Find out if tequila has gluten, if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet, if your favorites are gluten-free, and what brands to look for.
Find out if rum has gluten, if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet, if your favorites are gluten-free, and what brands to look for.If you’re new to a gluten-free diet, you may have questions about what foods and drinks are considered gluten-free. If you’re out with friends on the weekend or love to sip on margaritas at home, you may be wondering if tequila is gluten-free.
Some alcohol contains gluten, so this question is an important one. Knowing which alcohol you can include in your gluten-free diet is vital so you can still relax once in a while without feeling completely terrible the next few days from being glutened.
In this post, we’re going to answer the question “Is tequila gluten-free?” and go over what tequila is made from, if margaritas are gluten-free, and discuss some popular gluten-free tequila brands.
This is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
What is tequila made from?
Tequila is made from the blue agave plant. It is a distilled beverage that originated in Mexico. It is similar to mezcal in that they are both made from blue agave, but prepared in different ways.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is tequila gluten-free?
Knowing that tequila is made from the blue agave plant which is naturally gluten-free, we can be sure that tequila is safe for a gluten-free diet. As long as you’re purchasing tequila that says “100% agave” on the bottle, you’ll know it’s gluten-free.
Does tequila have gluten?
Tequila does not contain gluten, as long as it is pure tequila and does not have any additional flavorings or additives added to the bottle. Once flavorings or additives are added to the drink, you’ll need to do further research to be sure it’s gluten-free.
Are margaritas gluten-free?
Margaritas are usually made with a combination of tequila, triple sec or Coitreau, and lime or lemon juice. If your margaritas are homemade, you can check all your ingredients to be sure there isn’t any gluten in any of them before adding them to your margaritas.
Both triple sec and Cointreau are liqueurs made from orange peels, and distilled into a gluten-free orange flavored alcohol. These are also naturally gluten-free.
Bottled margarita mixes need to be looked at a bit more carefully for hidden sources of gluten. You can look under their ingredient lists for other names of gluten to be safe. For the most part, margarita mixes are gluten-free and will have a “gluten-free” label on them to help you identify them easily.
Now that we can confidently say that tequila is gluten-free, let’s go over some brands you can look for when you’re at a restaurant ordering a margarita or picking up some tequila at the store.
Gluten-free Tequila brands
There are a ton of gluten-free tequila brands on the market. Here are some popular tequila brands to look for the next time you’re out shopping.
- 1519 Tequila
- 1800 Tequila
- Cabo Wabo
- Calle 23
- Casa Noble
- Centenario Plata
- Don Julio
- Don Sergio (1942, Resposado, and Blanco varieties only)
- El Destilador
- El Jimador
- El Padrino
- Herradura Tequila
- Jose Cuervo
- Olmeca Altos Plata
- Patron Tequila
- Suaza Tequila
- Suerte Tequila
- Tequila Tapatio
What tequila is gluten-free?
There are so many tequila brands on the market, but there are a number of popular ones that I get asked about the most often. Let’s answer some of these pressing questions as to whether some popular favorites are gluten-free.
Is Jose Cuervo gluten-free?
Jose Cuervo is safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet, as it is a distilled pure tequila without any additional flavorings or additives.
Is Patron gluten-free?
Patron is naturally gluten-free as it comes from the blue agave plant. Enjoy Patron Silver, Reposado, Anejo, and Extra Anejo. They also offer Cafe Dark Cocoa and Cafe flavors that are also gluten-free.
Does Tequila Rose have gluten?
Tequila Rose is a strawberry cream and tequila liqueur. The packaging on the bottle states that it contains wheat and rye, making it NOT a good choice if you’re on a gluten-free diet.
I hope that if you have been looking for answers on whether or not tequila is gluten-free that you found them here in this post.
Remember that as long as the tequila you choose is pure and distilled, it should not contain any gluten. If there are flavorings or additives added to the distilled vodka, you’ll want to do some further research in order to make an informed decision that’s right for you and your body.
Love this post? Check out more from the Gluten-free Alcohol Series.
- What Alcohol is Gluten-free?
- Does Beer Have Gluten?
- Is Wine Gluten-free?
- Is Cider Gluten-free?
- Gluten-free Vodka
- Is Whiskey Gluten-free?
- Is Bourbon Gluten-free?
- Is Scotch Gluten-free?
- Is Rum Gluten-free?
- Is Tequila Gluten-free?
- Gluten-free Gin
- Which Liqueurs are Gluten-free?
- Is Mead Gluten-free?
- Is Sake Gluten-free?
- Is Hard Seltzer Gluten-free?
- Is Mike’s Hard Lemonade Gluten-free?