Find out if Svedka vodka is gluten-free, what it’s made from, and which of their products are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a fan of vodka drinks and have found yourself wondering what brands are safe to enjoy, you may have wondered about Svedka vodka.
This Swedish produced vodka comes in original, flavors, and ready to drink cans. With their beautiful colorful bottles, it’s hard to miss this vodka when perusing the liquor store.
Since being on a gluten-free diet (or getting started with one) means reviewing each and every food and drink that goes into your body with a careful eye, we’re going to talk about this specific brand of vodka and find out if it’s safe to enjoy.
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
Let’s talk Svedka!
What is Svedka?
Svedka is a brand of vodka that is made in Sweden that has been around for about 20 years. It is said to have a clear and clean flavor, meaning it’s great for mixed drinks because it provides a neutral backdrop.
Svedka is said to distill their vodka five times before bottling, which seems like a lot but is surprisingly fewer than some other vodka brands. That said, this popular brand can be found in many bars and restaurants, on liquor store shelves, and makes a good option for the home bar.
What is vodka made from?
Vodka can be made from many different ingredients, including cereal grains, sugar beet molasses, and potatoes. Most of the vodka we are familiar with and is made today is made using potatoes. (Source)
According to Difford’s Guide for Discerning Drinkers, the ingredients that are used to make vodka can create different nuanced flavors in the vodka itself.
For example, vodka made from wheat may have a subtle anise seed, pepper, and lemon zest flavor. Vodka made from potatoes may have a creamy texture and vegetable notes. Tito’s vodka is made from winter wheat.
Is vodka gluten-free?
Even though vodka can be made with wheat, it doesn’t mean that this liquor contains gluten. It may surprise you, but it’s well accepted that any gluten proteins that are found in the wheat are completely removed from the final product during the distillation process.
The drinks you’ll want to be careful about are those that aren’t the pure distilled vodkas and liquors. Any vodka that has been flavored after distillation may contain gluten from the added flavorings.
It’s always your best bet to choose pure vodka over flavored varieties unless the brand gives a clear indication that their product is in fact gluten-free and they have confirmed this fact.
Read on: Gluten-free vodka
Is Svedka vodka gluten-free?
Svedka is considered to be a gluten-free liquor. Although it is made with wheat, any gluten is removed during the distillation process. Their original vodka is considered gluten-free.
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, Svedka original vodka can be enjoyed in your favorite cocktails and mixed drinks without concern.
Are Svedka flavored vodkas gluten-free?
Since alcohol manufacturers are not required to share the ingredients in their products, there’s no real way to know if their flavored vodkas are gluten-free.
Svedka does not make any gluten-free statements about their products, so it’s a good idea to avoid their flavored vodkas if you’re trying to stick with a gluten-free diet just to be safe.
Are Svedka ready to drink cocktails gluten-free?
Svedka offers flavored vodka soda in ready to drink cans that are available at many liquor stores and retailers. According to the packaging, these are made with “vodka with juice, natural flavors and sparkling water.”
Without knowing what the “natural flavors” are in this product, it’s probably a good idea to avoid these on a gluten-free diet. If you do decide to try them, know that natural flavors may or may not be a hidden name for gluten. Enjoy with caution if you do decide to drink this.
If you enjoy Svedka brand vodka and their vodka sodas, I hope this information has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for to stick with your gluten-free diet.
Remember that all pure distilled vodka is gluten-free, but when flavors and extra ingredients are added, that’s when you’ll want to be careful with what you add to your diet.