Find out if champagne has gluten, if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet, if your favorites are gluten-free, and what brands to look for.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you love celebrating with a glass of champagne or sparkling wine after a big success? Or when you’re at a party, cozying up for an anniversary dinner, or excited to celebrate a big promotion?
You’re not alone. So many people love champagne for various reasons. Some love the bubbles, some love that it’s different than many other alcoholic beverages, and some just love that it feels fancy.
Whatever the reason, we can agree that champagne is a fun drink to have on hand and enjoy once in a while. But if you follow a gluten-free diet, you know there are a lot of things to consider.
You have to know what ingredients to look for and know which brands are safe. If you drink champagne, you may be wondering how it will fit into your gluten-free diet.
In this post, we’re going to clear up all your answers related to following a gluten-free diet and enjoying champagne and sparkling wine. Let’s answer the question “is champagne gluten-free?” once and for all.
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
What is champagne?
Champagne is a sparkling wine that comes from the Champagne region of France.
What most Americans think of when they hear the term “champagne” is that it’s a sparkling wine that could come from just about anywhere. While other sparkling wines are delicious, they are known under different names, like prosecco, cava, and yes, sparkling wine.
Remember true champagne comes from grapes grown in Champagne, France. Other sparkling wines will have other names, grown from grapes from other regions, and may be made a little differently, but they are still delicious.
What is champagne made of?
According to Boston Magazine, champagne or sparkling wine is made from three types of grapes: chardonnay, pinot noir, and pinot meunier.
Italian prosecco is made from prosecco or glera grapes, and cava, a Spanish sparkling wine, is made from macabeu, parallada, and xarello grapes.
The grapes are turned into juice, which is fermented, bottled, then fermented again with yeast and sugar with its cork already in place to ferment and create bubbles in the sparkling wine.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is champagne gluten-free?
Champagne is naturally gluten-free as it is made using grape juice, yeast, and sugar. All three of these are naturally gluten-free ingredients. Most brands of champagne and sparkling wine are considered gluten-free, although they don’t always have gluten-free labels.
Alcohol brands are not required to state their ingredients or whether or not they contain gluten on their packaging. While you may see some brands label their sparkling wine as gluten-free, others simply don’t label them. This doesn’t mean they contain gluten, but they just don’t have to label them as such.
If it’s not clear about a specific brand based on the label, it’s best to look up the sparkling wine or champagne brand itself online to review its website and find out if they are known for being gluten-free.
Read on: What alcohol is gluten-free? The ultimate guide
Gluten-free champagne and sparkling wine
Most brands of champagne and sparkling wine are gluten-free, but it’s helpful to know which brands are willing to state this information.
While these companies aren’t required to label their wine as gluten-free, it’s nice to know which brands take this seriously and are willing to help their customers make informed decisions about their products.
What champagne is gluten-free?
Let’s go over some popular champagne and sparkling wine brands to discover if your favorites are considered gluten-free by the brands themselves and what the gluten-free community has to say about it.
Is André champagne gluten-free?
André champagne doesn’t make any gluten-free statements about their drinks. It is assumed that this brand is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is Barefoot champagne gluten-free?
While Barefoot wind doesn’t make any gluten-free claims on their website, I was able to find someone who had contacted this company in 2014. Their response from the company was that all Barefoot wines are gluten-free.
Is Moet champagne gluten-free?
Moet does not make any gluten-free claims on their products, however Barnivore, a vegan wine, beer, and liquor blog was in contact with this company in 2012.
They stated that they “confirm you that our Champagne is only made with grapes and is gluten and wheat free and without animal or eggs products.”
Is Veuve champagne gluten-free?
Veuve Clicquot does not share that it is gluten-free, although it is widely accepted in the gluten-free community that this brand is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is brut champagne gluten-free?
Brut simply means dry, which is indicating that the champagne is dry in flavor. It is less sweet and if you go further to “extra brut,” this means that is even less sweet.
Brut doesn’t indicate whether or not there is gluten present in the beverage and I’d drink it as you would any other champagne, using your best judgement about the brand based on the rest of the information in this post.
Is prosecco gluten-free?
Prosecco is an Italian sparkling wine that is made in a very similar way to champagne. It uses grape juice, yeast, and sugar to craft it’s final product, making it almost always safe for a gluten-free diet.
If you love champagne and have been wondering how this celebratory drink fits into your gluten-free diet, I hope this information has given you ample evidence that it’s almost always safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
Remember that just because a sparkling wine bottle doesn’t’ have a label that it doesn’t mean it’s not gluten-free. Alcohol brands are not required to list their allergens or ingredients lists, so we have to use our best judgement.