Find out how to make gluten-free graham cracker crumbs plus brands that offer gluten-free graham cracker crumbs from the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Are you looking for gluten-free graham cracker crumbs to make your favorite cheesecake or pie crust recipe? If you’re familiar with these types of crusts, you’ll know that most graham crackers contain gluten so you might be looking for a gluten-free option if you’re trying to stick with a gluten-free diet.
Find out in this post what graham cracker crumbs are, what they’re used for, and if they are gluten-free. We’ll also go over some options for making your own gluten-free graham cracker crumbs, as well as a store bought option to look for to make your dessert-making even easier.
What are graham cracker crumbs?
Graham cracker crumbs are graham crackers that have been crushed or broken up by a food processor into crumbs. These graham cracker crumbs are a popular ingredient as a graham cracker crust for many desserts, like pies and desserts.
Usually in a graham cracker crust, graham cracker crumbs are mixed with sugar and butter until a meal is formed. Then the graham cracker crumb mixture is pressed into a pie plate or springform pan to create a crust for the dessert.
What are graham cracker crumbs used for?
Graham cracker crumbs are used mostly for making graham cracker crusts for desserts like cheesecakes, pies, cookie bars, and as a topping for desserts like ice cream or mousse.
Read on: Gluten-free Pumpkin Cheesecake (dairy-free, vegan)
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is found in any product where wheat ingredients are found, as you cannot separate the gluten from the rest of the grain. If there is wheat or all-purpose flour in a product, it likely contains gluten.
Read on: What is gluten in food? The basics of a gluten-free diet
Are graham crackers gluten-free?
Most graham crackers you can find at the grocery store are not gluten-free, as they contain unbleached enriched flour and graham flour (a flour made from whole grain wheat flour).
Of course you can make your own gluten-free graham crackers at home using gluten-free ingredients. There are many recipes online for you to search for if this is something you’re interested in trying out.
There are also a few brands that offer gluten-free graham crackers that are easy to find and taste the same as most common graham cracker brands.
Read on: Are graham crackers gluten-free?
How to make gluten-free cracker crumbs
Making your own gluten-free graham crackers at home is extremely simple. With the right ingredients and right tools, you can easily have gluten-free graham cracker crumbs for all your favorite dessert recipes.
Choose a gluten-free graham cracker brand
To make gluten-free graham cracker crumbs, choose a brand of gluten-free graham crackers that you enjoy. My preference is the Schar gluten-free Honeygrams, because they’re both gluten and dairy-free, however there are a number of other gluten-free graham cracker brands you can choose from.
Process the gluten-free graham crackers in a food processor
Add the desired amount of gluten-free graham crackers to a food processor and process them until the desired consistency is reached. It will take only about a minute to turn graham crackers into the perfect graham cracker crumbs.
Or get gluten-free graham cracker crumbs with a rolling in
If you don’t have a rolling pin on hand, you can also easily get gluten-free graham cracker crumbs for your recipes by putting the graham crackers in a freezer bag or storage bag and crushing them with a rolling pin.
This method creates a less consistent texture than using a food processor, but if you keep rolling or pounding the crackers with the rolling pin, eventually you’ll get a good crumb texture to use for your recipe.
Read on: Gluten-free graham cracker crust
Gluten-free graham cracker crumb brands
There aren’t too many brands that offer gluten-free graham cracker crumbs in boxes you can buy at the store. However, I have found at least one that you can be on the hunt for if the idea of making your own seems like too much work.
Kinnickinnick Gluten-free Graham Style Crumbs
This brand offers gluten-free graham cracker crumbs that are made with the following ingredients:
Pea starch, non hydrogenated shortening (palm oil and/or canola oil), potato starch, brown rice flour, brown sugar, sweet rice flour, tapioca starch, water, rice bran, sugar, blackstrap molasses, honey, glucose, salt, sodium bicarbonate, pea protein, vanilla extract, modified cellulose, pea fiber, guar gum, inulin, soy lecithin, monocalcium phosphate.
These graham cracker crumbs are also dairy-free and will work for a dairy-free diet as well.
If you’ve been looking for a gluten-free graham cracker crumb option, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’ve been looking for. While most store-bought graham cracker crumbs contain gluten, they couldn’t be easier to make at home with a box of gluten-free graham crackers.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Want more product recommendations for gluten and dairy-free foods? Check out these posts!
Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks: 21 Healthy Ideas from the Store
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free snacks that take no prep at all? Check out these 21 gluten-free dairy-free snack ideas that are healthy and store-bought.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powders + Smoothie Recipe
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free protein powder recommendations? Check out the 5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powder picks plus a chocolate raspberry spinach protein powder smoothie.
5 Best Dairy-free Ranch Dressing Brands
Discover my top 5 dairy-free ranch dressing brand picks – they’re also gluten-free! Great on salads or as dip, these are great options for any dairy-free diet.
Dairy and Gluten-free Costco Finds: 30 Healthy Picks
Looking for some gluten-free Costco items to make the most of your membership? In this post, you’ll find dairy-free and gluten-free Costco picks that are healthy and a great way to round out your shopping.
Top 5 Gluten-free Spaghetti Pasta Brands
Looking for a gluten-free spaghetti brand, but not sure which one to give a try? Check out these top 5 gluten-free spaghetti brands and get my tasty meat & veggie spaghetti recipe!
7 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Bread Brands
Looking for a gluten-free bread that's also dairy-free? Try one fo these 7 brands to get started.
Top 10 Gluten-free Dairy-free Cookbooks
Check out these top 10 gluten and dairy-free cookbooks full of gluten-free dairy-free recipes. These are my hand-picked favorite cookbooks for a gluten and dairy-free diet out today.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Pancake Mixes
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free pancake mix from the store? Check out the best gluten and dairy-free pancake mixes in this post.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Snack Bars
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free snack or protein bar? Check out these 5 delicious and healthy snack bars you can get at the store that are made from minimal ingredients and will help get you through until your next meal time.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Cake Mixes
Try these five gluten-free and dairy-free cake and cupcake mixes for all your birthdays, holidays, and get togethers.
Top 5 Gluten-free Soy Sauce Brands
Have you been looking for a gluten-free soy sauce option? Traditional Chinese soy sauce contains gluten, which is why when you’re on a gluten-free diet, I highly recommend tamari gluten-free soy sauce.
5 Best Dairy-free Frosting Brands (Gluten-free and Vegan)
Discover the 5 best dairy-free frosting brands you can buy at the store, in a variety of flavors. All these brands are gluten and dairy-free too!
5 Best Gluten-free Flour Blends
When it comes to gluten-free baking, there are so many different gluten-free flours available. It’s hard to know which ones are worthwhile to add to your pantry. In this post, I’ll share five of the best gluten-free flour blends you can buy at the store.
Dairy-free Chocolate: The Ultimate Guide
Have you wondered: is chocolate dairy-free? Find out if what brands are dairy-free, where to buy dairy-free chocolate, and more in this ultimate guide!
Gluten-free Graham Crackers
Do you love graham crackers and also follow a gluten-free diet? Find out if graham crackers are gluten-free, where to buy gluten-free graham crackers, and what brands to look for.
The Best Gluten-free Crackers
Are you looking for the perfect gluten-free cracker for all your snacking and appetizer needs? Find a list of the best gluten-free crackers, where to buy them, and how to serve them. Many are dairy-free too!
Gluten-free Ramen Noodles: Brands and Alternatives
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if ramen noodles are gluten-free. Find out if ramen is safe for a gluten-free diet and what brands to look for.
Find out what chips are gluten-free, which brands to buy, and find out if your favorites are safe for your gluten-free diet.
Gluten-free Salad Dressing: Types & Brands
Find out what types of salad dressing are safe for a gluten-free diet (and dairy-free diet). Plus which brands to look for at the store.
Gluten-free BBQ Sauce
If you love barbecue, you might be looking for a gluten-free BBQ sauce that works with all your favorite chicken, beef, and wing recipes. Learn if barbecue sauce is gluten-free and what brands to look for at the store.
Leave a Reply