Find out if Coors Light is safe for a gluten-free diet, if beer is gluten-free, and if Coors Pure is gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a fan of drinking light beers, you may be familiar with Coors Light. You may have even heard that light beers contain less or no gluten and have been considering adding this drink to your diet on warm days or while hanging out with friends.
Coors Light is a popular beer option, mainly marketed towards health conscious folks. If you’ve been wondering if Coors Light contains gluten, let’s get to the bottom of that in this post today.
Find out what Coors Light is, who makes it, and if it is gluten-free. We’ll also talk about how if Coors Pure, another light beer from Coors, is gluten-free.
This is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
What is Coors Light?
Coors Light is a light beer that has a lower calorie count than many traditional beers, and in particular Coors beer. This light lager beer has a 4.2% ABV and 102 calories per 12 ounce serving.
Coors Light is often marketed as a healthier alternative to some beers, because of the lower calorie count and ABV, plus only 5 carbs per serving.
Who makes Coors Light?
Coors Light is made by the Molson Coors Beverage Company, the manufacturers of beers in both the United States and Canada.
The Molson Coors Beverage Company also makes Blue Moon, Coors Banquet, Carling, Miller HIgh Life, Miller Lite, Milwaukee’s Best, as well as some other beers.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is beer gluten-free?
Most beer is not gluten-free as it contains barley malt. Since barley contains gluten, many beers, lagers, and ales all contain gluten.
That said, there are some brands that are gluten-free you can shop for if you’re trying to stick with a gluten-free diet. You can get a full list here: Gluten-free beer brands
Is Coors Light gluten-free?
Coors Light has been shown to have less than 20 ppm of gluten in a serving, however it is NOT considered gluten-free.
This is actually a somewhat controversial product among the gluten-free community, because this product is said to have a low gluten content, however since gluten testing doesn’t always work well on fermented products, it’s difficult to get a true reading.
That said, if you are Celiac or have a gluten intolerance, it’s best to know your level of sensitivity and your body to help you determine if you are willing to take a risk and get a reaction to this product. There are trace amounts of gluten in this product and it is not considered gluten-free by the manufacturer, so definitely use your best judgment.
For a short time, Coors offered a dedicated gluten-free beer called Coors Peak, which has now been discontinued. This beer has been replaced with Coors Pure, an organic light beer.
Is Coors Pure gluten-free?
According to Just-Drinks.com, Coors Pure has replaced their Coors Peak product within the past year. This beer is organic and considered a “light” beer, because it has less calories and a lower ABV than Coors Light (3.8% vs 4.2%).
Coors Pure contains barley, which means this beer is not gluten-free. Though it’s marketed as organic and as a light beer, this option does contain gluten and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
If you’ve been looking for a gluten-free beer, know that Coors Light isn’t going to be a good option for you. Find a list of gluten-free beer brands that will work for you in this post: Does beer have gluten?