Find out what saltine crackers are made of, if they’re gluten-free, and get a list of brands of gluten-free saltine crackers from the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
When you think of saltine crackers, do you think of soup like I do? For most of my childhood, I associated saltine crackers or soda crackers with a bowl of soup while laying on my grandparent’s couch on a day I wasn’t able to go to school from being sick.
Saltine crackers are a very basic cracker, but because of their simplicity are also extremely popular. With the neutral flavor of these crackers, they add a crunch to a bowl of soup, stew, or chili and can even be enjoyed as a snack food.
If you follow a gluten-free diet and have been looking for a replacement for saltine crackers, this post is for you. Find out what saltine crackers are, what they’re made of, used for, and which brands to look for at the store.
If you’re feeling adventurous, you might even consider trying to make your own gluten-free saltine crackers at home using one of the recipes at the bottom of the post.
What are saltine crackers?
Saltine crackers, or soda crackers, are a type of cracker that are usually thin and come in a square shape. They’re a popular cracker, because their flavor is neutral and are said to be easy to digest.
What are saltine crackers made of?
Saltine crackers may vary by brand in what ingredients are used, but most are made from white flour, yeast, baking soda, and salt.
One of the most popular brands of saltine crackers, Premium, uses the following ingredients in their saltine crackers:
“Unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), folic acid), canola oil, palm oil, sea salt, salt, malted barley flour, baking soda, yeast.”
What are saltine crackers used for?
Saltine crackers are most commonly used to add to soups, chili, and stews. They can also be eaten plain, with cheese, peanut butter or other dips or spreads for a snack option. Some folks like to season saltine crackers with seasoning blends at home to give saltines more flavor for snacking.
Many people also add saltine cracker crumbs to their meatloaf as a substitute for bread crumbs, or sprinkled on their salads. For many, saltine crackers are used as a food to eat when you feel sick.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is found in any product where wheat ingredients are found, as you cannot separate the gluten from the rest of the grain. If there is wheat or all-purpose flour in a product, it likely contains gluten.
Are saltine crackers gluten-free?
Most saltine crackers are not gluten-free as they’re made with flour that comes from wheat. If you are following a gluten-free diet and are looking for a cracker to enjoy as a snack, topping for your soup, or a go-to food for when you’re feeling sick, you’ll want to look for a gluten-free option instead.
Some terms to look for when searching for a saltine or soda cracker that’s gluten-free from the store are “table crackers” or “soda crackers.” Be sure to look for a gluten-free label on a package of crackers and look at ingredients lists for any hidden ingredients that may contain gluten.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
Brands of gluten-free saltine crackers
Though most saltine or soda crackers contain gluten, you can use other types of gluten-free crackers as a replacement for how you’d normally use them in cooking or snacking.
I was able to narrow down a few options for a gluten-free saltine cracker, though they aren’t technically called saltine crackers. Table crackers or any thin light cracker will be a good substitution for saltines in your snacking and recipes.
Look for one of these brands next time you’re at the grocery store or look for them online if you can’t find them locally.
These grain-free flatbread crackers are a good gluten-free substitute for saltine crackers, because they’re thin, light, and crispy like most saltines are.
This brand uses the following ingredients in their crackers:
“Tapioca starch, water, potato starch, potato flakes, palm oil, honey, egg yolks, natural vinegar, salt.”
They have a certified gluten-free label on them and are also considered dairy-free with no soy, corn, or rice.
Glutino gluten-free table crackers are a good choice for a gluten-free saltine cracker, because they’re thin and crispy just like you’d look for in a saltine cracker. These can be used as a substitute for any recipe that calls for saltine crackers, as a snack, or to top off your favorite soup.
These crackers are made with the following ingredients:
“Corn starch, palm oil, soy flour, sugar, cellulose gum, sea salt, soy lecithin, caramel color, sodium bicarbonate, yeast extract, sodium acid pyrophosphate.”
Glutino gluten-free table crackers are gluten-free and contain no dairy ingredients.
This brand of gluten-free crackers most closely resembles the taste and texture of saltine crackers you’d expect from a normal soda cracker. Glutino gluten-free table crackers also have a light, crispy texture like the others on this list.
Schar gluten-free table crackers have the following ingredients:
“Non-GMO corn starch, non-GMO corn flour, blend of vegetable fats and oils (palm fat, sunflower oil), maltodextrin, rice syrup, modified tapioca starch, non GMO soy flour, sea salt, yeast, guar gum, modified cellulose, cream of tartar, ammonium bicarbonate, baking soda, citric acid, natural rosemary flavor.
Schar gluten-free table crackers are gluten-free and lactose-free.
Read on: The Best Gluten-free Crackers
Can you make your own gluten-free saltine crackers?
If you are feeling adventurous and would love to recreate your favorite saltine crackers at home using gluten-free ingredients, you can definitely give that a try! There are a number of recipes available from bloggers who have done this, so you can definitely check some of these out if you’re interested in making your own gluten-free saltine or soda crackers.
Since I follow a dairy-free diet in addition to avoiding gluten, I’ve marked those that are also dairy-free with an asterisk (*) in this list as well.
- Gluten-free Soda Crackers from Around My Family Table*
- Gluten-free Saltines from Gluten-free Baking*
- Gluten-free Saltine Crackers from Group Recipes
- Gluten-free Soda Crackers from Food.com
- Grain-free Saltine Crackers made with Cassava Flour from Health Starts in the Kitchen
If you’ve been wondering what brands of gluten-free saltine crackers are available of if you’ve been looking for a few recipes to try out a homemade version, I hope this post has given you the information you’ve been looking for.
Most saltine or soda crackers contain gluten, but it’s always a good idea to review ingredients lists before buying to confirm this.
Look for one of the brands listed here or try out your own gluten-free soda crackers at home next time you’re looking to top your favorite soup or enjoy them as a snack.