Find out if canola oil is gluten-free, what it’s made of, and what brands to shop for at the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Canola oil is a popular oil that’s considered “plant-based” and a “vegetable oil” as it’s made from canola plants.
While this oil is highly processed and made using chemicals and washing of the oil during manufacturing, it’s very common in a lot of recipes and can be found in many restaurants and other foods you can buy at the store.
If you love to cook and bake with canola oil, you may be wondering if this ingredient is gluten-free.
If you follow a gluten-free diet or are just starting out with one, you know that being diligent about each and every ingredient that goes into your body is important. You need to know what to look for when it comes to gluten hiding in your food.
In this post, we’re going to talk about canola oil, what it’s made of, used for, and when you know your canola oil is gluten-free. We’ll also go over some brands that are sold with only pure canola oil, so you can feel confident that the canola oil you’re buying is safe for your gluten-free diet.
A fun fact I learned about canola oil while I was reaching this post is that “canola” is a made up name – and a trademarked one at that!
Canola is a term that was made up as an abridged version of “Canada” and “oil.” Together, these come together to make “canola” oil, an oil sourced by canola plants that come from Canada.
Now let’s dive in to learn more about how canola oil fits into a gluten-free diet safely.
What is canola oil made of?
Canola oil is made of the extracted oil from canola seeds from the pods left on a canola plant after it has flowered. The term “canola” was trademarked in Canada in 1978 to call these plants used for canola oil.
This type of oil is considered a vegetable oil, because it is created from a plant. According to the Manitoba Canola Growers website, canola is not rapeseed, like you may find information about on other websites. It was selectively bred for certain traits beginning with rapeseed plants to create its own engineered plant.
This website states that “Canola was selected from rapeseed through the knowledge and ingenuity of these prairie plant scientists. Canola is NOT rapeseed. It may look the same but it’s nutritional makeup is totally different. Canola came about only after years of hard work, research and countless field tests of new plant varieties.”
What is canola oil used for?
Canola oil is used for cooking and baking. It can be used for a variety of cooking methods, like sauteing or grilling meat or vegetables, added to marinades or sauces, or used in baked goods to keep them moist.
Is canola oil gluten-free?
Many cooking oils are gluten-free naturally, including canola oil. Pure canola oil itself is naturally gluten-free, but you’ll want to be aware of how it is processed, and if you’re eating foods with canola oil as an ingredient, know that the other ingredients are also gluten-free.
For example, if you’re buying a salad dressing with canola oil, be sure the other ingredients in the salad dressing are also gluten-free.
Read on: Is sesame oil gluten-free?
Read on: Is olive oil gluten-free?
Read on: Is soybean oil gluten-free?
Read on: Is vegetable oil gluten-free?
Gluten and canola oil
The places you’ll want to be aware of as it relates to canola oil and gluten are in the manufacturing. The canola oil you buy should be pure canola oil, not one with a blend of oils.
Pure canola oil naturally contains no gluten, but if the manufacturer also processes other ingredients with gluten, there may be a chance for cross contamination.
Another thing you’ll want to be aware of with canola oil is if you’re ordering food from a restaurant with canola oil, are the other ingredients used in a fryer or the rest of the recipe gluten-free? Are the surrounding areas in the prep area kept free of other gluten-containing ingredients and allergens? What is the cleaning protocol to keep these ingredients separate?
These are all things to consider when you’re at restaurants and trying to stick with a gluten-free diet.
For the most part, canola oil is going to be safe for a gluten-free diet and you won’t need to worry too much about cross contamination. You’ll be able to use this in most of your recipes with no issues.
Brands of gluten-free pure canola oil
Since pure canola oil is naturally gluten-free, you have plenty of options for brands to choose from. Here are some canola oil brands you can look for at the store. Be sure to check ingredients lists to check there is only one ingredient: canola oil.
If you’ve been wondering if canola oil is safe for your gluten-free diet, you can feel good about using this ingredient knowing there is generally not any gluten. Look for canola oil with no additives and only one ingredient: canola oil.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply