped you determine if it’s the right choice for your diet. If you avoid gluten, you’ll want to also avoid spelt.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply