Find out if Sweet Baby Ray’s sauces are gluten-free and which flavors and varieties are safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus find out if they’re dairy-free and vegan.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love Sweet Baby Ray’s sauces, you’ve probably tried their extremely popular barbecue sauce. Their sauces are easy to find at most grocery stores and even Costco stores throughout the US.
They have a broad range of sauces, like barbecue sauce, marinades, wing sauces, dipping sauces, and hot sauce.
You can use their sauces on barbecue chicken or pulled pork, as marinades, and add them to many of your favorite meat dishes before grilling or slow cooking in a crock pot or Instant Pot. With a sweet and smoky flavor with a little bit of spice, it’s no wonder this brand is well known.
Find out if Sweet Baby Ray’s sauces can be included on a gluten-free diet and what to look out for. We’ll also talk about if you should avoid them if you’re on a dairy-free or vegan diet.
What is Sweet Baby Ray’s?
Sweet Baby Ray’s is a brand of gourmet sauces. They are well known for their barbecue sauces, wing sauces, and marinades.
You can buy Sweet Baby Ray’s at most grocery stores and many Costco stores carry their barbecue sauce.
Sweet Baby Ray’s ingredients
The ingredients of the Sweet Baby Ray’s sauces vary by the type of sauce, however for this post I’ll share the ingredients in their most popular sauce – their barbecue sauce.
According to the Sweet Baby Ray’s website, these are the ingredients you can find in their original barbecue sauce:
“High fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, distilled vinegar, tomato paste, modified corn starch, contains less than 2% of salt, pineapple juice concentrate, natural smoke flavor, spice, caramel color, molasses, sodium benzoate (preservative), garlic, mustard flour, corn syrup, sugar, tamarind, natural flavor, celery seed.”
Read on: Is corn syrup gluten-free?
Is Sweet Baby Ray’s gluten-free?
Sweet Baby Ray’s barbecue sauce and many of their other sauces are labeled with a gluten-free label. By looking at the back of the package near the ingredients list, you can find a gluten-free label on many of their products.
Like many brands, not every product this company makes is necessarily gluten-free. That’s why it’s important to do your due diligence to review ingredients lists and look for that gluten-free label every time you buy their products. And definitely review the different types of sauces if it’s not their standard barbecue sauce.
Read on: Gluten-free BBQ sauce
Is Sweet Baby Ray’s dairy-free?
Sweet Baby Ray’s original barbecue sauce is dairy-free. None of the ingredients listed in the ingredients list contains dairy and are safe to enjoy.
There is only one product in their lineup that contains dairy, their Sweet Red Chili Wing Sauce. It’s best to avoid this variety if you’re following a dairy-free diet.
Is Sweet Baby Ray’s vegan?
Sweet Baby Ray’s original barbecue sauce is vegan, however not all of their products are. Many of their sauces contain honey and eggs. If you are following a vegan diet, do your best to review ingredients lists before purchasing.
Which flavors of Sweet Baby Ray’s are gluten-free?
These are the varieties of Sweet Baby Ray’s sauces that are gluten-free. All of these are labeled as gluten-free on the packaging, indicating they contain less than 20ppm of gluten in the product.
- Sweet ‘n Spicy
- Sweet Golden Mustard
- Hickory & Brown Sugar
- Honey Chipotle
- Sweet Vidalia Onion
Wing Sauces and Glazes
- Mild Buffalo
- Honey Barbecue
- Kickin’ Bourbon
- Creamy Buffalo Dip
- Honey Mustard
- Ray’s Secret Sauce
- Hot Sauce
Note that the Sweet Baby Ray’s official website states that “Only products that meet the FDA standard for gluten free will be labeled as such. At this time, we are in the process of updating our labels to reflect this standard. Please refer to the ingredient statement on package labels or contact us for clarification.”
Read on: Does honey mustard have dairy?
Which flavors of Sweet Baby Ray’s sauces are not gluten-free?
According to the Sweet Baby Ray’s website, these are the sauces that are not considered gluten-free. If you follow a gluten-free diet, it’s a good idea to avoid these options.
- Sweet Red Chili Wing Sauce
- Sweet Teriyaki Marinade
- Honey Teriyaki Marinade
- Ray’s Chicken Sauce
Read on: Gluten-free Teriyaki Sauce
Read on: Is teriyaki sauce gluten-free?
If you love Sweet Baby Ray’s, I hope that this information has helped you determine whether this is a good condiment for you to add to your diet.
Depending on the flavors, you can safely enjoy this sauce on a gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan diet. Just be sure to review ingredients lists thoroughly before buying.