Find out what Pepsi is, what it’s made from, and if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus which flavors are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you enjoy Pepsi on a hot day or like to grab this sweet drink whenever you’re out at a restaurant, you may have wondered if this soda is safe for your gluten-free diet. If you’re just getting started with taking gluten out of your diet, you may have already found out that gluten can hide all over in our food and even drinks.
In this blog post, we’re going to learn a bit more about Pepsi. We’re going to talk about Pepsi and find out what it’s made from, and if this drink is considered safe for folks who are just starting out or sticking with a gluten-free diet.
If you love Pepsi, keep reading!
What is Pepsi?
Pepsi is a type of soda or soft drink that’s carbonated with a unique cola flavor. It was first created in 1893 as “Brad’s Drink,” later being renamed to Pepsi-Cola, and then again to Pepsi in the early 1960’s.
According to an article on The Street, Pepsi is a cola that has a citrus, lemony flavor that is sweet and strong initially. This brand also has a number of varieties and flavors, like Diet Pepsi, Pepsi Wild Cherry, and some zero sugar, real sugar, and caffeine free options.
The parent company of Pepsi, PepsiCo, also makes other well known sodas and drinks, like Gatorade, Tropicana, 7 Up, Kevita, Propel, Sobe, Sierra Mist, and Bubly.
This soda is well known to be served at many restaurants, fast food restaurants, and bottled at grocery stores and convenience stores all around the U.S. and worldwide.
What is Pepsi made from?
There are a number of different options from Pepsi, but the most popular is their original Pepsi Cola. Here is what the ingredients in their base recipe of Pepsi contains:
“Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, sugar, phosphoric acid, caffeine, citric acid, natural flavor.”
Other varieties of Pepsi may contain other ingredients, like sugar substitutes, additional flavorings, or no caffeine but this is the base recipe for most of Pepsi’s products.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is soda gluten-free?
The most common brands and flavors of soda that you’re likely to find in stores and restaurants in the United States (and North America as a whole) are gluten-free.
This is because the ingredients that are added to soda and soft drinks do not contain any ingredients from gluten-containing grains.
As indicated by Healthline, generic or store-brand varieties of popular sodas could potentially contain gluten as they use a different set of ingredients than the major soda manufacturers like Coca-Cola, Pepsi, and Dr Pepper.
Read on: Is soda gluten-free?
Is Pepsi gluten-free?
Yes! According to the Pepsi website, most of their products contain no gluten ingredients. Here are the words directly from their site:
“While our company does not currently make gluten-free label claims, with the exception of 1893 Original Cola none of the ingredients in our products are derived from grains or flours that have been linked to malabsorption syndrome associated with gluten sensitivity.”
This means that their 1893 varieties of Pepsi contain gluten, so you’ll want to avoid this option, but otherwise all other flavors and varieties of Pepsi are generally considered safe for a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Is Coke gluten-free?
What flavors of Pepsi are gluten-free?
Most of Pepsi’s flavors and varieties contain no gluten ingredients and can generally be safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet. Look for one of these flavors next time you’re shopping for soda and know that you’ll be okay to stick with your gluten-free diet with these options:
- Pepsi Zero Sugar
- Diet Pepsi
- Pepsi Mango
- Pepsi Zero Sugar Mango
- Pepsi Wild Cherry
- Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry
- Pepsi Zero Sugar Wild Cherry
- Pepsi Real Sugar
- Pepsi Caffeine Free
- Diet Pepsi Caffeine Free
If you enjoy a can of Pepsi every now and then, I hope this post has helped you determine that it’s a safe choice for your gluten-free diet. While this soda is loaded with sugar, it’s probably not the best idea to drink it regularly for the health of your overall body and teeth. But if it’s your favorite soda, there’s no reason to avoid it while living a gluten-free lifestyle.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply