Find out if graham crackers are gluten-free, plus find out if your favorite brands are safe for you to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’ve ever been camping or eaten a pie in the middle of summer at a picnic or barbecue in the US, you’re probably well versed in the deliciousness of graham crackers.
These crackers, almost sweet enough to be considered cookies, are crispy in texture and come in rectangles that can be broken into four smaller rectangles for snacking and using in your favorite recipes.
While s’mores and graham cracker crusts are popular, there are plenty of other uses for these yummy crackers. Graham cracker crumbs can be made with them, and desserts like chocolate covered graham crackers are a popular treat too.
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may have wondered if you can enjoy graham crackers. Or if you’ll need to find an alternative to the name brand options you’ll find on almost every end cap in the grocery store from June through September.
In this post, we’re going to talk all about graham crackers, what they are, what they’re made of, and used for. Of course, we’ll also answer the questions you’ve been dying to know: are graham crackers gluten-free? And are your favorite brands of graham crackers safe for your gluten-free diet?
We’ll get to all of that here in this post. But first, let’s start with the basics – what are graham crackers and what are they great for.
What are graham crackers?
Graham crackers are a type of sweet cracker, almost cookie-like in flavor, that are usually enjoyed as a snack food. They’re commonly served to kids and enjoyed with s’mores and even turned into pie crusts.
They come in a plain flavor, but can also be found in honey, chocolate, or cinnamon flavors. I’ve also seen them at candy shops dipped in chocolate.
What are graham crackers made of?
The main ingredients in many graham cracker products are flour, graham flour, sugar, canola oil, molasses, corn syrup or honey, leavening (like baking soda or baking powder), salt, soy lecithin, and artificial flavors.
These are the common ingredients you’ll find in graham crackers, but they will vary a bit brand by brand.
Read on: Is corn syrup gluten-free?
Read on: Is soy lecithin gluten-free?
What are graham crackers used for?
Graham crackers can be enjoyed in a number of different ways. The most common way would be to snack on them plain or with some type of dip.
They are also a component of a very popular dessert, s’mores. This is a treat served with a toasted marshmallow, a square of chocolate, and two halves of a graham cracker to sandwich these ingredients together. It’s the ultimate summer and camp food.
Graham crackers are also usd in pie crusts for many pies or cheesecakes. In fact, I even have my own recipe for a gluten-free graham cracker crust.
I’ve seen graham crackers layered into desserts, like toffee bars, ground into crumbs to use as a topping for cakes or pies, and even dipped in chocolate for a treat all on its own.
Read on: Gluten-free graham cracker crust
Read on: Gluten-free cheesecake crust
Read on: Gluten-free pumpkin cheesecake
Read on: Is cheesecake gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free graham cracker crumbs
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is found in any product where wheat ingredients are found, as you cannot separate the gluten from the rest of the grain. If there is wheat or all-purpose flour in a product, it likely contains gluten.
Are graham crackers gluten-free?
Most graham crackers you can find at the grocery store are not gluten-free, as they contain unbleached enriched flour and graham flour (a flour made from whole grain wheat flour).
Of course you can make your own gluten-free graham crackers at home using gluten-free ingredients. There are many recipes online for you to search for if this is something you’re interested in trying out.
There are also a few brands that offer gluten-free graham crackers that are easy to find and taste the same as most common graham cracker brands.
Are my favorite brands of graham crackers gluten-free?
There are so many different types of graham crackers, but it’s hard to know which ones are gluten-free without doing a full review of them in the middle of the grocery store aisle.
I’ve done the hard work for you and hope to answer your questions about some of the most popular brands of graham crackers.
Are Annie’s graham crackers gluten-free?
Annie’s graham crackers contain organic whole wheat flour and organic wheat flour as their first two ingredients on their packaging. This product also has a “contains wheat” label.
This product is not a good option for a gluten-free diet.
Are Back to Nature graham crackers gluten-free?
The ingredients in Back to Nature’s honey graham sticks are:
“Unbleached Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Cane Sugar, Safflower Oil, Graham Flour (Whole Grain Wheat Flour), Honey, Brown Rice Syrup, Leavening (Baking Soda, Monocalcium Phosphate, Ammonium Bicarbonate), Sea Salt, Natural Flavor.”
There is wheat flour and graham flour in this product, making it not gluten-free.
