Find out what Velveeta is made from, used for, and if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus all the gluten-free products from Velveeta.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you grew up eating Velveeta cheese like me and so many of my friends, you may have fond memories or the rich, creamy cheese sauce that slides of macaroni noodles like no other cheese sauce out there.
The taste of Velveeta is unmistakable, because of its richness and overly cheesy flavor. While it’s definitely not a health food and is the epitome of processed food, so many folks wonder if this cheese is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Even just once in a while for a trip down memory lane, it would be nice to know if you can trust this brand as a gluten-free option. Whether you have memories of it as a kid or like to cook with it now, this post is all about that rich, creamy, cheesy sauce.
In this post, we’re going to dive into Velveeta, find out what this food is made of, if it’s gluten-free, if it’s dairy-free, and get a full list of the varieties of Velveeta that are okay for your gluten-free diet.
What is Velveeta?
Velveeta is a processed cheese that is made by Kraft Foods. It’s considered a “pasteurized prepared cheese product,” and not considered to be real cheese.
It is a smoother consistency than real cheese, making it easy to melt and it makes for extra creamy cheese sauces for macaroni and cheese, or queso dips.
What is Velveeta used for?
Many people use Velveeta in macaroni and cheese, cheese dips, or on sandwiches, like grilled cheese or tuna melts.
Read on: 25 Gluten and dairy-free mac and cheese recipes
Velveeta cheese ingredients
According to the Kraft website, Velveeta original cheese is made with the following ingredients:
Skim milk, milk, canola oil, milk protein concentrate, sodium phosphate, contains less than 2% of modified food starch, whey protein concentrate, maltodextrin, whey, salt, calcium phosphate, lactic acid, sorbic acid as a preservative, milkfat, sodium alginate, sodium citrate, enzymes, apocarotenal and annatto (color), cheese culture, vitamin A palmitate.
Read on: Is modified food starch gluten-free?
Is cheese gluten-free?
Most cheese is naturally gluten-free, as milk, cultures, rennet, and salt are all gluten-free.
There are some cheeses that may have gluten added to them, especially if they are low salt or fat free cheese. Others have gluten added to them as a stabilizer or preservative. You can find out if the cheese you’re buying contains gluten by looking at ingredients lists.
Read on: Is cheese gluten-free?
Is Velveeta gluten-free?
Velveeta is a brand under the Kraft company. Kraft is well known for disclosing all the gluten ingredients in their products. As per their website, Velveeta contains no gluten-containing ingredients.
Velveeta cheese is generally considered gluten-free among the larger gluten-free community and even celiacs agree, even without a specific gluten-free label.
Since there is no gluten-free label on the product, it’s possible that there is a potential for gluten cross contamination.
Is Velveeta dairy-free?
Velveeta contains a variety of different milk sources in its products, making it not dairy-free or safe for a dairy-free diet.
There are other dairy-free cheese brands that you may want to consider using, like Daiya, Miyoko’s, and Violife.
Are all Velveeta products gluten-free?
The “cheese sauce” varieties of Velveeta contain no gluten-containing ingredients. Though these products don’t have a gluten-free label, they are considered gluten-free from the gluten-free and celiac community.
The products that contain other ingredients do contain gluten. These include their shells and cheese, cheesy mashed potatoes, skillets, cheesy bowls, and rotini and cheese lines.
Try one of these gluten-free Velveeta varieties:
- Original Cheese Sauce Pouch
- Jalapeno Cheese Sauce Pouch
- Slices Jalapeno Cheese
- Slices Queso Blanco
- Slices Sharp Cheddar Cheese
- Slices Original Cheese
- Slices 3 Cheese with Cheddar, Colby & Asiago
- Shreds Mexican Style Shredded Cheese
- Shreds Original Shredded Cheese
- Shreds Cheddar Shredded Cheese
- Shreds Mozzarella Shredded Cheese
- Jalapeno Cheese Block
- Queso Blanco Cheese Block
- 2% Milk Reduced Fat Cheese 25% Less Fat Block
- Original Cheese Block
- Sharp Cheddar Block
- Fresh Packs Original
Read on: Is cheddar cheese gluten-free?
If you enjoy Velveeta cheese and have been wondering if it will fit into your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has given you the information you need to make an informed decision for you and your body.
Velveeta cheese sauce, shreds, slices, and blocks are gluten-free, but not their other “meal” products.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply