Find out if Frangelico is gluten-free, what other brands of hazelnut liqueur are gluten-free, and answer some common about this delicious drink.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love the flavor of Frangelico, you might be wondering if this hazelnut liqueur is gluten-free. This liqueur is popular in cocktails to provide a sweet and nutty flavor that’s delicious in coffee, cocktails, and even on its own.
Some types of alcohol contain gluten, so you’ll want to be sure that each and every time you buy a brand or type of alcohol, that it’s safe for you and your diet.
This post is all about Frangelico, and we’re going to dive into the details of this drink, and answer the question “is Frangelico gluten-free?”
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
In this post, we’re going to find out what this famous hazelnut liqueur is made of, if it’s gluten-free, what brands are gluten-free, and answer some common questions related to this popular drink.
What is Frangelico?
Frangelico is a brand name hazelnut flavored liqueur that is made in Italy. It is an infusion of hazelnuts grown in the northwest region of Piedmont in Italy into alcohol that results in a sweet nutty drink that’s great on its own, mixed into cocktails or coffee.
What is Frangelico made of?
According to Wine Searcher, Frangelico is made from hazelnuts, alcohol, water, and sugar, plus extracts and distillates from vanilla, coffee, cocoa seeds and other flavorings that are kept a secret.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in alcohol in barley malt, flavorings, or colorings, which is why we have to be careful about which drinks we choose.
Is Frangelico gluten-free?
Yes, Frangelico, the hazelnut flavored liqueur, is gluten-free and is safe for a gluten-free diet. Though there is no statement officially from their website, it is generally considered to be gluten-free.
This site confirms that Frangelico is “Free From Gluten, Free From Wheat,” so you can feel comfortable enjoying this Italian made classic liqueur.
Read on: Which liqueurs are gluten-free?
What brands of Frangelico are gluten-free?
While Frangelico is a brand of its own and not a specific type of drink, you can find other hazelnut liqueurs that are similar to Frangelico.
While it’s not always clear what the ingredients are in liqueurs as manufacturers aren’t required to list them, these are some brands you can look for that have a clear gluten-free statement and are safe for your gluten-free diet.
- Hiram Walker Liqueur
- Kahlua Hazelnut Liqueur
Unfortunately, it is difficult to find detailed information about the presence of gluten in liqueurs, as manufacturers are not required to share their recipes or ingredients.
These are more hazelnut flavored liqueur brands, however I was not able to find out any gluten information about them.
- Boulaine Hazelnut Liqueur
- Briottet Hazelnut Liqueur
- Davinia Hazelnut Liqueur
- Dek Hazelnut Liqueur
- Disaronno Hazelnut Liqueur
- Francesca Hazelnut Liqueur
- Fratello Hazelnut Liqueur
- Gabriel Boudier Hazelnut Liqueur
- Giffard Hazelnut Liqueur
- Hunter Distillery Hazelnut Liqueur
- HW Hazelnut Liqueur
- Maison Hazelnut Liqueur
- Vita Divine Hazelnut
- Vok Hazelnut Liqueur
Is Frangelico dairy-free?
Frangelico contains no dairy ingredients, making it safe for a dairy-free diet. Be sure whatever other cocktail ingredients you’re adding with Frangelico are also dairy-free to ensure you’re sticking with your dairy-free diet.
Is Frangelico the same as amaretto?
Frangelico is often mistaken for being the same as amaretto, however these two liqueurs are made with different ingredients and have distinctly different flavors.
Frangelico is made with hazelnuts, giving this liqueur its signature sweet hazelnut flavor. Amaretto is made from apricot kernels, peach stones, or almonds and has a specific almond flavor in its liqueur. Even though it tastes like almonds, almonds may not be used in the recipe.
If you were making a cocktail, you might feel okay substituting one of these ingredients for the other if you didn’t have what you need on hand. They both are sweet and nutty, with a rich and complex flavor.
Read on: Is amaretto gluten-free?
Can you drink Frangelico straight?
Frangelico is a sweet liqueur and can be enjoyed in cocktails, coffee, or even on the rocks straight. Depending on how much you like the flavor of this liqueur on its own, you may or may not like to enjoy this drink straight with no other ingredients.
If you love Frangelico, you can feel safe about enjoying at least a few brands of this delicious liqueur on your gluten-free diet. Stick with some of these well-known brands to be sure you don’t come across gluten accidentally while enjoying a cocktail.