Find out if Takis, the popular spicy rolled tortilla chips, are safe for a gluten-free diet, and if tortilla chips are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you love to snack on Takis, the deliciously spicy rolled tortilla chips? This snack food is a great snack for folks who love some heat. With five different flavors, Takis are a popular snack for hanging out with friends, snacking at home, and serving at parties.
If you follow a gluten-free diet or are just getting started with one, you may be wondering if these chips are safe to continue enjoying.
Find out in this post what Takis are and what the main ingredients are. Plus discover if Takis are gluten-free, if corn tortillas are gluten-free, and if most tortilla chips are safe for a gluten-free diet.
If you love Takis, you’ll want to read this post carefully if you are also avoiding gluten!
What are Takis?
Takis are a brand of rolled corn tortilla chips that come in a variety of flavors like Fuego, Blue Heat, Crunchy Fajitas, Guacamole, and Nitro. These spicy tortilla chips are produced by the Barcel Group, who also has many different Takis spinoff products like Takis Sticks, Takis Crisps, Takis Waves, Takis Hot Nuts, and Takis POP!
What are the ingredients in Takis?
According to the packaging, the ingredients in Takis Fuego flavor of chips are:
“Corn masa flour (processed with lime), vegetable oil (palm and/or soybean and/or canola oil, and/or rice bran oil), seasoning [salt, maltodextrin, citric acid, sugar, monosodium glutamate, hydrolyzed soy protein, onion powder, yeast extract, artificial color (red 40 lake, yellow 6 lake), natural and artificial flavors, baking soda, soybean oil, chili pepper (Chile), disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, TBHQ (antioxidant)].
Read on: Is soybean oil gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Are corn tortillas gluten-free?
Yes, corn tortillas are made using corn, which is a naturally gluten-free food. Since corn itself doesn’t contain gluten, and most tortillas don’t contain other sources of gluten, corn tortillas are generally considered safe for a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Do corn tortillas have gluten?
Are tortilla chips gluten-free?
Since tortilla chips are made from corn tortillas, and these are most always gluten-free, we can confidently say that most tortilla chips are gluten-free.
Depending on what other flavorings are added or other ingredients are added to the chips, they may not be gluten-free. You’ll want to look for a gluten-free label, which indicates there is less than 20ppm of gluten in the product as required by the FDA, before purchasing.
Read on: Gluten-free tortilla chips
Are Takis gluten-free?
Takis are not gluten-free. A note on their packaging under the ingredients list indicates that these chips “may contain milk, egg, and wheat.” If you follow a gluten-free diet, these chips should be avoided.
Looking through the ingredients, we can also see that there is yeast extract which is an ingredient that is often derived from gluten, usually barley.
If you love Takis and are disappointed to find out that these are not gluten-free, you may opt to buy Doritos or another brand of tortilla chips. As with any processed food, it’s important to research the ingredients before buying and look for a gluten-free label to help you make a decision on whether it’s a good choice for you and your gluten-free diet.
Read on: Are Doritos gluten-free?
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply