Find out what Diet Coke is made of, what varieties it comes in, and if this drink is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you are a fan of Diet Coke, you’re not alone. Shelves upon shelves are stocked at grocery stores worldwide with this sweet soda. It’s in restaurants, convenience stores, vending machines, movie theaters, and fast food places just about everywhere you look.
If you are just getting started with a gluten-free diet or are checking in to make sure you’re eating and drinking only things that work well for your body, you may have wondered if Diet Coke is safe for you.
Find out in this post what Diet Coke is, what varieties it comes in, the ingredients you’ll find in this drink, and if you can expect to be able to drink it without issue on a gluten-free diet.
If you’re looking for answers about Diet Coke and staying gluten-free, you’re in the right place!
What is Diet Coke?
Diet Coke is a brand name diet cola drink that’s manufactured by the Coca-Cola Company. This version of their popular soda is their sugar-free variety.
In place of sugar like regular Coke (Coca-Cola), Diet Coke uses artificial sweeteners. There is some controversy in the health world around this beverage as many artificial sweeteners can lead to more health issues than the benefit of avoiding sugar.
Diet Coke uses aspartame in their original and caffeine-free varieties and sucralose in their Diet Coke Sweetened with Splenda variety.
What varieties does Diet Coke come in?
Diet Coke comes in a few different varieties, catering to different markets. They have their original, a caffeine-free version, and a sugar substitute version.
- Diet Coke
- Caffeine Free Diet Coke
- Diet Coke Sweetened With Splenda
Ingredients in Diet Coke
According to the Diet Coke website, these are the ingredients you can expect to find in the original variety of Diet Coke:
“Carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate (to protect taste), natural flavors, citric acid, caffeine.”
The ingredients in Caffeine Free Diet Coke are:
“Carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate (to protect taste), natural flavors, citric acid.”
In Diet Coke Sweetened with Splenda, you’ll find these ingredients:
“Carbonated water, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, potassium benzoate and sodium photoate (to protect taste), sucralose, caffeine, acesulfame potassium, citric acid, tartaric acid.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten or other wheat derivatives are sometimes added to foods as a flavoring or binder.
Is Diet Coke gluten-free?
If you are following a gluten-free diet, Diet Coke is a safe choice of soda along with other Coca-Cola soda varieties.
This includes both the Caffeine Free Diet Coke and Diet Coke Sweetened with Splenda varieties.
Read on: Is Coke gluten-free?
If you’ve been wondering if Diet Coke is a safe drink to enjoy on a gluten-free diet, I hope this information has been helpful for you to get the answers you’ve been looking for.
f you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply