Find out if Smirnoff vodka is gluten-free, what it’s made from, and what flavors and products safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Are you a fan of Smirnoff vodka and love to drink it straight or mix it into your favorite cocktails and mixed drinks? If so, you’re not alone. Smirnoff is among the most popular brands of vodka in the U.S.
But if you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that learning what foods (and drinks) contain gluten is vital before enjoying it. You need to know if that ingredient contains gluten or if it even has the potential for cross contamination.
In this post, we’re talking about Smirnoff vodka and learning about how it fits into a gluten-free diet. Find out what Smiroff is made of, if it’s gluten-free, and the flavors and varieties will work for you even if you avoid gluten.
We’ll also talk about some of Smirnoff’s ready to drink options, including Smirnoff Ice, Smirnoff Seltzer, Smirnoff Ice Smash, and Smirnoff Sourced. Learn if these canned products from Smirnoff are gluten-free.
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
What is Smirnoff?
Smirnoff is a brand of vodka and ready to drink beverages that are popular in the U.S. This brand of vodka originated in Moscow in 1864 according to their website, but it didn’t make its debut until 1941 with the invention of the Moscow Mule drink.
These days, you can find it in liquor stores, grocery stores, restaurants, and bars throughout the United States and in a variety of different flavors and options. They offer pure vodka, flavored vodka, and many beverages that are similar to beer or other ready-to-drink beverages.
What is vodka made from?
Vodka can be made from many different ingredients, including cereal grains, sugar beet molasses, and potatoes.
According to Difford’s Guide for Discerning Drinkers, the ingredients that are used to make vodka can create different nuanced flavors in the vodka itself.
For example, vodka made from wheat may have a subtle anise seed, pepper, and lemon zest flavor. Vodka made from potatoes may have a creamy texture and vegetable notes. According to Liquor.com, Smirnoff is made from corn.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
That said, distilled spirits which come from gluten grains like wheat, can be gluten-free after the distillation process has occurred.
Is vodka gluten-free?
Pure distilled vodka is always gluten-free, regardless of the grain that is used to make it. The distillation process removes any gluten proteins if there were any to begin with. You can feel safe enjoying pure distilled vodka on a gluten-free diet.
For flavored vodkas, you’ll want to pause and check with the brand and manufacturer of the product to ensure that the flavorings added after distillation are gluten-free. This is because even if the vodka itself is gluten-free, anything added after distillation could contain gluten and therefore not be a gluten-free product.
It’s always your best bet to choose pure vodka over flavored varieties unless the brand gives a clear indication that their product is in fact gluten-free and they have confirmed this fact.
Read on: Gluten-free vodka
Is Smirnoff gluten-free?
Smirnoff vodka is made using corn and is a distilled vodka, so it is gluten-free and safe for people on a gluten-free diet to enjoy.
This brand offers a variety of products, but we can say for certain that their classic vodkas are all gluten-free, because Smirnoff confirms this on their website.
These classic vodkas include:
- Smirnoff 90 Proof Vodka
- Smirnoff No. 21 Vodka
- Smirnoff 100 Proof Vodka
Are Smirnoff flavored vodkas gluten-free?
Smirnoff offers 28 flavors of their vodka and each and every one has been confirmed as gluten-free on their website. Here’s a list of their current gluten-free flavored vodka options:
Gluten-free Smirnoff Flavors
- Smirnoff Blueberry
- Smirnoff Cherry
- Smirnoff Citrus
- Smirnoff Cranberry
- Smirnoff Coconut
- Smirnoff Grape
- Smirnoff Green Apple
- Smirnoff Kissed Caramel
- Smirnoff Lime
- Smirnoff Orange
- Smirnoff Passion Fruit
- Smirnoff Peach
- Smirnoff Peppermint Twist
- Smirnoff Pineapple
- Smirnoff Pink Lemonade
- Smirnoff Raspberry
- Smirnoff Red, White & Berry
- Smirnoff Root Beer Float
- Smirnoff Ruby Red Grapefruit
- Smirnoff Strawberry
- Smirnoff Sorbet Light Raspberry Pomegranate
- Smirnoff Sours Berry Lemon
- Smirnoff Sours Green Apple
- Smirnoff Sours Watermelon
- Smirnoff Spicy Tamarind
- Smirnoff Vanilla
- Smirnoff Watermelon
- Smirnoff Whipped Cream
Are Smirnoff Zero Sugar Infusions gluten-free?
Smirnoff Zero Sugar Infusions are their signature vodka that has been mixed with flavorings without any sugar added. This line comes with four flavors, and all are gluten-free as confirmed by the brand’s website.
Gluten-free Smirnoff Zero Sugar Infusions Flavors
- Smirnoff Zero Sugar Infusions Watermelon & Mint
- Smirnoff Zero Sugar Infusions Lemon & Elderflower
- Smirnoff Zero Sugar Infusions Strawberry & Rose
- Smirnoff Zero Sugar Infusions Cucumber & Lime
Is Smirnoff Ice gluten-free?
Smirnoff Ice contains gluten in the US, and shouldn’t be included in your gluten-free diet. This drink contains malt which is an ingredient derived from barley, a gluten-containing grain.
If you live in Canada, Smirnoff Ice is manufactured using vodka instead of malt, making this a safe choice for a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Is Smirnoff Ice gluten-free?
Read on: Is malt gluten-free?
Is Smirnoff Seltzer gluten-free?
Smirnoff Seltzer is made with malt, which is a gluten ingredient. None of the Smirnoff Spiked Sparkling Seltzers are gluten-free and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
Is Smirnoff Ice Smash gluten-free?
Smirnoff Ice Smash is a malt beverage, which means it contains gluten. You will want to skip this option if you’re following a gluten-free diet.
Is Smirnoff Sourced gluten-free?
Smirnoff Sourced is a malt beverage mixed with juice. It contains malt, which is a gluten ingredient. This product is not gluten-free and should be skipped on a gluten-free diet.
If you’ve been wondering if Smirnoff vodka and their other products are gluten-free, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’ve been looking for.
All the vodkas from Smirnoff are gluten-free, but you’ll want to steer clear of their ready-to-drink options as these all contain malt, a gluten ingredient.