Find out if Burger King fries are safe for a gluten-free diet, what they’re made of, and what you need to be aware of before you order them.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love French fries or fast food fries, I bet you’ve enjoyed Burger King’s fries a time or two. This side option at Burger King is one of their most popular menu items because they’re crunchy, salty, and delicious.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if these French fries are safe for you to enjoy while steering clear of gluten.
In this post, we’re going to talk about what Burger King fries are made of, how they’re made, and if they are considered gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet.
We’ll also talk about if these fries are dairy-free (if you’re dairy-free like I am) and if one of their other popular breakfast options – Burger King hash browns – are gluten-free too.
What are Burger King fries made of?
Though I wasn’t able to find any information about ingredients on the Burger King website, I was able to find a list on another website. These are the ingredients you’ll find in Burger King French fries:
“Potatoes, Soybean Oil or Canola and Palm Oil, Modified Potato Starch, Rice Flour, Potato Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate added to preserve natural color.”
Read on: Is soybean oil gluten-free?
How are Burger King fries made?
Burger King French fries are cut, prepared, and flash frozen off site of the fast food restaurant. When ordered, Burger King frozen fries are added to a fryer with corn, canola, soy, and/or cottonseed oils according to their July 2021 allergen information sheet from their website.
The fryer that is used to cook the French fries is also the same fryer that many of Burger King’s other menu items are cooked. These are the foods that are cooked in the shared fryer at any given time throughout the day:
“Fish Filet, Pork Sausage, Ch’King Chicken Filet, Chicken Nuggets, Original Chicken Patty, Hash Browns, French Toast Sticks and Onion Rings.”
Read on: Burger King Gluten-free Menu Items
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten is often added as a binding ingredient in many foods, and in French fries, it may be in a batter that is added to help get a French fry to be more crispy on the outside.
Are Burger King fries gluten-free?
According to the Burger King’s allergen information sheet that was published in July 2021, their French fries do not contain wheat, however they are cooked in a shared fryer with other menu items that do have gluten ingredients.
It’s important to note that there is a high likelihood that there is gluten in the fries at Burger King simply because they use a shared fryer.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you’ll need to use your best judgement based on what you know about your body and level of sensitivity to gluten to make a choice as to whether or not to order this item from the menu.
Read on: Are French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are McDonald’s French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Wendy’s French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Arby’s fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Chick-Fil-A fries gluten-free?
Are Burger King fries dairy-free?
Burger King’s allergen information sheet from July 2021 shows that there are no milk products in their French fries but since they are cooked in a shared fryer, it is probable there will be some cross contamination with dairy ingredients.
Are Burger King hash browns gluten-free?
Burger King hash browns do contain wheat as well as being cooked in a shared fryer with other gluten containing menu items. If you follow a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to avoid the hash browns from their menu.
Read on: Are hash browns gluten-free?
If you’ve been wondering whether or not you can enjoy Burger King french fries while you’re trying to stick with a gluten-free diet, I hope this information has been useful for you.
While there are no gluten ingredients in Burger King’s French fries, it’s important to know that with them being cooked in a shared fryer that they will almost certainly have gluten in them from cross contamination.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply