Find out what brands of pretzels are safe for a gluten-free diet, plus different varieties to shop for, and where to buy them.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love snacking on pretzels for lunch, watching games on TV, or even adding to Chex mix, you know that delight of their crunchy salty bite. Pretzels were always a staple in my lunchbox as a kid, and I still love them today.
On a gluten-free diet, so many snack foods are full of gluten – even if it isn’t extremely apparent where the gluten is. Believe it or not, most pretzels contain gluten in the first ingredient of their ingredient list: enriched flour or wheat flour.
If you follow a gluten-free diet like I do, you don’t have to go without your favorite snack food anymore.
When I first went gluten-free, I didn’t know how to replace this snack in my diet, so I simply didn’t eat them anymore. I did a big overhaul on my diet and tried really hard to keep everything processed out for a while until I could learn to cook in a way that didn’t rely on processed foods.
I wanted to make sure I knew what I could eat if I didn’t have the opportunity to buy packaged foods at some point.
That was an extreme way to go, and if you’re just getting started with a gluten-free diet, there’s no reason for you to do that if you don’t want to. I’ll tell you what though – once I started bringing some of my favorite snacks (in gluten-free variety) back into my diet, it felt like a whole new world.
Yes, time had gone on so there were more options, but also I realized how sparingly I really needed to eat snack foods. These days, I buy a bag of pretzels maybe four or so times a year.
Every year, they go in my Chex mix around the holidays, and I’ll buy a bag for car trips when we vacation, but otherwise they aren’t really on a major rotation in my house.
Read on: Is Chex Mix gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free dairy-free Chex mix
That said, every time I go looking for a brand of gluten-free pretzels, there are always so many more options than there were before. In this post, I’m going to share with you some gluten-free pretzel brands that I’ve been able to find recently.
If you love pretzels and follow a gluten-free diet, you can definitely keep your eyes open for these brands at your local grocery store. If you can’t find them in person, be sure to check out some online retailers like Thrive Market or Amazon, as they always have some options too.
Gluten-free Pretzel Brands
You can find gluten-free pretzels in a variety of shapes, just like you can of normal pretzels. Look for different options like pretzel twists, rods, sticks, and even some different flavors.
As with all packaged and processed foods you buy while you’re following a gluten-free diet, review ingredients lists before you purchase.
You’ll want to make sure that there are no sneaky ingredients in there. If it helps you make an easier decision, you can also look for a gluten-free label on the package, as this indicates less than 20ppm of gluten in that product.
Read on: Are pretzels gluten-free?
Barkat pretzels are a great option for a gluten-free diet. These are made with maize starch, unhardened vegetable oil (palm oil), potato starch, sea salt, invert sugar syrup, dry yeast, stabilizer (carboxymethylcellulose), emulsifier (soya lecithin), raising agents (sodium pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate), acidity regulator (sodium hydroxide).
You can look for them locally or on Amazon.
Read on: Is yeast gluten-free?
This brand offers gluten-free soft pretzels, as well as mixes to make your own at home. They are made with rice flour, corn starch, tapioca starch, light brown sugar, xanthan gum, corn flour, water, yeast, and sunflower oil.
Get them on their website here: Dutch Country Soft Pretzels
Ener-G Foods gluten-free pretzels are delicious and crunchy. These are made with potato flour, corn starch, rice flour, organic palm fruit oil, tapioca syrup, baking powder (sodium pyrophosphate, potato starch, sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate), cellulose gum, bamboo fiber, salt, yeast.
You can look for them at your local grocery store.
FitJoy pretzels are considered gluten-free, grain-free, and plant-based. They are made with cassava flour, potato starch, chickpea flour, high oleic sunflower oil, tapioca starch, chickpea protein, Himalayan sea salt, organic honey, yeast, and sunflower lecithin.
They come in a variety of flavors like: hatch chile, honey mustard, white cheddar, Himilayan pink salt twists, and Himilayan pink salt sticks.
Read on: Does honey mustard have dairy?
The pretzels from From the Ground Up offer a different twist on normal pretzels. They use vegetables like cauliflower and butternut squash in addition to cassava flour to create these gluten-free snacks.
The ingredients in these pretzels are: cassava, cauliflower/butternut squash, non-gmo corn starch, non-gmo expeller pressed canola oil, salt, vegetable blend (spinach, broccoli, carrot, tomato, beet, shiitake mushroom), and yeast. Their butternut squash pretzels also have turmeric and cinnamon.
From the Ground up offers four options of pretzels: cauliflower pretzel twists, cauliflower pretzel sticks, butternut squash pretzel twists, and butternut squash pretzel sticks.
The Glutino brand is one of the easiest for me to find locally, and they are a great gluten-free pretzel option.
They are made with corn starch, potato starch, white rice flour, soluble corn fiber, canola oil, faba bean protein, salt, cane sugar, cellulose gum, brown rice flour (rice flour, rice bran with germ), leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, ammonium bicarbonate), canola lecithin, a fiber blend of lemon, pea, potato, psyllium, and seaweed fiber, yeast extract, and rosemary extract.
The ingredients list isn’t short, but they come in a variety of gluten-free options:
- Pretzel Twists
- Pretzel Sticks
- Honey Mustard Pretzels
- Big Pretzels
- Pretzel Chips
- Yogurt Covered Pretzels
- Fudge Covered Pretzels
You can look for the Glutino brand of pretzels locally or find them on Amazon.
This brand is owned by Utz, another maker of gluten-free pretzels.
These are certified gluten-free and are made from Whole Grain Brown Rice Flour, Corn Starch, Potato Starch, Soluble Corn Fiber, Whole Grain Sorghum Flour, Canola Oil, Cane Sugar, Sea Salt, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Monocalcium Phosphate, Cellulose Gum, Sunflower Lecithin, Bamboo Plant Fiber, Proprietary Blend of Vegetables (Spinach, Broccoli, Carrot, Tomato, Beet, Shiitake Mushroom).
Gratify gluten-free pretzels are made with corn starch, rapeseed oil, sesame seeds, rice flour, sugar, soy flour, soy protein, sea salt, cellulose gum, soy lecithin, yeast extract, and leavening.
You can find Gratify pretzels in a few different varieties: pretzel thins, sesame seed, everything, white chocolate and peppermint covered, milk chocolate covered, and sea salt thins.
Look for them locally or find them on Amazon.
Live G-free offers both pretzel twists and sticks. These are made from corn, potato, and rice flour to give that classic pretzel crunch we all know and love.
Look for this brand at your local grocery store or find them on Amazon.
Gluten-free pretzels from Quinn snacks are made with sorghum flour, brown rice flour, tapioca starch, potato starch, organic palm oil, sea salt, organic evaporated cane juice, organic apple cider vinegar, xanthan gum, sodium bicarbonate, and sunflower lecithin.
These pretzels come in a variety of flavors and options:
- Maple Almond Butter Filled Nuggets
- Grain Free Cracked Pepper Pretzel Chips
- Grain Free Original Pretzel Chips
- Chocolate Peanut Butter Filled Nuggets
- Peanut Butter Filled Nuggets
- Classic Sea Salt Twists
- Classic Sea Salt Sticks
- Deli Rye Style Rods
- Touch of Honey Sticks
These gluten-free pretzels from Savor Street are gluten-free and no-grain. They’re made with cassava flour, potato starch, palm oil, tapioca starch, fabe bean protein, tapioca syrup, salt, milled flax, and sunflower lecithin.
They come in Gourmet and Seasoned flavors.
You can buy them on Amazon or look for them locally.
Snack Factory makes gluten-free pretzel crisps that are a crunchy snack that are more flat than other pretzels you’ll find on the market.
These gluten-free pretzels are made with corn starch, potato starch, long grain white rice flour, corn fiber, palm oil, sugar, cellulose gum, salt, sunflower lecithin, yeast extract, baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, citric acid, and chicory root extract.
Snack Factory has three varieties or gluten-free pretzel crisps: everything, original, and original minis.
You can find these at your local store or look for them on Amazon.
Snyder’s of Hanover is a well-known pretzel brand. They have started making gluten-free pretzels in a few different varieties: pretzel rods, cinnamon brown sugar pieces, sticks, mini pretzels, honey mustard and onion sticks, and hot buffalo wing pieces.
You can find them online on Amazon or look for them locally.
Trader Joe’s has a gluten-free pretzel option in their snack aisles that I really enjoy. These pretzels are made with corn starch, dehydrated potato, rice flour, canola oil, corn dextrin, sea salt, cellulose gum, sugar, dried yeast, soy lecithin (emulsifier), leavening (sodium bicarbonate, sodium acid pyrophosphate). mono and diglycerides of fatty acids, citric acid (for freshness).
Find them at your local Trader Joe’s store.
These soft gluten-free pretzels are stored in the freezer and finished up baking at home.
Tonya’s pretzels are made with these ingredients: rice flour, cornstarch, tapioca flour, milk, sugar, butter, eggs, potato flour, baking soda, xanthan gum, yeast, and salt.
You can look for them locally or order them from their website to have them delivered to your home.
Utz makes gluten-free pretzels, but you’ll need to find the specific gluten-free option. Most of their other pretzel products are not gluten-free, so be sure to look for the gluten-free label.
Based on their website, it looks like these are now being produced under the Good Health Enjoy Being Good brand, but know that they likely contain the same ingredients. If you happen to stumble upon gluten-free Utz products, these are a safe option for your gluten-free diet.
Look for them locally or if you find them online.
These are just some of the brands of gluten-free pretzels available. If you find a package of pretzels and aren’t sure if they are gluten-free, be sure to check the ingredients list before buying. Check for any hidden names of gluten and look for that gluten-free label.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
I hope that if you’ve been on the hunt for some gluten-free pretzels, that this list has helped you narrow down your options and gives you something to look for next time you’re at the store.