Find out if Grey Goose vodka is gluten-free, what it’s made from, and what flavors and products are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Are you a fan of Grey Goose vodka? Are you just getting started with a gluten-free diet and wondering which types and flavors of alcohol can fit into your diet?
In this post, we’re talking all about one specific brand of vodka and diving deep to discover if Grey Goose is a good option for all your mixed drinks, cocktails, and martinis.
FInd out what Grey Goose is, what it’s made from, and get the answer to the question “is Grey Goose gluten-free?” We’ll also talk about their flavored vodkas and Grey Goose Essences line and what you need to know about these products and your gluten-free diet.
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
What is Grey Goose?
Grey Goose is a brand of vodka that is popular in the U.S. It originated in France but has been part of the Bacardi company since 2004.
Grey Goose has a variety of products, including their classic vodka which is made from “soft winter wheat and Gensac spring water” according to their website. They also have a line of Grey Goose Essences and flavored vodkas.
Their Grey Goose Essences line is a mixture of fruit and botanical essences that come in a few flavors: Strawberry & Lemongrass, Watermelon & Basil, and White Peach & Rosemary.
Their Grey Goose flavored vodka line has three flavors: La Poire (pear), L’Orange (orange), and Le Citron (lemon).
What is vodka made from?
Vodka can be made from many different ingredients, including cereal grains, sugar beet molasses, and potatoes.
According to Difford’s Guide for Discerning Drinkers, the ingredients that are used to make vodka can create different nuanced flavors in the vodka itself.
For example, vodka made from wheat may have a subtle anise seed, pepper, and lemon zest flavor. Vodka made from potatoes may have a creamy texture and vegetable notes.
According to the Grey Goose website, they use soft winter wheat which produces a delicate and floral smell, a sweet and round palate, and a bold and toffee finish.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
That said, distilled spirits which come from gluten grains like wheat, can be gluten-free after the distillation process has occurred.
Is vodka gluten-free?
Pure distilled vodka is always gluten-free, regardless of the grain that is used to make it. You can feel safe enjoying pure vodka on a gluten-free diet, because the distillation process removes any gluten proteins in the product.
The place you’ll want to be aware of gluten in vodka are flavored vodkas. Sometimes manufacturers add flavoring after the distillation process, meaning these ingredients could contain gluten and it isn’t distilled out of the product.
It’s always your best bet to choose pure vodka over flavored varieties unless the brand gives a clear indication that their product is in fact gluten-free and they have confirmed this fact.
Read on: Gluten-free vodka
Is Grey Goose gluten-free?
Lucky for us on a gluten-free diet, Grey Goose makes a gluten statement about their vodkas, allowing us to rest our minds about their products.
“Yes, GREY GOOSE® Vodka is gluten-free. GREY GOOSE® Vodkas are made from single origin Picardie wheat and water from our natural limestone well in Gensac-La-Pallue using a distillation process to craft a gluten free vodka and flavored vodkas.”
Is Grey Goose made from potatoes?
Many vodkas are made using potatoes, but Grey Goose vodka uses wheat in their products as they share very transparently on their website. Even though this vodka is made with wheat, it is still a gluten-free product due to its distillation process.
Is Kirkland Vodka Grey Goose?
As I was writing this post, I came across the rumor that Costco’s brand Kirkland is actually Grey Goose vodka. While I wasn’t able to confirm this or not, the takeaway here is that as long as Kirkland’s vodka is distilled, it is also gluten-free.
From everything I’ve read, the Kirkland brand tastes very similar to Grey Goose, so if you enjoy Grey Goose vodka and want to save some money, this might be an easy way to enjoy your favorite liquor on a budget.
Is Grey Goose Orange gluten-free?
Grey Goose Orange is considered to be gluten-free as per their gluten statement indicating the distillation process removes all gluten from their products.
Are Grey Goose Essences gluten-free?
Grey Goose offers a line of Grey Goose Essences that are infused with “real fruit and botanical essences.” They also have zero carbs and zero sugar, appealing to health conscious cocktail makers.
Though Grey Goose makes a gluten statement about their vodkas, they do not mention their essences line. The fruit and botanical essences are added after distillation, which makes me pause to wonder if this is in fact a good gluten-free choice.
The reviews of this product on their website seem to indicate that this product line is gluten-free by other folks who have tried it, but use your best judgement based on your level of sensitivity to gluten and if you’re willing to risk being glutened if this product does in fact have gluten in the additional ingredients added after distillation.
If you’re a fan of Grey Goose vodka, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’re after to make an informed decision about whether or not to include this brand of vodka in your gluten-free diet.