Find out if soybean oil is gluten-free, what it’s made of, and used for in cooking and baking. Plus find out if soy is gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’ve found yourself looking at the back of a packaged food and come across soybean oil in the ingredients list, you may have wondered if this ingredient is gluten-free. You also might be curious what soybean oil is, what it’s used for in foods, and if this ingredient is gluten-free.
Find out the answers to all these questions in this post, plus discover if soy, soybeans, and soybean oil are safe for a gluten-free diet.
What is soybean oil?
Soybean oil is the extracted oil from soybeans. It is a popular cooking oil that is used in both frying foods and in baked goods and can often be found under the name “vegetable oil” in packaged oil from grocery stores.
Soybean oil is extracted from beans and this light cooking oil is versatile, because it has a high smoke point meaning it can stand up to high heat cooking like roasting, frying, and sauteing.
This oil has omega-3 fatty acids which are a great addition to your diet for keeping your brain healthy.
What is soybean oil used for?
Soybean oil is most commonly used for frying foods or used in baking recipes where oil or fat are called for.
Soybean oil is also found in many processed foods, like margarine, candy bars and candy, mayonnaise, canned soups, breads and buns, chips, and cereal. Of course, soybean oil is also used in many restaurants to fry French fries and other fried foods.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in some food products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, malt flavor, or malt barley.
Read on: What is gluten in food?
Are soybeans gluten-free?
Soybeans and soy are both considered gluten-free foods, because they come from a plant that does not contain gluten proteins or wheat. Since soybeans and beans and not wheat grains, we can feel confident that soybeans are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is soybean oil gluten-free?
Since soybean oil is made from soybeans and not wheat or grain that contains gluten, we can be sure that soybean is a good option for folks on a gluten-free diet. If you come across a packaged food that contains soybean oil, know that this oil is safe for you if you’re avoiding gluten.
If you’ve been wondering if soybean oil is safe for a gluten-free diet, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’ve been looking for. Soybean oil is naturally gluten-free, but be aware of other ingredients in a recipe or fryer that may contain gluten and cause cross contamination.