Find out if eggs are gluten-free, the safe egg dishes you can enjoy on a gluten-free diet, and those you’ll want to avoid.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you enjoy eating eggs for breakfast? If you’re new to a gluten-free diet, you know that every ingredient needs to be looked at with a careful eye.
Eggs are no different, which is why we’re going to talk about how they fit into a gluten-free diet and if they are safe to enjoy regularly when you’re avoiding gluten.
Eggs are a great source of protein and fat, and vitamins. They are an incredibly versatile ingredient and can be used in a variety of different recipes, and used in baking, enjoying plain, or added to casseroles. Eggs are great for meal prepping to get ahead as they keep well in the fridge or stored in the freezer for later.
Let’s discuss what gluten is, if eggs contain gluten, and when you need to be aware of gluten coming into contact with eggs on your gluten-free diet.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Are eggs gluten-free? Do eggs contain gluten?
Eggs are an animal product and not a grain. They do not contain gluten naturally and are safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
Read on: What foods are naturally gluten and dairy-free?
Read on: Is egg drop soup gluten-free?
Can you eat eggs if you follow a gluten-free diet?
Eggs are considered safe for a gluten-free diet, as they are naturally gluten-free and do not come from gluten-containing grains.
Eggs are such a great choice for breakfast, I added them as my number one on my gluten and dairy-free breakfast food list.
Read on: Ultimate Gluten and Dairy-free Breakfast Guide
Eggs and Gluten
The times you will need to be aware of gluten in eggs are in dishes that are not simply made plain eggs, like scrambled, hard boiled, or fried eggs.
Some egg dishes that may contain gluten are those where there is a possibility of cross contamination or when a recipe calls for a gluten-containing ingredient, like bread or a flour mixed in with a baking mix of sauce.
Be aware of recipes with sauces or those with a crust, like quiche or recipes served with breads, like english muffins or breakfast sandwiches.
If you’re ordering from a restaurant, you’ll want to be aware of cross contamination from the cooking surfaces and surfaces. Ask the server how and where eggs are prepared in the kitchen before ordering, so you don’t become exposed to gluten by accident if you are extremely sensitive to gluten.
Buying premade egg products may also contain gluten. For example, frozen breakfast foods with eggs may contain gluten from cross contamination from the manufacturing process and facility.
Gluten-free egg options
There are many gluten-free egg dishes that you can safely enjoy on a gluten-free diet. Recipes for simply prepared eggs that call for only eggs, salt, and pepper will always be gluten-free.
These types of egg dishes are gluten-free:
- Scrambled eggs
- Hard or soft boiled eggs
- Fried eggs
- Some breakfast casseroles
- Deviled eggs
Read on: 25 dairy and gluten-free breakfast casserole dishes
Egg dishes with gluten
There are also a number of egg dishes that are NOT going to be safe for a gluten-free diet. Watch out for these at restaurants or gatherings and be sure to avoid them unless they are specified to be gluten-free.
- Egg sandwiches on bread or english muffins
- Quiche with flour crust
- Egg casseroles with bread or flour as ingredients
- Sauces that contain flour
- Eggs benedict with english muffins
Are eggs dairy-free?
If you also follow a dairy-free diet in addition to avoiding gluten, you’ll be pleased to know that eggs are also dairy-free. Many people think that since eggs are sold in the cold area of the grocery store that they are a dairy product, however these are not made from milk, so they aren’t considered dairy.
Read on: Are eggs dairy?
If you’ve been wondering if eggs contain gluten, you can feel safe about including these in your gluten-free diet. Eggs when prepared simply with no other gluten containing ingredients will always be gluten-free.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply