Find out if sesame oil is gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet, what it’s made of, the different types, and what brands to look for at the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you have seen recipes that call for sesame oil, you may have been wondering if this ingredient is safe for your gluten-free diet. While there are many different types of cooking oils, sesame oil is unique in that it comes in a few different forms that serve very different purposes in cooking.
We’ll talk more about what’s great about sesame oil, but to make sure that you’re sticking with your gluten-free diet, I thought I’d answer this popular question of “is sesame oil gluten-free?”
In this post, we’re going to talk all about sesame oil, what it’s made of, used for, the different types of sesame oil you can buy, and go over a few brands you can pick up from the store or online to use in a variety of ways in your cooking.
What is sesame oil made of?
Sesame oil is made of raw sesame seeds that have been pressed to extract the oil from the seeds. It can be used in cooking and baking, and has a high smoke point, so you can use it for high-heat cooking.
Toasted sesame oil is made from toasted sesame seeds. The seeds are then pressed to extract the oil from the sesame seeds.
Though raw sesame seeds and toasted sesame seeds may seem similar enough of ingredients, the flavor difference between these two types of oils is incredible. Plain sesame oil is neutral-tasting, whereas toasted sesame oil has a strong nutty flavor that lends itself to only using a small amount in most recipes.
What is sesame oil used for?
Sesame oil works well as a neutral all-purpose oil. You can use it for frying, roasting, or stir-frying and sauteing meat and vegetables.
Toasted sesame oil can be used for adding flavor to stir-fry dishes, noodles, or vegetables. It’s best added at the end of the cooking process, as a condiment. It can also be added to salad dressings or other homemade Asian-inspired sauces.
Is sesame oil gluten-free?
Sesame seeds do not contain gluten, therefore pure sesame oil is naturally gluten-free. Sesame oil should be safe for someone following a gluten-free diet assuming there is no cross contamination.
Types of sesame oil
There are two main types of sesame oil that you may be familiar with: plain sesame oil and toasted sesame oil.
Sesame oil that you find in larger containers at grocery stores has a light color and neutral flavor. This type of oil has a high smoke point, making it good for high-heat cooking, frying, and baking.
You can use plain sesame oil in the same way you’d use any other neutral flavored oil, like vegetable oil, canola oil, and rapeseed oil.
Toasted sesame oil is darker brown in color and comes in smaller bottles. This type of sesame oil is full of flavor and has a lower smoke point. It adds tons of nuttiness as a finishing touch to cooked vegetables, stir-fries, or other Asian-inspired dishes.
A little goes a long way with this ingredient, and it can add some great flavor to salad dressings or other sauces for meat or veggies.
Where to buy sesame oil
You can find the light-colored neutral sesame oil at most grocery stores with other cooking oils. It can also sometimes be found in the health food aisle of your grocery store.
Toasted sesame oil may be in the International foods aisle or with other cooking oils.
Brands of gluten-free sesame oil
Since sesame oil is naturally gluten-free, you have quite a few options when it comes to finding a brand that will work for your gluten-free diet. Look for one of these brands at the grocery store or online next time you’re looking for sesame oil.
There are plenty of other brands out there of sesame oil, but here is a short list of each type of sesame oil to give you a few ideas.
Pure sesame oil
Toasted sesame oil, also known as “dark” or “black” sesame oil
Are my favorite brands of sesame oil gluten-free?
If you already have a favorite brand of sesame oil and you’re wondering how it works in with your gluten-free diet, find out the answers below.
Is Dynasty sesame oil gluten free?
This oil contains only sesame seed oil, meaning there are no gluten-containing ingredients in this product.
Is Kadoya sesame oil gluten free?
This brand of sesame oil contains sesame seeds, a gluten-free ingredient, making this safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is Kikkoman sesame oil gluten free?
According to the Kikkoman website, this brand of toasted sesame oil is certified gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is Lee Kim Kee sesame oil gluten free?
According to the Lee Kim Kee website, this brand of sesame oil is gluten-free.
Is Imperial Dragon sesame oil gluten free?
This brand of sesame oil contains only sesame seed oil, meaning there are no gluten-containing ingredients in this product and is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is Trader Joe’s sesame oil gluten free?
This brand of sesame oil contains sesame seed oil, a gluten-free ingredient, making this safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is Yeo’s sesame oil gluten free?
I was able to confirm from this website that Yeo’s sesame oil is gluten-free.
Whether you’re looking for a safe gluten-free cooking oil for frying, stir-frying, or sauteing, or looking to add a little extra flavor to some of your favorite dishes and salad dressings, I hope this post has given you all the information you’ve been looking for about sesame oil.
Most sesame oil is gluten-free and you can feel confident enjoying it on your gluten-free diet.