Find out if Baileys is gluten-free, if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet, and if Baileys is dairy-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love Baileys irish cream, you might be wondering if this liqueur is gluten-free. Some types of alcohol contain gluten, so you’ll want to be sure that each and every time you buy a brand or type of alcohol, that it’s safe for you and your diet.
This post is all about Baileys irish cream and other irish cream liqueurs. We’re going to dive into the details of this drink, and answer the question “is Baileys gluten-free?”
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
Baileys is an irish cream flavored liqueur with flavors of cream, cocoa, and made into an alcoholic beverage with Irish whiskey. It’s a popular drink to add to coffee or hot chocolate, or one of the main ingredients in dessert drinks, like Mudslides and White Russians.
Some people even prefer to drink it plain, on the rocks or served over ice cream.
Read on: Which liqueurs are gluten-free?
What is Baileys made from?
Baileys irish cream is made with Irish dairy cream, cocoa, vanilla and Irish whiskey with a proprietary recipe.
This brand of Irish cream comes in a variety of flavors, like almande (a dairy-free version of their classic Irish cream), salted caramel, strawberries and cream, espresso creme, red velvet, apple pie, deliciously light (a lighter amount of calories and sugar), vanilla cinnamon, chocolate cherry, and colada.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in alcohol in barley malt, flavorings, or colorings, which is why we have to be careful about which drinks we choose.
Is Baileys gluten-free?
According to the Gluten Bee, Baileys is considered gluten-free as they don’t use gluten-containing ingredients and they have no knowledge of traces of gluten in their products.
Baileys doesn’t make any gluten-free claims on their Original and flavored products except that their ingredients do not contain gluten. This may imply there are traces of gluten, but it also may not. Use your best judgement as to whether that works for you before buying and drinking this beverage.
Baileys Almande is considered gluten-free by the company.
Is Baileys dairy-free?
Baileys is gluten-free but does contain dairy from the Irish cream that is added to it. If you follow a dairy-free diet in addition to being gluten-free, you’ll want to choose their Almande flavor and forgo the original or other flavor varieties of Baileys.
Read on: Does Baileys have dairy?
Read on: What alcohol is gluten-free?
If you love the flavor of Irish cream, you’ll know this popular brand is easy to find and delicious to add to your cocktails or other sweet desserts. I hope this post has helped answer any questions you might have about Baileys as it relates to your gluten-free diet, so you can feel confident in your decision to enjoy it.