Find out what corn dogs are made of, if they’re gluten-free, and get a list of gluten-free corn dog brands and recipes to enjoy this fun food.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Have you ever been to a fair or an event at a big arena and one of the items sold at a food stall is corn dogs? They really are the quintessential “fun food” of big events.
Walking around and having a good time while still being able to eat, because your food is on a stick? Sign. Me. Up.
If you’re new to a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if this fried food delicacy is a good option while you’re avoiding gluten. In this post, we’ll get all your questions answered about what corn dogs are made out of, if they’re gluten-free, and of course give you some options for sticking with your gluten-free diet.
Read on for some recipes and store-bought options to enjoy while staying true to your body’s needs for a gluten-free diet.
What are corn dogs?
A corn dog is a hot dog or sausage that’s been skewered with a stick, battered in a cornmeal batter, then deep fried in oil.
This quintessential American food can be found at many fairs, carnivals, sporting events, and arenas. You can even find corn dogs in the freezer section of your grocery store if you want to have them at home.
Read on: Are hot dogs gluten-free?
What are corn dogs made out of?
Corn dogs are made out of a hot dog or sausage, a cornmeal batter for breading, and oil. The hot dog or sausage used can be just about any bread you (or whoever the cook is) chooses.
The cornmeal batter for breading a corndog is generally made out of cornmeal, flour, baking powder, buttermilk, and eggs. Other ingredients may be added for flavor or preservatives if you’re buying a premade frozen corn dog at the store.
Read on: Gluten-free hot dog brands
Are corn dogs gluten-free?
Most corn dogs are not gluten-free, as they’re typically made with wheat flour. Cornmeal may or may not have gluten in it due to cross contamination, despite corn being naturally gluten-free.
Wheat flour or enriched flour contains gluten, and therefore is an ingredient anyone on a gluten-free diet will want to avoid.
That said, there are a couple of brands that make gluten-free corn dogs, where they use gluten-free flour and cornmeal that has been verified is free of cross contamination with gluten.
Can I make homemade gluten-free corn dogs?
If you are interested in enjoying a gluten-free corn dog and can’t find them at the store – or you simply want to try your hand at making your own from scratch, there are a few recipes online that you might want to check out.
All you need are the right ingredients and a way to deep fry in order to have a gluten-free corn dog that works well for you and your diet.
- Gluten-free Corn Dogs from Gluten-free on a Shoestring
- Gluten-free Corn Dogs from Serious Eats
- Gluten-free Corn Dogs from Snixy Kitchen
- Gluten-free Corn Dogs from Betty Crocker
- Gluten-free Corn Dogs from Gluten-free Palate
Can I buy gluten-free corn dogs?
Yes! There are a couple of brands of gluten-free corn dogs on the market. You can look for them at your local grocery store in the frozen food aisles.
Store-bought gluten-free corn dogs often only need to be baked instead of fried in a deep fryer, making them easier to make than a homemade version. Though store-bought options often have more ingredients than one you make at home.
You can also try your hand at using a gluten-free corn dog mix, like from Mom’s Place Gluten-free.
Brands of gluten-free corn dogs
If you’re looking for a gluten-free corn dog option you can buy at the store, check out these two brands I was able to find.
Here are the ingredients you’ll find in Foster Farms Gluten-free Corn Dogs, according to their website:
In the cornmeal batter: “Water, yellow corn meal, sugar, yellow corn flour, corn starch, tapioca starch, rice flour, egg whites, soy flour, egg yolk, contains 2% or less of soybean oil, leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate), salt, refinery syrup, xanthan gum, natural flavor, honey. Fried in vegetable oil.”
In the chicken frank (chicken hot dog): “Mechanically separated chicken, water, salt, contains less than 2% of corn syrup solids, potassium lactate, potassium acetate, spices, sodium phosphate, sodium diacetate, flavorings, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite.”
In the Natural Gluten-free Beef Corn Dogs from Applegate, these are the ingredients you’ll find, according to their website:
“Uncured Hot Dog: Grass-Fed Beef, Water. Contains Less Than 2% Of The Following: Sea Salt, Paprika, Dehydrated Onion, Spices, Nutmeg Oil, Cultured Celery Powder. Gluten Free Batter: Water, Yellow Corn Flour, Sugar, Yellow Corn Meal, Tapioca Starch, Rice Flour, Egg Whites, Soy Flour, Sunflower Oil, Leavening (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Egg Yolks, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Vanilla Flavor (Dextrose, Natural Flavors (Including Vanilla Extract), Corn Starch. Cooked in Soybean Oil. Contains: Eggs & Soy.”
If you’ve been looking for a recipe or a store-bought option to enjoy gluten-free corn dogs, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’ve been looking for.
While most corn dogs aren’t gluten-free that you find at fairs or arenas, you can buy some frozen store-bought gluten-free corn dogs or decide to make your own version at home with gluten-free hot dogs and a homemade gluten-free cornmeal batter.