Do you love bananas? Find out if bananas are safe for a gluten-free diet and when you’ll want to pay close attention before buying.
Bananas are a mainstay in many folks’ diets. They are great for snacking, adding to your morning cereal or oatmeal, or blending up in smoothies. With their soft texture, they also make great banana bread, muffins, and even cake.
If you’re just starting out on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if bananas are going to be a food you’ll be able to continue enjoying on a regular basis.
Find out in this post if bananas are gluten-free, if fruit is gluten-free, and the places you’ll want to pay closer attention to hidden gluten if you plan to buy packaged food with bananas in them.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form or gluten or wheat derivatives.
These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Read on: What is gluten in food? The basics of a gluten-free diet
Does fruit have gluten?
All fruits are naturally gluten-free, because they are grown separately from wheat products. As long as you’re eating fresh fruit, you can be sure that it’s gluten-free.
The only time you’d have to worry about fruit containing gluten is when you’re eating something that has been processed, for example canned fruit, fresh fruit, or packaged snacks with fruit in them.
If you’re buying canned or packaged fruit, always always always read ingredient lists. Labels are great, but you can’t always rely on them. Sometimes gluten could be added as flavoring or thickener in packaged foods.
Read on: 101 Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks
Are bananas gluten free?
Bananas are naturally gluten-free, as they are not related to any gluten-containing grains and they are not often processed. They are most often eaten fresh and plain or added to recipes when fresh.
The times you’d want to be aware of gluten would be in processed or packaged foods that have bananas in them, like baby food or applesauce pouches. You might also find gluten in things like banana cream pie. The gluten isn’t in the bananas, but in the crust.
It’s true that some folks who are gluten intolerant or have Celiac Disease cannot digest bananas well, however this isn’t due to the gluten, it’s due to a protein called lectin.
Some folks who need to avoid gluten can tolerate bananas, while others can’t, so you’ll need to talk to your doctor or decide what’s right for you and your body.
Love bananas? Try one of these delicious gluten-free banana recipes:
- The Best Gluten-free Banana Bread (Dairy-free and Vegan Option)
- 25 Gluten-free Dairy-free Banana Bread Recipes
- Chocolate Banana Smoothie
- Dairy-free Banana Split Soft Serve
- Peanut Butter & Banana Ice Cream
- Banana Cream Pie Cake (#20)
- Dairy-free Instant Frozen Yogurt
If you’ve been wondering if bananas are safe for your gluten-free diet, I hope this information has given you some confidence that these are a safe fruit and food to eat regularly.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply