Find out what wasabi is made of and if this popular Japanese condiment is safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus some gluten-free wasabi brands.
If you love sushi, poke bowls, or Japanese food, you’re probably no stranger to wasabi. This green paste packs a punch and can be found on the side of many sushi rolls and other dishes at many Japanese restaurants worldwide.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that gluten can hide just about anywhere – condiments included! In this post, we’re taking a good look at wasabi and what you may have not known about this popular green paste.
Find out what wasabi is, what it’s made from, how to spot the difference between a real and imitation wasabi, and find out if this ingredient is safe for your gluten-free diet.
We’ll wrap this post up with a list of some brands that carry at least one gluten-free wasabi paste, powder, sauce, or spread in their product lineup to help you make an easy and informed decision next time you’re at the store or chatting with a server at a sushi restaurant.
Let’s get into wasabi!
Read on: Is sushi gluten-free? What to order, what to avoid
What is wasabi?
Wasabi is a condiment in the form of a light green paste that’s served with sushi most commonly. It’s what we know of as wasabi anyway, but oftentimes wasabi that we get at restaurants and at grocery stores isn’t true wasabi.
So what is wasabi? It’s the ground up rhizomes (kind of like a root) of a Wasabia japonica plant. It’s spicy hot in flavor and has a brightness that you can taste. It’s a strong flavor so a little goes a long way in dishes that you add it to.
What is wasabi made from?
True wasabi is made from the rhizomes of a Wasabia japonica plant, but most restaurants and stores sell a fake version of wasabi that’s made with horseradish, radishes and sometimes mustard. These spicy flavors offer a good imitation of wasabi, but they aren’t a true wasabi.
It’s said that an imitation or fake wasabi is too strong in flavor and will overpower the flavor of the fish that’s used in sushi or poke bowls.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is wasabi gluten-free?
Real wasabi is naturally gluten-free, because it isn’t made with any gluten containing grains or ingredients. Fake or imitation wasabi may or may not be gluten-free, depending on the ingredients used and the quality of those ingredients.
To help you identify a real versus fake wasabi, you can see what the texture is like. A real wasabi is served freshly grated, whereas a fake or imitation wasabi is more creamy and pasty.
Imitation wasabi may not be gluten-free, because some brands have wheat starch in their ingredients to thicken the consistency of the wasabi. Others may use cornstarch or another starch.
It’s most common for restaurants to serve imitation wasabi instead of fresh wasabi, so it’s important for you to know what’s being served on your gluten-free diet. If you are at a restaurant, you may want to ask to have a server or chef review the ingredients for you and help you identify if the ingredients contain wheat or other gluten ingredients.
If you make your own sushi at home or other Japanese dishes, it’s a good idea to review the ingredients of a wasabi that you purchase from the store to help you know if it is gluten-free or not.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
>> Get your copy of the GFDF Take-Along Cards to make this easy on you.
Read on: Is cornstarch gluten-free?
Brands of gluten-free wasabi
If you’re looking to buy a wasabi that’s safe for your gluten-free diet, you may want to consider some of these brands as they contain no gluten-containing ingredients. This list includes wasabi pastes, sauces, powders, and spreads.
Note that not all products from each of these brands may be gluten-free, but they do have some options that are. Be sure to check ingredient lists every time before you buy as manufacturers can change ingredients at any time.
- Eden Foods
- Pacific Farms
If you’re interested in some other common Japanese ingredients and how they fit into a gluten-free diet, you might want to check out some of these posts.
- Is eel sauce gluten-free?
- Is mirin gluten-free?
- Is imitation crab gluten-free?
- Is teriyaki sauce gluten-free?
- Is tamari gluten-free?
- Is tempura gluten-free?
- Is rice gluten-free?
If you love sushi, poke bowls, or other Japanese food and have been wondering whether or not wasabi is a food you can continue to eat with your favorite dishes, I hope this post has cleared up some of the confusion around this ingredient.
While real wasabi is naturally gluten-free, most restaurants and stores don’t carry this ingredient.
f you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply