Find out if almond flour is an ingredient that is safe for a gluten-free diet, what the difference is between almond flour and almond meal, and brands of gluten-free almond flour to buy at the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Almond flour is a popular ingredient that you can find in many baking and cooking recipes. You may be wondering if you follow a gluten-free diet if this ingredient is safe for you to continue enjoying and using in your favorite recipes. In this post, we’re going to cover the basics of almond flour and how it fits into a gluten-free diet.
We’ll discuss what almond flour is and what it’s made from, the difference between almond flour and almond meal, and answer the question “is almond flour gluten-free?” We’ll wrap up this post with a list of gluten-free almond flour brands and some recipes to try.
What is almond flour?
Almond flour is made with blanched almonds that have been ground into a fine flour. Almond flour is often used in baking for gluten-free recipes, as well as low carb and keto recipes.
Almond flour is a healthy flour to include in your diet, because it is full of vitamins and minerals that come from a natural source, as well as provide a great amount of protein and healthy fats in each serving.
Are almond flour and almond meal the same thing?
Almond flour and almond meal are not the same ingredient. Almond flour is blanched first, then the skins are removed before it is ground into a flour.
Almond meal is usually made without cooking or removing any of the skins. These almonds are raw before they are ground into a flour like consistency.
The result is that almond meal generally has a more brown color and slightly more fibrous texture than almond flour. Almond flour which is lighter in color and texture.
Are almonds gluten-free?
Almonds are naturally gluten-free as they don’t have any gluten-containing grains in them.
The only time you would need to be worried about almonds not being gluten-free are if they are flavored or seasoned, but this likely wouldn’t be the case in almond flour.
Almonds that are plain and bought raw or roasted, or in this case blanched, you can feel generally safe enjoying them without any issue on a gluten-free diet.
The one thing that you want to be aware of when it comes to almonds and a gluten-free diet will depend on your level of sensitivity to gluten. You may want to look for a product that is labeled as “gluten-free” to ensure there isn’t a risk of cross contamination during processing.
I’d also avoid buying almond flour from bulk bins if you are sensitive to trace amounts of gluten in your system. Bulk bins are a notorious place for cross-contamination with gluten, so in this case it’s best to buy packaged products that have a gluten-free label on the package to know for certain that it is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is almond flour gluten-free?
Almond flour is naturally gluten-free, and you can feel confident using this ingredient in your baking for all your gluten free recipes.
If you are extremely sensitive to gluten even with trace amounts, you may consider buying an almond flour that has a gluten-free label on the packaging to ensure that there has been no cross-contamination in the facility where the almond flour was processed.
Can I use almond flour in place of regular flour or gluten-free flour?
Almond flour differs from other gluten-free flours or wheat flour in that the texture is less absorbent than many grain based flours, because it is more moist than grain based flours.
Almond flour can be used in all kinds of baked goods, such cake, cookies, and even breads. However, the substitution of almond flour to wheat flour may not always be a one-to-one ratio.
Though the substitution of wheat flour or gluten-free flours will vary by recipe, you can be sure that you’ll need to use more almond flour in a recipe than you may have with a grain-based flour due to the higher moisture content.
How to know if your almond flour is gluten-free
If you are concerned about the almond flour that you buy being gluten free, the best way to be sure that the product you’re buying at the store is gluten-free is by looking for a gluten-free label on the packaging. A gluten-free label may just say “gluten-free” or it could be “certified gluten-free” by a third party company.
Either way, in order to have this label, the FDA requires that no packaged products can be sold with more than 20 PPM per ounce in the product. That means there are no trace amounts of gluten in the product.
If you buy an almond flour with a gluten-free label you can feel more confident knowing you won’t have a reaction to gluten from that product.
That said, it’s not always necessary to buy an almond flour with a gluten-free label for every person. Since almond flour is naturally gluten-free, you’ll generally not have a problem with this ingredient coming into contact with other gluten containing grains.
Just in case you are one of those people who need to avoid any trace amounts of gluten, looking for that label can be super helpful in your decision making process on which product to buy.
Where to buy almond flour
You can buy almond flour at many stores these days as it’s becoming more popular. You can look for it in the health food aisle or the gluten-free section of your grocery store. You can also look for it online if you can’t find it locally.
The two places I recommend buying any gluten-free grocery items online are Amazon and Thrive Market, as they both have competitive pricing with local stores and you are able to find what you’re looking for pretty easily.
Gluten-free almond flour brands
Be on the lookout for one of these gluten-free almond flour brands next time you’re at the grocery store. You can also look for them online if you can’t find any of these brands locally. All of these brands have a gluten-free label, so you can feel good about purchasing these on your gluten-free diet.
- Anthony’s
- Barney Bakery
- Blue Diamond
- Bob’s Red Mill
- Fisher Chef’s Naturals
- Food to Live
- Honeyville
- King Arthur
- Now Real Foods
- Oh! Nuts
- Nature’s Eats
- Pillsbury
- Terrasoul
- Thrive Market
- Wellbee’s
- Wholesome Yum
Gluten-free recipes that use almond flour
Try one of these delicious gluten-free recipes using almond flour to make the most of this ingredient in your cooking and baking.
- Gluten-free Brownies
- Lemon Blueberry Almond Flour Muffins
- Gluten-free Cheesecake Crust
- Gluten-free Oatmeal Cookies
- Gluten-free Snickerdoodles
- Gluten-free Sugar Cookies
- Gluten-free Peanut Butter Cookies
- Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies
If you’ve been wondering if almond flour is safe for your gluten-free diet, you can feel confident about adding this ingredient into all of your gluten-free recipes.
Try one of the brands listed to ensure that this naturally gluten-free ingredient has been processed where it doesn’t come into contact with other gluten-containing grains, and enjoy one of these delicious gluten-free almond flour recipes to make the most of this healthy ingredient!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply