Find out what Bacardi is, what it’s made from, and if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus get a list of the varieties Bacardi offers.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a fan of rum, you’re probably no stranger to Bacardi. Whether you’re loyal to the Bacardi brand or you’re just getting started with a gluten-free diet and wondering which brands of rum will fit into your diet, you’re in the right place.
In this post, we’re talking all about Bacardi, this specific brand of rum, and diving deep into discovering if Bacardi is a good option for all your favorite mixed drinks, cocktails, and rum punch recipes.
Find out what Bacardi is, what it’s made from, and get the answer to the question “is Bacardi gluten-free?” We’ll also talk about all their flavored rums, ready to drink cocktails, and all their other varieties with everything you need to know about these products and your gluten-free diet.
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
What is Bacardi?
Bacardi is a brand of rum that’s made from molasses from sugarcane, yeast, and water. It was introduced in 1862 and has since become a rum that’s available worldwide. According to the brand website, these ingredients are fermented, then distilled, aged, filtered, and blended to make their signature rum.
This brand offers a number of different varieties of rum, including their signature Bacardi Superior rum, spiced rum, coconut rum, as well as some dark and aged rums.
Bacardi also produces Ready To Drink cocktails and Ready To Serve cocktails in a variety of flavors. In addition to these options, they have a full line of flavored rums that are perfect for mixing into your favorite cocktails.
What varieties and flavors does Bacardi come in?
Bacardi comes in a variety of flavors and options. Here is the current lineup of Bacardi according to the brand’s website.
- Bacardi Superior
- Bacardi Spiced
- Bacardi Coquito Coconut Liqueur
- Bacardi Ready To Drink Cocktails
- Bacardi Rum Punch
- Bacardi Mojito
- Bacardi Bahama Mama
- Bacardi Limon & Lemonade
- Bacardi Lime & Soda
- Bacardi Sunset Punch
- Bacardi Ready To Serve Cocktails
- Bacardi Island Punch
- Bacardi Bahama Mama
- Bacardi Rum Punch
- Bacardi Mojito
- Bacardi Hurricane
- Bacardi Zombie
- Bacardi Island Tea
- Bacardi Flavors
- Bacardi Tropical
- Bacardi Limon
- Bacardi Lime
- Bacardi Coconut
- Bacardi Dragonberry
- Bacardi Pineapple
- Bacardi Mango
- Bacardi Raspberry
- Bacardi Reserva Ocho
- Bacardi Anejo Cuatro
- Bacardi Gran Reserva Diez
- Bacardi Gran Reserva Limitada
What is Bacardi made from?
According to the Bacardi website, “Bacardi rum starts with the high quality molasses sourced from around the world. It’s a thick, dark and sweet syrup that is left over after a three stage sugarcane refining process, resulting in the molasses containing less sugar, but still holding the sugarcane sweetness and concentrated flavors of the naturally occurring vitamins and minerals.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is rum gluten-free?
Since rum is made from sugarcane or molasses, and we know that sugar does not contain gluten, we can be sure that rum is gluten-free.
It is safe to enjoy rum on a gluten-free diet, as long as the rum is pure and distilled. Look out for any drink mixes that have added flavorings, spices, or other additives. These additions may contain gluten, so you’ll want to do some extra research before purchasing or drinking.
Read on: Is rum gluten-free?
Is Bacardi gluten-free?
Though the brand is not federally regulated to share if their products are gluten-free, Bacardi does share this information on their website.
The ingredients found in rum, as well as the fact that rum is a distilled alcohol means this drink is considered safe among the gluten-free community.
Bacardi rum is gluten-free, including Bacardi Superior, Reserva Ocho, Gold, Select, and their flavored rums. Their Ready to Drink cocktails are also gluten-free.
Is Bacardi Superior gluten-free?
Bacardi Superior is made from molasses, yeast, and water – all ingredients are naturally gluten-free. This variety of Bacardi rum is considered gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet by the Bacardi brand.
Is Bacardi Limon gluten-free?
Bacardi Limon is considered gluten-free by the brand and there is a gluten-free note on their website for this specific product page.
Is Bacardi Gold gluten-free?
Bacardi Gold is considered gluten-free by the Bacardi brand. You can see a gluten-free note on their website for this product page.
Is Bacardi Coconut Rum gluten-free?
Bacardi Coquito, their cream-based coconut liqueur, is gluten free as indicated on the Bacardi website. You can enjoy this liqueur if you’re on a gluten-free diet in all your favorite cocktails.
Are Bacardi Ready to Serve cocktails gluten-free?
According to the Bacardi website, their Ready to Serve cocktails are considered gluten-free in all their flavors, including: Bacardi Island Punch, Bacardi Bahama Mama, Bacardi Rum Punch, Bacardi Mojito, Bacardi Hurricane, Bacardi Zombie, and Bacardi Island Tea.
Are Bacardi Ready to Drink cocktails gluten-free?
All Bacardi Ready to Drink cocktails are considered gluten-free by the brand. This includes all their flavors: Bacardi Rum Punch, Bacardi Mojito, Bacardi Bahama Mama, Bacardi Limon & Lemonade, Bacardi Lime & Soda, Bacardi Sunset Punch.
If you enjoy Bacardi rum in your favorite cocktails or are wondering if you can drink their Ready to Serve or Ready to Drink cocktails, I hope this post has given you the answers you’ve been looking for. All Bacardi rum products are gluten-free as indicated by the brand on their website.