Find out if Coca-Cola, or Coke, is gluten-free, what it’s made from, and which flavors are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you like to order a Coke from a restaurant or pick up this beverage for lunch sometimes, you know why this super sweet and spicy soda is so well known. It can be refreshing, especially on a hot day!
If you like to drink Coke in your favorite mixed drink, like a Jack and Coke or Coke and rum, this soda is likely in your fridge pretty regularly.
Coke is pervasive in the United States, and worldwide, as one of the most popular soda options ever. Coca-Cola can be found all over in grocery stores, vending machines, at sporting events, at gas stations and quick marts, and anywhere in between.
Coke has a reputation for being everywhere, but it also has some controversy. It’s full of high fructose corn syrup, carbonated water, natural flavors, and caffeine, so it’s not exactly a health drink. Folks who opt for a healthy diet either enjoy Coca-Cola sparingly or avoid it altogether.
If you are one of those folks who just can’t live without Coke and still want to stay with your gluten-free diet, this post is for you. We’re talking about how gluten-free diets and Coke can get along.
Find out in this post what Coke is, what it’s made from, and of course, if it’s gluten-free. We’ll also go over what the current flavors and varieties of Coke are right now, as well as answer some common questions about some of these varieties.
What is Coke?
Coke, or Coca-Cola, is a popular soft drink or soda in the United States and worldwide. It is a carbonated beverage with a cola flavor. It’s manufactured by the Coca-Cola Company and was introduced in 1886.
This drink is distributed in cans, bottles, and in a concentrated form for restaurants and other places with soda dispensers. This concentrated Coke is added to carbonated water to preserve the freshness of the drink and ensure carbonation isn’t lost during transport.
Coke is known for being sweet, somewhat spicy, and having caffeine. Over the years since it was first introduced, the Coca-Cola Company saw some opportunities for growth by adding variations on their original Coke beverage. The brand now regularly offers diet, zero sugar, caffeine-free, and flavored varieties of this soda.
Coke is one of the most popular beverage brands in the world and can be found throughout the world in people’s homes, at sporting events, in vending machines, restaurants, and grocery stores. The product may vary slightly region to region, as high fructose corn syrup isn’t legal in all countries. In this case, white sugar is used, as it is in Mexican Coke.
What is Coke made from?
The ingredients in Coke vary based on the flavor and variety you’re choosing. Since the most popular variety of Coke is their original flavor, let’s go over the ingredients in this, as well as a few of their other popular options.
These are the ingredients you can find on the back of the packaging of these Coca-Cola products.
Ingredients in original Coke
Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, caffeine.
Ingredients in Diet Coke
Carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate (to protect taste), natural flavors, citric acid, caffeine.
Ingredients in Coke Zero Sugar
Carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate (to protect taste), natural flavors, potassium citrate, acesulfame potassium, caffeine.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is soda gluten-free?
The most common brands and flavors of soda that you’re likely to find in stores and restaurants in the United States (and North America as a whole) are gluten-free. This is because the ingredients that are added to soda and soft drinks do not contain any ingredients from gluten-containing grains.
As indicated by Healthline, generic or store-brand varieties of popular sodas could potentially contain gluten as they use a different set of ingredients than the major soda manufacturers like Coca-Cola, Pepsi, and Dr Pepper.
Read on: Is soda gluten-free?
Read on: Is Pepsi gluten-free?
Is Coke gluten-free?
According to the Coca-Cola Company website, “The ingredients in Coca-Cola do not contain gluten. Ingredients containing gluten must be identified on the label, so you can check all our products at Coca-Cola brands section.”
If you follow a gluten-free diet, Coke is a safe soda option to drink.
What flavors does Coke come in?
Coca-Cola comes in a number of varieties and flavors. Here is the current lineup of their Coke products from the brand’s website.
- Caffeine Free Coca-Cola
- Coke Zero Sugar
- Caffeine Free Coke Zero Sugar
- Coca-Cola Cherry Vanilla Zero Sugar
- Coca-Cola Cherry Zero Sugar
- Coca-Cola Vanilla Zero Sugar
- Coca-Cola Cherry
- Coca-Cola Cherry Vanilla
- Coca-Cola George Peach
- Coca-Cola California Raspberry
- Coca-Cola with Coffee Mocha
- Coca-Cola with Coffee Vanilla
- Coca-Cola with Coffee Dark Blend
- Coca-Cola with Coffee Caramel
- Coca-Cola with Coffee Vanilla Zero Sugar
- Coca-Cola Starlight
Is Coke Zero gluten-free?
Coke Zero along with other Coca-Cola varieties are all considered gluten-free.
Is Diet Coke gluten-free?
If you are following a gluten-free diet, Diet Coke is a safe choice of soda along with other Coca-Cola soda varieties.
Read on: Is Diet Coke gluten-free?
Is Cherry Coke gluten-free?
Cherry Coke is considered gluten-free by the Coca-Cola brand, as there are no gluten ingredients listed on their products.
Is Vanilla Coke gluten-free?
Vanilla Coke does not contain gluten and can be enjoyed on a gluten-free diet.
If you enjoy drinking Coke or other Coca-Cola products, know that this brand of soda is indeed safe for your gluten-free diet. All Coke products are gluten-free, but it’s worth reviewing ingredients lists of other Coca-Cola Company products before purchasing them.