Are Great Value graham crackers gluten-free?
The first two ingredients in this product are enriched flour and graham flour, both of which are wheat products. If you follow a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to be sure to avoid this brand of graham crackers.
Are Honey Maid graham crackers gluten-free?
The ingredients in Honey Maid graham crackers are:
Unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), folic acid), graham flour (whole grain wheat flour), sugar, soybean oil, honey, leavening (baking soda and/or calcium phosphate), salt, soy lecithin, and artificial flavor.
The packaging also shows a “contains: wheat, soy” label, meaning this isn’t a good choice for someone on a gluten-free diet.
Are Keebler graham crackers gluten-free?
According to the Kellogg’s website, the maker of Keebler honey grahams, this brand of graham crackers contains both wheat and soy as allergens.
You’ll want to avoid this brand of graham crackers on a gluten-free diet, because it has whole wheat flour and enriched flour (which is made from wheat flour).
Are Kodiak Cakes graham crackers gluten-free?
Kodiak Cakes packaging states that the ingredients in this product are:
“100% whole grain wheat flour, 100% whole grain graham flour, cane sugar, sunflower oil, milk protein concentrate, water, brown sugar, malted barley, dried honey (honey, wheat starch), egg whites, natural flavor, molasses, leavening (sodium bicarbonate, baking powder), salt, sunflower lecithin.”
This product contains egg, milk, and wheat. If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to skip this option of graham crackers.
Are Kinnikinnick graham crackers gluten-free?
The S’moreables graham style crackers from Kinnikinnick contain the following ingredients:
“Pea Starch, Non-Hydrogenated Palm Oil Shortening (palm oil, modified palm oil), Brown Rice Flour, Potato Starch*, Brown Sugar*, Sweet Rice Flour, Tapioca Starch, Water, Cane Sugar, Rice Bran, Molasses*, Tapioca Syrup, Salt, Sodium Bicarbonate, Pea Protein, Natural Flavour, Pea Fibre, Sunflower Lecithin, Inulin, Mono Calcium Phosphate, Cellulose, Guar Gum.”
This brand tests their products and they are free from gluten, dairy, nuts, soy, and peanuts. This is a safe choice for a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Is rice flour gluten-free?
Are Nabisco Grahams graham crackers gluten-free?
This product contains enriched flour and malted barley flour, which are ingredients with gluten in them. Avoid this option on a gluten-free diet.
Are Pamela’s graham crackers gluten-free?
Pamela’s honey grahams are a certified gluten-free product. Here are the ingredients:
“Butter (Cream,Salt), Brown Sugar, Brown Rice Flour, Sorghum Flour, White Rice Flour, Tapioca Starch, Gluten-Free Oat Bran, Molasses, Organic Non-GMO Honey, Gluten-Free Natural Flavors, Baking Soda, Sea Salt, Grainless & Aluminum-Free Baking Powder (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Potato Starch, Sodium Bicarbonate), Xanthan Gum, Cinnamon.”
If you are dairy-free in addition to being gluten-free, know that this product does contain butter, a dairy product.
Are Teddy Grahams gluten-free?
Teddy Grahams come in a variety of different flavors, however all of them use graham flour and enriched unbleached flour as their top two ingredients.
Teddy Grahams are not gluten-free and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
What brands of graham crackers are gluten-free?
There are a few different brands of gluten-free graham crackers. In fact, I’ve written up an entire blog post on this topic alone!
Here are a few that you can be on the lookout for next time you’re shopping for gluten-free graham crackers:
- Enjoy Life Crunchy Cookies Vanilla Honey Grahams
- Glutino Gluten-free Graham Crackers
- Kinnikinnick Gluten-free S’moreables
- Lucy’s Graham Cracker Crisps*
- Pamela’s Gluten-free Honey Graham Crackers
- Schar Honeygrams
Get the full list, find out where to buy them, and which options are also dairy-free by clicking here: Gluten-free Graham Crackers
If you love graham crackers, I hope this post has been helpful for you to determine if your favorite snack crackers are safe for your gluten-free diet. Many popular brands of graham crackers are not gluten-free, but there are a handful that you can find in stores and online.
As with any food, do your due diligence in reviewing ingredients lists before purchasing any product that you think may contain gluten. That extra minute in the grocery store aisle can save you a whole lot of stomach issues later on.