Find out if Tito’s vodka is gluten-free, what it’s made from, and what flavors and products are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love to mix your own drinks at home or have a favorite drink with vodka, you may have seen Tito’s Handmade Vodka at the liquor store a time or two. This brand of vodka is very popular and widely available in the United States.
It’s a great brand of vodka to mix into your favorite mixed drinks and their website is full of vodka drinks and infusion recipes to try. If you love Tito’s and it’s your go-to vodka brand, you may be wondering if this option is safe for a gluten-free diet.
In this post, we’re going to dive into Tito’s Handmade Vodka and talk about what it is, what it’s made from, and if it’s gluten-free. We’ll also answer the question of if it’s vegan.
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
Let’s talk Tito’s!
What is Tito’s?
Tito’s Handmade Vodka is a brand of vodka that was founded by Tito Beveridge. The brand uses yellow corn to create its vodka, making it a unique vodka option for folks who enjoy adding vodka to their favorite drink recipes or enjoying it straight.
What is vodka made from?
Vodka can be made from many different ingredients, including cereal grains, sugar beet molasses, and potatoes. Most of the vodka we are familiar with and is made today is made using potatoes. (Source)
According to Difford’s Guide for Discerning Drinkers, the ingredients that are used to make vodka can create different nuanced flavors in the vodka itself.
For example, vodka made from wheat may have a subtle anise seed, pepper, and lemon zest flavor. Vodka made from potatoes may have a creamy texture and vegetable notes. Tito’s vodka is made from corn.
Is vodka gluten-free?
Even though vodka can be made with wheat, it doesn’t mean that this liquor contains gluten. It may surprise you, but it’s well accepted that any gluten proteins that are found in the wheat are completely removed from the final product during the distillation process.
The drinks you’ll want to be careful about are those that aren’t the pure distilled vodkas and liquors. Any vodka that has been flavored after distillation may contain gluten from the added flavorings.
It’s always your best bet to choose pure vodka over flavored varieties unless the brand gives a clear indication that their product is in fact gluten-free and they have confirmed this fact.
Read on: Gluten-free vodka
Is Tito’s vodka gluten-free?
According to the Tito’s vodka website, this brand of vodka is gluten-free.
“Tito’s Handmade Vodka is certified Gluten-Free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO). It’s an important thing for us, and we actually include “GLUTEN-FREE” on our label, in lots of our materials and on the website so people can make informed choices. But, we are vodka makers, not doctors, so if you have more questions or concerns, you should definitely talk to your doctor about it!”
They also note that “Tito’s Handmade Vodka is made from corn, and as a distilled spirit, is completely gluten-free. Some producers add a little bit of mash back into the spirit after distillation, which would add gluten content into an otherwise gluten-free distillate (if using wheat as the base), but we don’t do that regardless.”
Is Tito’s vodka vegan?
Again, the Tito’s vodka website comes to the rescue to help us get our answers. They state that their vodka complies with a vegetarian and vegan diet, and they do not use any animal ingredients or by-products.
If you’ve been wondering if Tito’s vodka is safe to enjoy on your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has given you the answers you’ve been looking for. You can safely enjoy this brand of vodka and add it to all your favorite drinks moving forward!