Find out if hummus is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan, plus find out if your favorite brands are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you enjoy hummus as a snack or appetizer, you know it’s a super versatile and healthy dip. It’s a wonderful addition to any lunchbox or packed snack for hiking or camping, and enjoyable for kids and adults alike.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that every food needs to be looked at with a critical eye. Is the food gluten-free? Does it have a potential for cross contamination?
In this post, we’re focusing on hummus and all that goes with it – what it is, what it’s made of, if the ingredients are gluten-free, and if you can trust store-bought hummus if you’re following a gluten-free diet.
Find out if hummus is gluten-free in this post, and get a quick and easy gluten-free hummus recipe that only takes 5 minutes!
What is hummus?
Hummus is a dip that originated in the Middle East and has become quite popular over the past decade. It’s great with vegetables, pita chips or crackers, or even tortilla chips. It can be enjoyed as a snack, an appetizer, or added to a charcuterie board.
What is hummus made of?
Hummus made from chickpeas, tahini (sesame seed paste), lemon, garlic, and spices. You can also find flavored hummus, like roasted red peppers, olive, beet, roasted garlic, and all kinds of other flavors. I’ve even seen chocolate hummus to be used as a dessert dip!
Are chickpeas gluten free?
Chickpeas are naturally gluten-free, and are safe for a gluten-free diet. For the most part, you won’t have to worry much about cross contamination in either dried or canned chickpeas.
Chickpeas and garbanzo beans are synonymous, so if you want to make your own hummus at home, know that you can look for canned or dried beans with either of these names on the package.
Does tahini have gluten?
Tahini is a paste that is made from ground roasted sesame seeds and salt. It offers a creamy consistency full of healthy fats and a nutty flavor that is perfect for hummus.
While sesame seeds are gluten-free naturally, tahini may come into contact with gluten-containing ingredients while being manufactured.
It’s best to look for a package with a gluten-free label if you plan to make your own hummus at home.
Does hummus have gluten?
Most hummus is gluten-free, however you may come across brands that add gluten-containing ingredients to their hummus in the form of flavoring. You might also find brands that make hummus that will come into contact with gluten while being manufactured.
Read ingredients lists and look for a gluten-free label when buying hummus at the store. If you make your own hummus at home, you can easily make sure that it is gluten-free by using only gluten-free ingredients.
Does hummus have dairy?
Hummus contains no animal milk or animal milk products, making it safe for a dairy-free diet.
You may find some restaurants or recipes that have feta cheese served with or alongside hummus, in which case you’d want to avoid if you’re trying to keep dairy out of your diet.
Is hummus vegan?
Hummus is a vegan food as it doesn’t contain any animal milk or byproducts. If you follow a vegan diet, know that hummus is a great choice for adding protein and healthy fat to your diet.
If you find hummus served with feta cheese, you’ll want to steer clear as cheese is not vegan.
Is store-bought hummus gluten free?
Most store-bought hummus is gluten-free, however it’s always best to look at the packaging for the ingredients list. In the ingredients list, you can look for any obvious or hidden signs of gluten in the product.
It’s best to look for a hummus option with a gluten-free label, as this will indicate less than 20ppm of gluten in the product, as required by the FDA.
What to eat with hummus
Hummus is a versatile dip that’s great for snacking, appetizers, and using as a spread. Here are some of my favorite ways to use hummus.
- On a gluten and dairy-free charcuterie board
- With falafel
- With fresh veggie strips
- With gluten-free crackers
- As a spread of gluten-free sandwiches
- With gluten-free pretzels
- As a sauce for pasta or salad
- Added to a salad dressing
- On gluten-free toast with sliced cucumbers or tomatoes
- With apple slices
- Add them to a holiday appetizer plate for your gluten-free Thanksgiving or Christmas spread
Read on: Is falafel gluten-free?
Are my favorite brands of hummus gluten-free?
If you have a favorite brand of hummus, you might be wondering if it’s safe for your gluten-free diet. Check out these popular brands and their stance on gluten in their products.
Is Sabra hummus gluten-free?
According to the Sabra website, all their hummus dips are gluten-free and vegetarian.
Is Boar’s head hummus gluten-free?
The Boar’s Head website shares that their hummus, dips and spreads are gluten-free.
Is Cedar’s hommus gluten-free?
Looking through the Cedar’s website, I was able to confirm that all flavors of their hommus are certified gluten-free.
Is Kirkland Signature hummus gluten-free?
Kirkland Signature organic hummus has a gluten-free label on their packaging, meaning it is safe for a gluten-free diet and contains less than 20ppm of gluten in the product.
Is Trader Joe’s hummus gluten-free?
While Trader Joe’s hummus doesn’t have a gluten-free label and it isn’t on their Gluten-free Dietary list, there are no gluten-containing ingredients in their hummus either. This means they haven’t tested it for gluten or it may contain gluten from processing.
Use your best judgement and know your own body’s sensitivity level before buying a packaged food without a gluten-free label.
If you love hummus, I hope that this post has eased your mind about enjoying this delicious dip. Enjoy it with your favorite veggies, gluten-free crackers, or get creative with other ways to use it!