Find out what cheddar cheese is made from, used for, and if this ingredient is safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re just getting started with a gluten-free diet, you may be looking around at all your favorite foods and ingredients wondering what is safe for you to keep eating and what you’ll want to start finding replacements for.
Cheddar cheese is a popular cheese that’s used in many different countries and cuisines, America included. Cheddar cheese can be enjoyed in slices, in sauces, added to soups, breaded and fried, topped on sandwiches, bagels, or pizzas.
If you enjoy any of these foods, you’re very likely no stranger to cheddar cheese. If you’re looking to discover which cheeses are safe for your gluten-free diet, you’re in the right place. We’re deep diving into the topic of cheddar cheese and getting you the answers you need to find out if you can keep piling this ingredient on all your favorite dishes.
In this post, we’ll talk about what cheddar cheese is, what it’s made of, if most cheese is gluten-free, and of course answer whether or not cheddar cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet.
We’ll wrap the post up with a few things you’ll want to know about where to watch for gluten when it comes to cheddar cheese so you’re always informed as to when to enjoy it and when to steer clear of it.
Let’s talk cheddar!
What is cheddar cheese?
Cheddar cheese is a type of cheese that’s sharp in flavor, off white to orange in color, and extremely popular in American and European cooking.
Cheddar cheese can be used in dishes with pasta (think mac and cheese), on top of many Mexican inspired dishes like tacos or enchiladas, on charcuterie boards with other meats and cheeses, and popular on sandwiches, baked potatoes, and cheese sauces.
What is cheese made of?
Most cheese is made of milk, cultures, rennet (an enzyme), and salt, regardless of whether you buy it at a grocery store or make your own cheese at home.
Cheese can be made using any type of animal milk, including cow’s milk, goat milk, sheep milk, yak milk, and even water buffalo milk. Yes, that’s really a thing.
The most common cheese you’ll find at a grocery store or at restaurants is made from cow’s milk.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Read on: What is Gluten in Food? The Basics of a Gluten-free Diet
Is cheese gluten-free?
Most cheese is naturally gluten-free, as milk, cultures, rennet, and salt are all gluten-free.
There are some cheeses that may have gluten added to them, especially if they are low salt or fat free cheese. Others have gluten added to them as a stabilizer or preservative. You can find out if the cheese you’re buying contains gluten by looking at ingredients lists.
Read on: 25 Gluten and dairy-free mac and cheese recipes
Read on: Is cheese gluten-free?
Read on: Is cottage cheese gluten-free?
Read on: Is blue cheese gluten-free?
Is cheddar cheese gluten-free?
Cheddar cheese is almost always gluten-free, because it isn’t made with any wheat products and no gluten is added to it during processing. The things you’ll want to think about before eating cheddar cheese is what you eat it with or nearby.
For example, a cheese plate may contain crackers with gluten and cross contamination risk may be high. Or if cheddar cheese is used in or on a dish with other gluten ingredients, like pasta or bread, then cheddar cheese will likely have at least trace levels of gluten from cross contamination.
Is cheddar cheese dairy-free?
Cheddar cheese is not dairy-free as it is made with cow’s milk. A dairy product is anything that comes from or is made from animal milk.
Cheddar cheese is always a dairy product unless it is a dairy-free brand and the ingredients use plant-based milk and ingredients, like soy milk, rice milk, or other dairy alternatives.
Read on: Gluten-free dairy-free snack board
Is cheddar cheese always gluten-free?
Cheddar cheese on its own is likely to always be gluten-free. However, there are things you’ll want to consider before using that as a blanket statement.
For example, cheddar cheese itself may be gluten-free, but the things that people use cheddar cheese on or in aren’t always. Pasta, pizza, bread, breadsticks, sandwiches, potato chips, nachos… these foods aren’t always gluten-free.
As an ingredient on its own, you can safely enjoy cheddar cheese on a gluten-free diet, but if it’s served alongside or in a dish with other ingredients, you’ll want to be sure that those are also gluten-free if you’re trying to keep up with avoiding gluten.
Trace amounts of gluten can come into contact with the cheese and depending on your level of sensitivity to gluten, you may or may not get sick from that cross contact.
Read on: Is Velveeta gluten-free?
Read on: Is blue cheese gluten-free?
Read on: Are Cheetos gluten-free? Are Doritos gluten-free?
If you love cheddar cheese and have been wondering how it will fit into your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has given you the information you’ve been looking for.
Cheddar cheese is almost always gluten-free, but you’ll want to be aware of what it’s served with and what other ingredients are used in a dish if you plan to enjoy it on your gluten-free diet.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply