Find out what Nutella is made of and if it is gluten-free. Plus find out if this chocolate hazelnut spread is dairy-free and some brands to shop for.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Nutella is a chocolate hazelnut spread that’s become a breakfast treat worldwide over the last 50 years. In more recent years, the manufacturers of Nutella have decided that this spread isn’t just for breakfast anymore.
They’ve launched on the go snack packs with crackers and pretzels, so you can take them with you on the road or to serve to kids.
Nutella has always held a special place in my heart. I remember getting jars of Nutella as a special treat when I was a kid and slathering it on toast until my sister and I got through the jar at lightning speed within just a few days. My mom was never happy there wasn’t much left for her once she got around to having even a bite.
On a gluten-free diet, even delicious foods need to be looked at with a careful eye. In this post, we’re going to dive into the world of Nutella and find out what it’s made of and if it’s gluten-free.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, discover if you can eat this chocolate hazelnut spread regularly or if you’ll want to go looking for another option to satisfy your chocolate craving.
I’ll also discuss how Nutella falls into a dairy-free diet, as I also eat dairy-free and want to be sure even folks like me can enjoy this yummy treat once in a while.
What is Nutella?
Nutella is a spreadable chocolate hazelnut spread that can be used in a variety of recipes for breakfast, snacks, and desserts.
This super sweet spread is often used as a sweet replacement for peanut butter or other nut butters on toast, pancakes, or French toast. Others like to eat it just plain off a spoon (my sister does this), dipped with pretzels or crackers, and spread of banana sandwiches as snacks.
Nutella is a very versatile ingredient and a fun way to add some chocolate flavor to your favorite sweet recipes.
What is Nutella made of?
The packaging on Nutella products list the following ingredients in this chocolate hazelnut spread:
Sugar, Modified Palm Oil, Hazelnuts, Skim Milk Powder, Cocoa, Soy and/or Sunflower, Lecithin, Vanillin.
There is a note under the ingredients list: Contains: Hazelnuts, milk, soy.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in processed foods in obvious ways, like under the names of wheat or wheat flour. Sometimes gluten can be found in less obvious ways too, in the form of flavorings, binders, and thickeners. That’s why it’s so important to learn how to read ingredients lists and know the names of gluten so you can avoid them.
Is Nutella gluten-free?
According to the Nutella website:
“Nutella spread is gluten free whereas our Nutella to Go contains breadsticks or pretzels and is not gluten free”
While Nutella is considered gluten-free and even has a gluten-free label on the packaging, be sure that if you’re sharing a jar of Nutella with others, that there isn’t any double dipping of knives that go onto gluten-free bread or crackers and bread or crackers with gluten.
The spread may be gluten-free, but what you do with it can affect the possibility for cross contamination.
Is Nutella dairy-free?
Nutella contains skim milk powder and there is a note under the ingredients list saying it contains milk. This product is not dairy-free or safe for a dairy-free diet.
There are other brands of chocolate hazelnut spread that are dairy-free that you may want to check out instead of this specific brand which I’ll list farther down in this post.
You can even make your own dairy-free nutella at home if you have a bit of time and a food processor. It is surprisingly easy to make and so so yummy!
What is Nutella used for?
There are so many ways to enjoy Nutella chocolate hazelnut spread. While I don’t eat this brand anymore, because it has dairy, here are just a few ways I’ve heard folks love to eat it.
- On a spoon by itself
- On gluten-free waffles
- On gluten-free pancakes
- On French toast
- On toast
- In place of peanut butter for PB&J sandwiches
- On sandwiches
- In chia pudding
- In oatmeal or breakfast whole grain bowls
- Banana nutella sandwiches
- Stirred into dairy-free hot chocolate
- Melted and served on dairy-free ice cream
Gluten and dairy-free chocolate hazelnut brands
If you love Nutella, but realize you can’t enjoy it because of the dairy included in this brand, don’t worry – you won’t have to live without chocolate hazelnut spread forever!
Try one of these brands for a gluten and dairy-free chocolate hazelnut spread:
You can find these brands locally or online through Amazon or Thrive Market.
If you enjoy Nutella chocolate hazelnut spread, I hope that this post has answered the questions you have about whether or not to continue eating it on a gluten-free diet.
If you follow a dairy-free diet in addition to avoiding gluten, look for an alternative brand to get your chocolate hazelnut craving met.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply