Find out what Chick-fil-A fries are made of and if they are safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus what you need to know about fast food fries.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you enjoy stopping by Chick-fil-A once in a while on a busy day, you may have wondered what their menu is like as it relates to a gluten-free diet.
There are so many obvious ingredients that contain gluten from fast food restaurants: hamburger buns, breading on fried chicken patties, and many breakfast muffins or biscuits.
But what about French fries? Are French fries at different fast food restaurants gluten-free? In this post, we’re going to dig into the details of Chick-fil-A French fries and discover what they’re made of and if they’re going to be a safe option for folks on a gluten-free diet.
What are Chick-fil-A fries made of?
Chick-fil-A outlines their ingredients on their website. Their waffle potato fries are made of the following ingredients:
“Potatoes, high oleic canola oil with dimethylpolysiloxane added as an anti-foaming agent, vegetable oil (canola, palm, soy), salt, disodium dihydrogen pyrophosphate (to maintain natural color), dextrose.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten is often added as a binding ingredient in many foods, and in French fries, it may be in a batter that is added to help get a French fry to be more crispy on the outside.
Are French fries gluten-free?
French fries can easily be made to be gluten-free, however not every batch of French fries is created equally. Some fries have added flour as a coating to bump up the crispiness factor after frying.
Other French fries are cooked in a shared bath of oil in their fryers. If you order French fries from a restaurant or fast food place, be sure you know where the fries are being cooked so you know if there’s a possibility that the fries are swimming in a bath of oil that has also been cooking foods that contain gluten.
Read on: Are French fries gluten-free?
Are Chick-fil-A fries gluten-free?
According to the Chick-Fil-A website, their French fries don’t contain any gluten. Though their website didn’t state anything about cross contamination in a fryer, I found an article by Gluten-free Living that says “The waffle fries are cooked in canola oil while the fried chicken is cooked in peanut oil. That’s right—the French fries are safe at a fast-food restaurant!.”
Yes, Chick-Fil-A has gluten-free French fries!
That said, if you are sensitive to gluten at even trace amounts, you may opt to skip this restaurant entirely as there are many menu items that contain gluten.
Read on: Are McDonald’s French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Burger King French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Wendy’s French fries gluten-free?
Read on: Are Arby’s fries gluten-free?
Are Chick-fil-A dairy-free?
Chick-fil-A fries do not contain any dairy ingredients and should be safe to enjoy on a dairy-free diet.
If you’ve been wondering if Chick-fil-A fries contain gluten, I hope this post has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for.
As far as I was able to find, the fact that Chick-fil-A uses a specific type of oil to fry their waffle fries makes it so they don’t use a shared fryer with other gluten containing fried foods.
We can safely assume that these fries are gluten-free, but you’ll want to keep in mind that this restaurant is not promoting any gluten-free foods at all, so use caution.
f you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply