Find out if Wendy’s fries are safe for a gluten-free diet, and what other Wendy’s potato-based menu items are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a fan of Wendy’s or have family members or friends who are, you may have found yourself scooting through the drive thru a time of two. One of the most popular menu items at most any fast food restaurant are the french fries.
At Wendy’s they have plain fries and a few varieties of dressed up french fries, like those slathered in cheese, chili, and bacon. These all sound delicious and extremely filling, but if you follow a gluten-free diet, you know you need to be careful about just about every ingredient that goes into your body.
We know that on a gluten-free diet, every single menu item needs to be looked at with a close eye, and even how the food is prepared needs to be reviewed before we can make a final choice on what to order.
In this post, find out what Wendy’s fries are made of and if they’re gluten-free. Plus find out if the fancy cheesy, chili-covered, and bacon-sprinkled varieties are gluten-free as well.
If you love Wendy’s fries, this post is for you!
What are Wendy’s fries made of?
The ingredients listed on Wendy’s website for their french fries are:
“Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Canola, and/or Cottonseed Oils), Modified Food Starch (Potato, Corn, Tapioca), Rice Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Monocalcium Phosphate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate (To Promote Color Retention). Cooked In Vegetable Oil (Soybean Oil, Vegetable Oil [May Contain One Or More Of The Following: Canola, Corn, Or Cottonseed], Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Dimethylpolysiloxane [Anti-Foaming Agent]). Seasoned With Sea Salt. COOKED IN THE SAME OIL AS MENU ITEMS THAT CONTAIN WHEAT, MILK, AND FISH.
Read on: Is soybean oil gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten is often added as a binding ingredient in many foods, and in French fries, it may be in a batter that is added to help get a French fry to be more crispy on the outside.
Are Wendy’s fries gluten-free?
Wendy’s french fries do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients, however they are cooked in vegetable oil in fryers that share the same oil with wheat, milk, and fish.
If you’re following a gluten-free diet and trace amounts of gluten affect your body, Wendy’s fries should be avoided due to the possibility of cross contamination with gluten in the fryers.
Read on: Are French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are McDonald’s French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Burger King French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Arby’s fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Chick-Fil-A fries gluten-free?
Are Wendy’s fries dairy-free?
Wendy’s fries do not contain any milk products, but the company makes a statement that the fries are cooked in the same oil as other items on their menu that do contain milk.
If you have a dairy allergy, this is something to be aware of and likely avoid any of their menu items that come from the fryer.
If you have an intolerance to dairy, this trace amount may or may not affect you, so it’s best to know your level of sensitivity and make your decision based on what you know about your body.
Plain Wendy’s french fries don’t contain dairy, but if you are sticking with a dairy-free diet be sure not to order their baconator fries, chili cheese fries, or cheese fries. All of these menu options contain dairy.
Read on: Wendy’s Gluten-free Menu Items
Are Wendy’s baconator fries gluten-free?
Like the plain french fries from Wendy’s, their baconator fries do not have any wheat ingredients in the fries, cheese sauce, bacon, or shredded cheese.
However, because they use french fries cooked in shared fryers, there is a high likelihood of cross contamination with wheat during the cooking process from other menu items that have been cooked in the same oil.
Are Wendy’s chili cheese fries gluten-free?
There are no gluten ingredients in any of the chili cheese fries main ingredients. The chili, french fries, and shredded cheddar cheese all don’t have wheat or gluten, however since the fries are cooked in a shared fryer with ingredients that contain gluten, they aren’t considered gluten-free.
Know your body and its level of sensitivity to gluten before ordering this menu item. If trace amounts of gluten affect you, avoid these fries.
Read on: Is Wendy’s chili gluten-free?
Are Wendy’s cheese fries gluten-free?
Wendy’s cheese fries come with french fries, a cheddar cheese sauce, and shredded cheddar cheese. All of these ingredients don’t contain gluten or wheat, but the fries are cooked in a shared fryer with other menu items that do have gluten.
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, be aware of your own level of sensitivity to gluten and decide what’s best for you and your body before ordering this menu item.
Are Wendy’s baked potatoes gluten-free?
We’ve found one menu item that actually is gluten-free! The plain baked potato from Wendy’s is gluten-free, contains just one ingredient (potato), and isn’t made in a shared fryer with other gluten ingredients.
In fact, all the baked potato options from Wendy’s are gluten-free. Other than the plain baked potato, the rest contain dairy, but all contain no gluten ingredients.
If you’ve been wondering if you can order the French fries at Wendy’s next time you’re craving fast food, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’ve been looking for.
While the fries themselves are safe for your gluten-free diet, the fact that they are made in shared fryers with other gluten ingredients makes them not a great choice. Opt for a plain baked potato to get your carb craving satisfied!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply