Find out if flour is safe for a gluten-free diet, which types of flour are gluten-free, and what brands to look for.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Are you just getting started with a gluten-free diet and wondering what types of flour are safe for you? If you love to bake, you may be wondering what you can use in all your favorite recipes.
Can you use all purpose flour in your best pancake recipe? Can you buy the $2 baguette on your way out the grocery store for a quick side dish for dinner tonight?
In this post, we’re going to talk about flour and how it fits into a gluten-free diet. We’ll talk about what people are generally referring to when they are talking about “flour” and “all purpose flour” and what grains are used.
We’ll also talk about what flour is made from, used for, and if it’s gluten-free. We’ll also talk about your options for gluten-free flours and I’ll share some brands you can be on the lookout for next time you’re getting ready to bake something delicious.
What is flour?
Flour is a finely ground powder that’s made from different types of grains, nuts, seeds, beans, or roots. When most people think of flour, their first thought is to think of wheat flour or all purpose flour as that’s the most commonly used flour in baking in the US.
What is flour made from?
Flour can be made from many different ingredients, like grains, seeds, nuts, beans, and roots. Most of us think of flour that comes from wheat when we hear the term “flour” and that’s what most people are referencing when the qualifier of what kind of flour is dropped from the term.
If someone says “flour,” they’re usually referring to flour made from wheat.
What is flour used for?
Flour is used mainly in baking, in breads, cakes, cookies, and all kinds of baked goods. It is also often used as a thickener for soups, stews, gravies, and sauces, as the starch works with warm liquid to thicken the liquid.
Different types of flour can be used for different purposes. You can use wheat flour or all purpose flour for many different recipes, but you may not be able to use coconut flour, corn flour, or rice flour in exactly the same ways, because the properties of the flour differ.
Read on: Gluten-free gravy and gluten-free chicken gravy
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives.
These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Read on: What is gluten in food? The basics of a gluten-free diet
Is all-purpose flour gluten-free?
All purpose flour is made from wheat grains. Wheat contains gluten, making all purpose flour not a safe choice for folks following a gluten-free diet.
Is white flour gluten-free?
White flour is another name for all purpose flour, and this type of refined flour is made from wheat, making it not a good choice for people who avoid gluten for health reasons.
Is wheat flour gluten-free?
Wheat flour is made from wheat grains. Wheat contains gluten, so wheat flour should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
Can I buy gluten-free all-purpose flour?
You can find gluten-free all purpose flour to use in place of a traditional wheat based all purpose flour. Many of these gluten-free options are made using a blend of different types of flours to mimic the same texture and properties of traditional all purpose flour.
You can find gluten-free all purpose flour at many grocery stores and health food stores. You can also buy them online.
Brands of gluten-free flour blends
There are a number of gluten-free all purpose flours and gluten-free flour blends available at many grocery stores, health food stores, and online. Use this list of options to give you an idea of some brands to shop for next time you’re looking to buy this ingredient.
- Better Batter
- Bob’s Red Mill
- King Arthur Baking Company
- Namaste Foods
Of course, this isn’t an exhaustive list. There are probably dozens, maybe hundreds, of other brands of gluten-free flour blends and options out there.
Read on: 5 best gluten-free flour blends
What types of flour are gluten-free?
There are a number of gluten-free flour options available that are made from all kinds of delicious gluten-free ingredients. Read more about each of these gluten-free flours using the links below.
- Is Almond Flour Gluten-free?
- Is Coconut Flour Gluten-free?
- Is Corn Flour Gluten-free?
- Is Oat Flour Gluten-free?
- Is Rice Flour Gluten-free?
These are other gluten-free flours you can find that I haven’t written about here on the blog yet.
- Amaranth flour
- Cassava flour
- Chickpea flour
- Millet flour
- Quinoa flour
- Sorghum flour
- Teff flour
I hope if you’ve been wondering if flour is safe for your gluten-free diet, that you have been able to get a straightforward answer here in this post. Some types of flour ARE safe for a gluten-free diet, but those that are made from wheat are not.
If you’re gluten-free, steer clear of any all purpose flour that’s not labeled as gluten-free or any wheat flours.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply