Find out what sriracha is, what it’s made from, and if this hot sauce is safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus a few gluten-free sriracha brands to shop for.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love adding some spice to your food, you are probably a hot sauce lover. There’s nothing easier than adding a dash of hot sauce to almost any dish to give it that next level of heat.
Sriracha, or rooster sauce, is a popular hot sauce that can be found in many restaurants to help level up the spicy factor for everything from Thai or Chinese noodle dishes to pizza to eggs. Whatever you like spicy, Sriracha can be added to it.
If you’re following a gluten-free diet or just getting started with one, you may be curious if this hot sauce is a condiment you can keep around at home or use at a restaurant to add to your favorite dishes.
Since I’m always reviewing different products that are safe or unsafe for people on a gluten-free diet, I’ve decided to dig into Sriracha.
In this post, we’re going to talk about what Sriracha is, what it’s made from, and of course find out if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Gluten-free Chinese food
Read on: Gluten-free Thai food
What is Sriracha?
Sriracha is a type of hot chili sauce that originated in Southeast Asian cuisines. Sriracha is also known as “rooster sauce,” because of the famous rooster on the bottle.
While you’re most likely to find Sriracha at Thai and other restaurants that serve Asian cuisine, you might also see it at places with pizza, breakfast items, or sandwich shops.
Sriracha isn’t just for restaurants either. Many folks love to keep a bottle on hand to add some spice to their favorite recipes.
Folks who love the heat can find just about anything to put Sriracha sauce on. If you love adding a little spice to your favorite dishes, you might reach for sriracha sauce for your eggs, mixed with a little mayonnaise for a spicy mayo, in marinades, on sandwiches, popcorn, or even salad dressings.
Read on: Is sushi gluten-free?
What is Sriracha made from?
Though there are many different brands of sriracha sauce you can buy, the most popular option is from Huy Fong. This is the one that comes in the bottle with a rooster and a red cap that you’ll see all over at restaurants.
This brand of sriracha hot chili sauce contains the following ingredients:
“Chili, sugar, salt, garlic, distilled vinegar, potassium sorbate, sodium bisulfate as preservatives, and xanthan gum.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are used as flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Is Sriracha gluten-free?
Sriracha sauce is typically gluten-free as it uses ingredients like chili, sugar, salt, garlic, and distilled vinegar. Other ingredients might be added for preservatives and texture, but most often they do not contain gluten.
As with any processed food, it’s a good idea to review ingredients lists for any hidden names of gluten If you are celiac, it’s a good idea to look for a gluten-free label if you are extremely sensitive to gluten and can’t risk cross contamination.
Which brands of Sriracha are gluten-free?
You can find different brands of Sriracha available at grocery stores. Different restaurants may serve some of these brands as well, though the most popular one I’ve seen is the Huy Fong brand.
Note that not all brands offer a gluten-free label on their packaging. This could be due to a few different reasons.
- They may have no gluten ingredients, but they have not tested their products. It costs manufacturers money to test for gluten and the brand simply hasn’t tested.
- There may be no gluten ingredients, but the manufacturer knows there’s a potential for cross contamination so they don’t list it.
- Their product contains gluten ingredients.
If you’re searching for a Sriracha option to have at home, look for one of these brands locally or online.
All of the options listed here contain no gluten ingredients, but not all have a gluten-free label. Those with an asterisk (*) are ones with a gluten-free label, meaning it has been verified this product contains less than 20 ppm of gluten.
According to the Huy Fong website and their Allergen Statement, they say that wheat is not present in their products or manufacturing plant. Review their page for more information if you have questions or concerns.
The Kikkoman USA website shows that their Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce contains no wheat or gluten ingredients. This brand does not have a gluten-free label on its packaging.
Shark Brand Sriracha Chili Sauce contains no gluten ingredients with just chilli, water, sugar, garlic, salt, and vinegar.
Trader Joe’s Sriracha Sauce contains ground red chili peppers, water, sugar, ground garlic, salt, garlic powder, cultured dextrose, vegetable extract, natural flavor, vinegar, citric acid, and xathan gum. This brand does not have a gluten-free label on its packaging.
This brand contains chili, vinegar, garlic, sugar, salt, potassium sorbate and sodium bisulfate, xanthan gum, and red food coloring. There is no gluten-free label on this product.
The ingredients in this chili sauce are spur chili, water, sugar, garlic, salt, and acetic acid. There is no gluten-free label on this product.
Thai Kitchen gluten-free sriracha sauce contains pure cane sugar, water, pickled chili pepper (rice vinegar, chili pepper, salt), rice vinegar, modified tapioca starch, salt and xanthan gum. The bottle does have a gluten-free label.
MW Polar Sriracha Sauce contains water, red chili, sugar, garlic salt, stabilizer, thickener, acidity regulator, preservative, and color. There is no gluten-free label on this product.
This brand of Sriracha sauce contains red chili, distilled vinegar, sugar, garlic powder, salt, and xanthan gum. This brand has a gluten-free label on the bottle and they promote it as gluten-free on their website.
Tabasco Sriracha Sauce contains red jalapeno pepper, water, sugar, salt, garlic, distilled vinegar, xanthan gum, and Tabasco brand pepper sauce. This brand is considered gluten-free on their website.
Yellowbird Organic Sriracha is made with organic jalapenos, organic distilled vinegar, organic garlic, organic dates, organic raisins, salt, organic tangerine juice concentrate, and organic lime juice concentrate. This brand is certified gluten-free.
Sky Valley Sriracha Sauce contains water, jalapeno peppers, cane sugar, distilled vinegar, salt, dried garlic, spice, less than 2% of xanthan gum. This brand has a gluten-free label.
If you’ve been wondering if Sriracha is safe for a gluten-free diet, know that most brands contain no gluten ingredients. That said, they aren’t all tested for gluten.
If you are celiac, you may want to consider buying one with a gluten-free label, knowing that these contain less than 20 ppm of gluten in their products.
Look for one of the options listed here if you’re wanting to have a bottle of this spicy Sriracha on hand at home. Or look for these brands if you’re out at a restaurant and want to make sure what you’re using is safe for your gluten-free diet.