Find out if mashed potatoes are gluten-free and which brands of instant mashed potatoes are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love mashed potatoes and have been getting started with a gluten-free diet recently, you may be wondering how this food will fit in with your diet.
Whether you enjoy mashed potatoes around the holidays, at family gatherings, or on any weeknight for dinner, this food is a pretty common side dish for many families.
Mashed potatoes are great for adding to many big dinners, like Thanksgiving or Christmas or as a side dish for meatloaf, pot roast, or chicken. What so many people love about mashed potatoes is how creative you can get with them.
Mashed potatoes can be flavored in a number of ways, with cheese, milk or cream, herbs, bacon, or anything else you can think of! You can even get creative with the type of potato you use to make mashed potatoes.
While russets are the most popular choice for mashed potatoes, you can use sweet potatoes, yellow potatoes, red potatoes, or any other variety you can get your hands on.
If you follow a gluten-free diet or are just getting started with one, you know that you need to look at every food and ingredient with a careful eye so you don’t wind up sick later.
So in this post we’re going to talk all about mashed potatoes and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
We’ll talk about what mashed potatoes are (I mean, you probably already know, but let’s cover our bases), what gluten is, and if potatoes are gluten-free.
We’ll answer that question “are mashed potatoes gluten-free?” and talk about when they definitely aren’t.
Finally we’ll talk about instant mashed potatoes, what brands you’ll want to choose for your gluten-free diet, and if your favorite brands make the gluten-free cut.
Let’s talk about this ultimate comfort food!
What are mashed potatoes?
Mashed potatoes are potatoes that have been cooked, usually boiled, then mashed up into a creamy consistency. Usually milk, cream or butter is added to make mashed potatoes creamy and flavorful.
Mashed potatoes can be made with any type of potato, but the most common potato to use for this dish are russet potatoes.
You can top mashed potatoes with butter, vegan butter, or a homemade gravy. Get my gluten-free gravy recipe (it’s also dairy-free!).
Get my dairy-free mashed potato recipe – that’s also gluten-free!
Are potatoes gluten-free?
Potatoes are naturally gluten-free and don’t contain gluten, as they are not a grain.
Better yet, potatoes are grown underground, making any possibility of cross contamination in the field practically impossible.
Read on: Are potatoes gluten-free?
Are mashed potatoes gluten-free?
Mashed potatoes when made at home will almost certainly be gluten-free.
Mashed potatoes that you buy at the grocery store, deli case, or restaurant may or may not be gluten-free.
The ingredients themselves might be gluten-free, but the possibilities of cross contamination with other gluten-ingredients are where you’ll want to be careful.
Pre-made mashed potatoes are up to you to decide if you’re willing to risk any potential cross contamination based on your level of sensitivity to gluten. Only you know your body, so use your best judgement.
When are mashed potatoes not gluten-free?
Mashed potatoes may not be gluten-free if they are prepared in an area that is also used to make foods with gluten in them.
For example, mashed potatoes that are made in the same proximity or using the same tools as cutting into a loaf of bread or making a pie crust with flour would potentially contain gluten.
Instant mashed potatoes or boxed mashed potatoes may also not be gluten-free.
Mashed potatoes from a deli counter or restaurant may or may not contain gluten, so you’ll want to use your best judgement when making a decision about whether these should be included in YOUR gluten-free diet.
Are instant potatoes gluten-free?
Many instant potatoes are safe for a gluten-free diet! Though the answer to this question will vary by brand and recipe, many brands have a gluten-free label on their packaging indicating they contain no more than 20ppm in their product.
Gluten-free Instant Potato Brands
There are a few brands of instant mashed potatoes that are labeled as gluten-free. Look for one of these next time you’re on the hunt for a quick and easy side dish:
- Betty Crocker Potato Buds Mashed Potatoes
- Bob’s Red Mill Potato Flakes
- Great Value Instant Mashed Potatoes
- Hungry Jack Instant Potatoes
- Idaho Spuds Instant Mashed Potatoes
- Idahoan Mashed Potatoes
Are instant potatoes dairy-free?
Most instant potatoes have some kind of dairy products, whether butter, milk, or cheese.
There are a few options you may find that will work for your gluten and dairy-free diet. Look for one of these next time you’re at the store:
- Bob’s Red Mill potato flakes
- Great Value Instant Mashed Potatoes
- Hungry Jack mashed potatoes
- Idahoan original mashed potatoes
Are boxed mashed potatoes gluten-free?
When we talk about boxed mashed potatoes, we’re talking about instant mashed potatoes.
Many boxed instant mashed potatoes are gluten-free and will have a gluten-free label on them. If you can’t find a gluten-free label, review ingredients lists or look for a different brand.
Are Bob Evans mashed potatoes gluten-free?
According to the Bob Evans website, I was able to find that this product is labeled as gluten-free.
You can eat these if you’re avoiding gluten, but they do contain dairy, so keep that in mind if you’re also dairy-free.
Are Idahoan mashed potatoes gluten-free?
According to the Idahoan mashed potatoes website, all of their products are gluten-free.
Many of these products do contain dairy, so look for their Idahoan original mashed potatoes if you’re looking for a dairy-free instant potato option.
Are Great Value instant mashed potatoes gluten-free?
According to their product page, Great Value mashed potatoes are naturally gluten-free and contain no gluten ingredients in their ingredients list. You can find these at your local Walmart store.
Are Hungry Jack mashed potatoes gluten-free?
The boxes of Hungry Jack mashed potatoes have a gluten-free label on the front indicating that there is less than 20ppm of gluten in this product.
You can feel good about this product if you’re on a gluten-free diet. These are also dairy-free, so this is a good option if you’re also following a dairy-free diet.
If you love mashed potatoes and have been wondering if you can still enjoy a big serving of this yummy side dish at the holidays or with your favorite gluten-free meatloaf recipe, I hope this post has given you the information you need.
Homemade mashed potatoes will likely always be gluten-free, while instant mashed potatoes need to be looked at more carefully.
That said, many instant mashed potato brands label their products as gluten-free, and there are a number of great options to choose from.