Find out if what rye bread is made of, if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet, different types of rye bread, and some gluten-free rye bread brands and options.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Rye bread is a popular dark colored and earthy flavored bread that is popular in deli sandwiches and at steakhouses served with butter. It has a specific flavor that isn’t often found in many other breads. This flavor comes specifically from the rye flour used in the bread.
Rye bread can be a heavy and dense bread if made from entirely rye flour, but can also be lightened up with a mixture of all purpose flour to give it a crusty crust and a soft light center of the loaf.
If you love eating reuben sandwiches or the dark rich flavor of rye bread, you might be wondering if this food is safe for a gluten-free diet. If you’re new to gluten-free eating, you may have already learned that gluten can often be found in bread.
So what about rye bread? Does this contain gluten? And if so, what can you eat instead?
In this post, we’re going to dive into the topic of rye bread to make sure you know what’s in rye bread, if there are gluten-containing ingredients in this type of bread, and the different types of rye bread you might find at grocery stores or restaurants – and what names you’ll find them under.
We’ll also cover how to identify rye on ingredients lists, and talk about some gluten-free rye bread options, plus some recipes if you want to try your hand at making your own at home.
Rye bread ingredients
Rye bread can be made from a number of ingredients, but many homemade recipes call for some amount of the following ingredients: rye flour, all purpose flour, dry yeast, sugar, butter, egg, milk, salt, and vegetable oil. Some recipes also call for caraway seeds and molasses.
In store-bought rye bread, you’re likely to find other ingredients like preservatives and flavorings.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Read on: What is gluten?
Is rye bread gluten-free?
Unfortunately, rye bread contains gluten and is not safe for a gluten-free diet. Rye is a type of grain that innately has gluten, and therefore can’t be made gluten-free.
Read on: Is flour gluten-free?
Different types of rye bread
Rye bread can be found under different names, depending on the brands you’re looking at at grocery stores, if you’re at a bakery, or if you’re looking to make a recipe at home.
According to Wikipedia, here are some of the different types of rye bread:
- Straight rye bread
- Rye flatbreads
- Rye flour quick bread
Different regions also have different types of rye bread that they’re known for making. You might find American, Scandinavian Jewish, Israel, and Canadian styles of rye bread. Each of these are a little bit different, but all contain rye and gluten.
How to identify rye on ingredients lists
If you’re looking for bread at the grocery store, you might be interested to know how to identify rye on ingredients lists so that you can avoid these breads.
When reading ingredients lists, you can look for these names to know that the bread contains rye and gluten-containing ingredients:
- Rye flour
- Rye meal
- Dark rye flour
- Rye grain
- Whole grain rye flour
- Pumpernickel flour
- Pumpernickel meal
- White rye flour
- Medium rye flour
Remember that even if a bread doesn’t contain rye, that doesn’t make it a gluten-free option. There might be other gluten-containing grains and flours in the bread that make it not a good option for a gluten-free diet.
Wheat flour, barley, malt flavor, malted barley, and wheat gluten are just a few to be on the lookout for.
Read on: Is malt gluten-free?
Read on: Is malt flavor gluten-free?
Is rye bread dairy-free?
If you aren’t concerned so much about gluten, but are looking to stick with a dairy-free diet, know that some bread recipes are dairy-free, while others aren’t.
You may find some recipes or products that contain butter or milk, making this a food that you’ll want to avoid. If you find a recipe or store-bought bread loaf that doesn’t have any dairy products in the ingredients list, then you’ll know it’s okay to eat on your dairy-free diet.
If you follow both a gluten and dairy-free diet, you’ll want to steer clear of this food entirely.
Read on: Does bread have dairy?
Gluten-free “rye” bread options
If you’re looking for a store-bought gluten-free rye style of bread option that doesn’t actually contain rye, then there are a few options for you. Look for these brands and varieties locally or find them online if you can’t find them near you.
I’ve noted those that are dairy-free with an asterisk(*).
- Canyon Bakehouse Deli Rye Style*
- Three Bakers Whole Grain Bread Rye Style*
- Simple Kneads Gluten-free Pumpernickel Bread
- Schar Bread, Deli Style Bread Seeded*
Of course, if finding these premade rye style breads online or locally isn’t something you’re interested in, you can definitely try your hand at making your own at home.
Try one of these recipes to get started. I’ve noted those that are dairy-free with an asterisk(*).
- Gluten Free Mock Rye Bread
- Positively Perfect Gluten Free Pumpernickel
- Gluten-Free Rye Bread*
- Gluten Free Dark “Rye” Bread*
- Gluten free Dairy free Swedish “Rye” Bread*
Is rye whiskey gluten-free?
According to Beyond Celiac, whiskey is considered safe for a gluten-free diet, despite rye, barley, and wheat being grains that contain gluten. The distillation process separates the gluten from the alcohol, making it gluten-free.
According to Very Well Fit, even though whiskey is considered gluten-free, some people have had gluten reactions to this drink. Start slow if you’re just getting into drinking whiskey and make sure to take note of brands in case you do have a reaction so you can steer clear in the future.
Read on: Is whiskey gluten-free?
If you love rye bread and follow a gluten-free diet, I hope this post has given you all the information you need to make an informed decision as to whether to include this food in your diet. Rye, in all forms like flour and meal, contains gluten, so you’ll likely want to steer clear of this.
There are some options for folks wanting to stick with a gluten-free diet, both from the store and to make at home. Try one of the brands I shared or the recipes I’ve linked off to so you can still satisfy your craving without having to eat gluten.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply