Find out if honey mustard contains dairy, what the main ingredients are in honey mustard, and which brands are safe for a dairy-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you love honey mustard with your favorite chicken dishes? Honey mustard is a super versatile condiment that can be used in a variety of different dishes. It can be used as a condiment, dressing, dip, or marinade and add loads of flavor with just one little ingredient.
Honey mustard is great with chicken nuggets, on hot dogs, with your favorite pretzels, used as a chicken or pork marinade, and used as a salad dressing to liven up just about any salad.
Whether you’re just getting started with a dairy-free diet or have been at it for a while, you may be curious how this condiment fits in. After all, even the sauces and flavorings that go on our favorite dishes still need to be reviewed for dairy if you’re following a dairy-free diet for health or wellness reasons.
Find out in this post what honey mustard is, what it’s main ingredients are in both homemade and store-bought options, and find out if honey mustard is dairy-free. We’ll wrap up this post with a list of dairy-free brands of honey mustard and talk a little bit about gluten in honey mustard in case you also avoid gluten in your diet.
Let’s talk sweet and savory honey mustard!
Read on: Are hot dogs gluten-free?
What is honey mustard?
Honey mustard is a condiment that is often used as a dip, marinade, or as a salad dressing. This sweet, spicy, and sour sauce is popular for enjoying with chicken dishes, pretzels, or on top of a big bowl of salad.
Honey mustard is great for adding a big burst of flavor to simple recipes, like chicken or vegetables to liven up an otherwise boring plate of food. With just a little bit of dressing or marinade made with honey mustard, you can have a sweet and savory meal with just one simple addition to your meal.
Read on: Gluten-free salad dressing types and brands
Read on: Are pretzels gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free Pretzels
What is honey mustard made of?
Depending on the brand you buy or if you make honey mustard at home from scratch, the ingredients will vary.
Honey mustard made at home will contain these few ingredients: dijon mustard, honey, mayonnaise, lemon juice or vinegar, cayenne pepper or paprika.
Honey mustard from major brands will have these ingredients in some combination and quantity depending on the brand and variety: water, soybean oil, high fructose corn syrup, vinegar, sugar, honey, dijon mustard, modified cornstarch, white wine, salt, dark brown sugar, molasses, mustard flour, egg yolks, mustard seed, paprika, turmeric, natural flavor, sorbic acid and calcium disodium EDTA, citric acid, tartaric acid, dried onions, spice, beta carotene, xanthan gum, yellow #5.
I compiled this list from a few different brands, like Kraft, Ken’s Steakhouse, Heinz, and Market Pantry from Target.
What is dairy?
Dairy is a general name for ANY food that is made from milk. Technically, this is any food made from cow’s milk or goat’s milk or sheep’s milk. Any animal milk is dairy.
However, mostly when we’re talking about dairy, we’re talking about drinking cow’s milk, because that’s what is most popular here in the United States.
Is honey mustard dairy-free?
Honey mustard is almost always considered dairy-free, especially when made at home using ingredients you choose.
Store-bought honey mustard contains a lot more ingredients than a homemade version, and therefore more of an opportunity for dairy to present itself. That said, most brands I looked at do not contain dairy ingredients and should generally be considered safe for a dairy-free diet.
If you do avoid dairy, review the ingredients list of the honey mustard bottle that you’re looking at before purchasing.
Is honey mustard gluten-free?
Honey mustard may or may not contain gluten ingredients. If you make your own at home, you can easily be certain that it is gluten-free by using gluten-free ingredients.
If you buy store-bought honey mustard, you can review ingredients lists to search for any hidden sources of gluten before purchasing or look for a gluten-free label on the package.
Some options that I have found are not gluten-free are Beaver, Inglehoffer, Nance’s, and Columbus.
Read on: Is mustard gluten-free?
Read on: How to stock your gluten and dairy-free pantry
Brands of dairy-free honey mustard
If you’re looking for a brand of dairy-free honey mustard, I’ve rounded up a number of great options you can keep your eyes peeled for next time you’re at the grocery store.
Those in this list are all also gluten-free except for those with an asterisk(*).
- Boar’s Head
- Dietz & Watson
- G Hughes
- Great Value
- Ken’s Steakhouse
- Market Pantry
- Signature Select
- Simple Truth
- Sir Kensington’s
- Stonewall Kitchen
- Sweet Baby Ray’s
Read on: 17 condiments to stock your gluten and dairy-free kitchen
Read on: Is Sweet Baby Ray’s gluten-free?
If you’ve been wondering if honey mustard contains dairy, I hope this post has been helpful for you. Most honey mustard dressing is dairy-free, but it never hurts to review ingredients lists before purchasing.
If you also avoid gluten, be sure to check ingredient lists for any hidden sources of gluten, because some honey mustards do have wheat flour.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might want to check these out!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain dairy with these posts!
Are eggs dairy?
Find out if eggs are dairy, what food group they are in, why people think they are dairy, and if you can eat eggs on a dairy-free diet.
Does mayo have dairy?
Have you ever wondered if mayo has dairy? Find out in this post what mayo is made of, if mayo is a dairy product, and if you can eat mayo on a dairy-free diet.
Is Ghee Dairy-free?
Find out if ghee is safe for a dairy-free diet in this post. Also learn what ghee is, if it is healthy, and if you should add this ingredient to your dairy-free diet.
Is Frozen Yogurt Dairy-free?
Frozen yogurt is a popular treat, but is it dairy-free? Find out in this post if frozen yogurt is safe for a dairy-free diet.
Are Chocolate Chips Dairy-free?
Wondering which brands of chocolate chips are dairy-free? How do you know if your chocolate chips are dairy-free? Find out in this post, where I’ll share my favorite dairy-free chocolate chip brands.
Is Sorbet Dairy-free?
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if sorbet contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
Is Gelato Dairy-free?
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if gelato contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
Is Margarine Dairy-free?
Wondering if margarine is dairy-free? Find out if this popular butter alternative is safe for a dairy-free diet and what to eat instead.
Is Cool Whip Dairy-free?
Wondering if Cool Whip is dairy-free? Find out if this popular frozen dessert topping is safe for a dairy-free diet.
Is Whipped Cream Dairy-free?
Find out if whipped cream is safe for a dairy-free diet, which brands of dairy-free whipped cream are best, and how to make your own dairy-free whipped cream.
Is Sour Cream Dairy?
Learn if sour cream is safe for a dairy-free diet and get a recipe that’s both dairy free and vegan to use in all your favorite dishes.
Does alfredo sauce have dairy?
Find out if alfredo sauce has dairy, plus get a dairy-free and vegan alfredo sauce recipe to try at home!
Leave a Reply